We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here a number of time, food always great, service can sometimes fall over but with consistently good food I often return both to entertain clients and also for pleasure. A trifle expensive but then this is in the heart of Aberdeen's West end so to be expected. Book in advance as very popular.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank benlexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we will hopefully welcome you back to Mal Aberdeen soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    282
    152
    83
    45
See reviews for
92
419
54
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Malmaison Aberdeen "dares to be different" by making everything black. The rooms are dark and poorly lit. Whoever designed the lighting in the bathroom has never put on make-up or had a shave. The recessed lights are directly overhead, casting shadows on your face so you can't see what you are doing. The curtains are black and the drapes are black. There is even art work in the corridors where faces are covered with black shadows. The people at check-in are not terribly competent. One cheery-faced young man gave us wrong information every single time we had a question. When we tried to order a car for a day-trip, they said they would get back to us in a half hour. I called back an hour later and still nothing. They later told us that each thought the other person at reception was doing it. As a result of the left hand not knowing what the right hand was doing, we were too late to rent a car and have a day trip in Aberdeenshire on our last day in Scotland.
When we checked in the cheery-faced fellow sent us on a wild goose chase to the wrong corridor. Next he had us hauling our bags up a flight of steps to the assigned room that wasn't even air-conditioned. When we refused that room, we had to drag our bags back down, finally taking them to an air-conditioned room on the ground floor. This is unacceptable service.
As far as staff goes, it is mostly in the reception that there are problems. One of the waitresses in the bar was exceptionally sweet and helpful throughout our stay. The young women who serve breakfast were also wonderful: they even remembered our names, room numbers and our particular likes. There was a decent breakfast buffet with especially good croissants.
On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable and it was good to have an iron and ironing board in the room instead of having to request them from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etna42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I will look into the service recieved at reception with the relevant team, they have all changed in the last month so we are having a transition period where more training is required. The lighting is an issue we are currently looking into. I hope you will return to Mal Aberdeen soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Check in - courteous and efficient and free upgrade to junior suite
Parking - at rear of hotel
Bar staff - friendly but hopelessly overstretched. It took ages for our drinks to arrive and no-one came to ask us if we'd like another. We would have and there were six of us. Cocktails rather disappointing
Room - sumptuous plaid and comfy bed though my husband's feet stuck out the end and he's 6ft. lots of extras (big toiletries, candles, bath in window, massage oil) The atmospheric lighting made it next to impossible to apply make up especially as there was no mirror beside dressing table. Huge TV though!
Breakfast - average. My freshly cooked waffles & bacon had been freshly cooked many many hours before. Scrambled egg looked anaemic
Cleanliness - plaid banquettes in dining room were heavily stained as were the carpets in many areas. The shower room also looked a bit grimy in the corners. Dim lighting hides a lot of horrors!

Room Tip: room at back would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I will take all the points raised to our relevant teams and hopefully we can look to welcoming you back soon. The lighting is one issue we are currently looking into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel was lovely, food was fantastic and staff were really tentative. Having worked within sales in the hospitality industry attention to deal is key for me - the Malmaison really did tick the right boxes. Hazel Galloway was also very helpful and made our stay a pleasant one, the young gentleman on reception who checked us out was really friendly and chatty, he explained that he was very new to the role - I would never have guessed as he was really good. Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZaraHiggins86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of the hotel. Hazel was especially pleased to hear that she had made your stay special. We Hope to welcome you back to Mal Aberdeen soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Don't really understand why there are negative reviews on this hotel! Me and boyfriend thought it was pure luxury! We stayed here In March this year and are returning this weekend for a night to treat ourselves, The hotel is situated in the posh area of Aberdeen and the building looks stunning! We got a superior room and when we arrived it was so much nicer than we expected!! The room was massive so much space, loved the fact there was a bath and separate power shower best thing ever! The bed was so comfy - lovely king size bed. We had a nice view of Queens Road aswel. Our meals were included in the room price so we tried out the brasserie and wow what can I say?! Probably one of the best restaurants I have been to! Food was perfect, Ok maybe a little on the expensive side for drinks and cocktails but its worth it! I will be trying out the spa next :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind reivew we will look forward to welcoming you back to Mal Aberdeen soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We foundt the Malmaison Aberdeen to fit our purpose perfectly. Easy access by rental car from the airport. Quiet area although the street passing was very busy with cars. Rooms very spacious and had all amenities. The mattress of the bed was a bit too hard - but still slept very well. We only had breakfast at the hotel, so cannot comment on the restaurant meals. Continental breakfast was ok and the selection of cooked breakfast was also nice, although a bit pricey. The bar area in the hotel was great, lots of seating groups and quite a few TV screens which was handy for the World Cup in football :) The staff was very attentive and service minded. Saturday morning we had to get up early in order to catch a train - before breakfast was started. The receptionist still managed to find us coffee, juice, bacon rolls and croissants. Great service. We should have told them the day before and they would have prepared for us, but we did not realise that breakfast started later during week-ends. Did not make use of the SPA during our stay. The hotel is within walking distance of Aberdeen city centre and Union Street, took us app 20 mins to walk to the railwaystation. Would highly recommend a stay at the Malmaison

Room Tip: We had a room away from the front street, very quiet. Even though it was on the lower ground we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Mal Aberdeen soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booked Malmaison after a previous good experience. Booking for a graduation so special night. Waited 1 & 1/2 hours for our main course, restaurant wasn't busy! Dessert was slow to come too. The food was fair to average with a high price tag. On arrival 7pm told that no chicken dishes at all as they had ran out of chicken at lunchtime. Had nice bottle of wine but couldn't order another as none left.

We were so looking forward to a great night here and it just didn't happen. Avoid!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganhame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roula S, General Manager at Malmaison Aberdeen, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
thank you for your feedback, the prices of food are directly related to food inflation and rising costs and are continuously being reviewed based on product freshness and quality purchased. we purchase and serve fresh food from the best suppliers with no compromise on quality. I am sorry you were let down by the service and I will look into this with the relevant team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#14 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Property: Malmaison Aberdeen
Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing