We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why so inflexible?”
Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Why so inflexible?”
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I went to the hotel for a drink and, I'd hoped, a quick supper with my wife. On arriving at the bar at around 8 we were told that we couldn't get food there since it was after 6.00, and that was when they stopped serving food in the bar area. We were only looking for a quick bit to eat since it was our first night together after the birth of our first child and wanted to get back to the babysitters! Anyway we ordered a drink and asked whether we could eat at the sofas at the brasserie. We were told that this wasn't possible.
Of course the hotel is free to have its own policies, but it was a Sunday night; the bar was very quiet and the brasserie was no more than a third full. There was no reason why they couldn't have been a little more flexible in serving us food without our having to go through the full brasserie process. There was no discussion, no alternatives offered, just flat "no"s on each request.
The cocktail was quite good though.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmarylairg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    289
    159
    85
    47
See reviews for
105
439
60
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed weekend hotel was fabulous the furnishing and decoration was amazing !! Staff were very attentive and helpful cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyscotDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Travelled to Aberdeen and managed to get an excellent rate of £90 at this hotel. Very comfortable room with great modern decor, large bathroom and very comfortable bed. Free wi-fi was provided in the room. Food in restaurant is a wee bit expensive but is of a very high quality. Selection of breakfast cold buffet and cooked items is excellent. If you can afford it I would recommend it either for business or for a treat for your loved ones.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShipsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Stayed here for one night in July 2009
Rooms were absolutely gorgeous - Huge beds, Very sumptious soft furnishings, well planned & spotlessly clean.

We had a separate bath and shower cubicle which was great - Low level lighting in bathroom when main light not in use was excellent idea as I didn't have to switch on a bright light when going to the loo during the night.

Staff friendly & accommodating. Breakfast enjoyable but a little expensive for what was provided.

All in all an excellent, bright, comfortable and modern hotel - Delighted to recommend to all !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyrishsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Good service, easy going and helpful. Our room was on the lower ground floor, with plenty of room, and all the latest design and gadgets. I wasn't too keen on the fact that there is a path leading down to the second car park which runs by the bedroom windows. Although there is a black net curtain we could see people walking by quite clearly, I don't know how much they can see looking in!. I will ask for a first or second floor room next time. The shower was fantastic, though I wish I had brought my shower cap! As we were only in for one night we didn't have time to use the spa, that's for next time. Great bar and restaurant, if you don't mind walking across the glass floor. Will definately be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickySussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
164 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

This was a very pleasant stay that I booked after reading TripAdvisors and wanting to break our trip between Edinburgh and Inverness, after visiting St. Andrews. A great little spot and good value ($150). I told them it was our 50th Wedding Anniversary trip, and they instantly upgraded us to a Junior Suite, with a bed as large as any I have ever seen. It made our King Size bed at home look small!

We only stayed one night, but would have happily extended another night if we didn't need to keep moving.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grapdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2009

I booked this hotel through another well known site, and I had checked the reviews beforehand... WOW is all I can say, the rooms were a good size, all the comforts of home. Plasma TV kept my boyfriend happy and the what amazed me was the size of the bathroom. I would recommend this to couples and families, The bar is trendy and all the locals use it on a Saturday night, our room was on the ground floor, but the rooms appear to be soundproofed and we heard no noise...

Fabulous hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishfe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#19 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Property: Malmaison Aberdeen
Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing