We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated and not value for money”
Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Overall a very boring "Girlie Night" at Malmaison. Over-priced and over-rated. Not worth bothering with. The mal munchies were substandard and we weren't given a choice of which foods we wanted included (which for the price you would expect). Was also hungry after the munchies as not filling at all. Also no rose wine with the girlie night offer, as expected. Not sure the reason for this as I am sure they have rose in the (small and cramped) bar. The beds were uncomfy so didn't get much sleep.

Best thing about the Malmaison was the breakfast, which was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryHaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

thank you for your feedback, our girlie night in are very popular and a sought after break in general. the munchies , as the name suggest, are nibbles to enjoy with some drinks and not meant as substantial food. we apologise if we had sold out of rose wine on the evening, it may have been a popular choice on the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

874 - 880 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is very chic yet comfortable. The rooms are spacious and the shower is the best in all of Scotland. The water flow is very heavy and relaxing, which was much appreciated after a long afternoon at Trump Scotland battling the cold rain and wind. The Bar has an excellent selection of beers and liquors and is great atmosphere as well with a variety of seating options from tables to couches to overstuffed chairs. Would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review of the hotel, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for one night as a group of girls (we had 3 rooms). The rooms were very nice and spacious - fantastic shower! The only down point in the room was the lack of lighting around the mirrors - it was quite dark, and difficult to get ready! Otherwise, the rest of the hotel was very nice, and reception staff were very pleasant. The hotel is situated near to the city centre - only a short taxi ride away. The breakfast was brilliant - good choice of continental, traditional cooked breakfast, as well as waffles and other more contemporary hot options. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinexbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

thank you so much for your lovely feedback we will make sure this is shared with the team. we look forward to welcome you again in Aberdeen soon. we are working on improving the lighting quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Aberdeen and the oil community can maybe afford to pay the prices in the restaurant but not me. Food average/good - the restaurant used to offer deals for meals but no more. Staff very helpful - but more training should be given - Malmaison is a 4 star hotel and their quality of service is just not up to 4 star.

Room Tip: It's the luck of the draw as far as I can see
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

thank you for your feedback, the prices of food are directly related to food inflation and rising costs and are continuously being reviewed based on product freshness and quality purchased. we purchase and serve fresh food from the best suppliers with no compromise on quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Was greeted by pleasant staff and lovely shortbread jam filled hearts, corridor was very dark on the way to room but is a very minor issue. Huge room, amazing waterfall shower and beautifully decorated. Had dinner downstairs in the restaurant that night, I had coq au vin - it was absolutely beautiful. Followed by an amoretto Sundae, which was also beautiful. Lovely waitor, just a very long wait for our food, pricey and have to pay for extras such as veg or chips, but honestly not much of an issue as the service and food were impossible to fault. We Went back upstairs after and the bed was sadly hard and we were woken early (8:00/8:30am) as a school is next door, was not informed of that. Overall we had a wonderful stay and were very happy overal. Would love to come back

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Thebrochsfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

thank you very much for your time and lovely feedback, we really appreciate your comments. the team here at the hotel are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcome you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Was welcomed by a very polite girl at the reception which guided me to the room quickly. The room was great with anything one need for a business overnight stay. The bar had a good selection of beverages but the personnel behind the bar was somewhat uninterested.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tore S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

thank you for your feedback, our prices are in line with the demand and supply in the city and we appreciate your comments about the receptionist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel and were met by a young girl on reception with no name badge. We had booked 4 rooms online with a reduced rate of £35 per person, including breakfast as long as each couple from each room spent £75 between them on food and drink. This part of the deal was great. However, on arrival one of our rooms was not ready. No apology was given. We had an email confirming our lunch reservation for 2pm. The receptionist said there was a glitch in the system and we had not been booked in and the brasserie was full. Even when shown confirmation she shrugged and said we could not get in. No apology, no alternative offered. It was so obvious this girl cared nothing for her customers. Very poor show for a supposedly 4 star hotel.
We managed to get a seat in the bar. The food was quite nice however it was not very hot and between 8 of us we got only 3 small dishes of vegetables. So for the price it was a small meal. It was tasty though. The drinks were nice but extremely slow in coming and our order arrived in dribs and drabs. On occasion the bar staff appeared to be standing idle and our drinks were not being made. Some drinks were unavailable on a Sunday afternoon from 2pm. For example there was no pineapple juice?? It's the city centre! Go and get some!! I honestly feel a staff training issue is the major problem at this hotel! The rooms were lovely and they were clean.
I would not recommend this hotel. Very unprofessional and poorly trained staff. One especially with a bad attitude.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

thank you for your feedback, this issue was resolved in person by myself and yourself and your friends have all been invited to return on a complimentary basis to the hotel for a half day spa and lunch as an apology for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#17 of 65 in Aberdeen
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
925 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £81 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing