We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing luxury”
Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“relaxing luxury”
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Myself and my husband have just spent a glorious night in Malmaison, Aberdeen. Upon arrival at reception, we found the staff to be polite and very helpful. The surroundings were absolutely beautiful. We quickly put our bags in our room, which was also perfect, we could have borrowed cds from reception should we have wished.

The bar was great, not to pricey either, we had a gorgeous meal there, not rushed , just very relaxed, and worth every penny.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. It was a lovely extravagant treat and we both enjoyed ourselves.

PS try the eggs benedict for breakfast. Beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holibobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    293
    165
    86
    48
See reviews for
110
451
66
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Its more like one of those classy boutique hotels. People who've got bored staying in usual 4-5* hotels, Malmaison is the place for u! The whole of the hotel is very impressive!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonEngee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Went to mal maison aberdeen as i had heard mixed reviews and wanted to experience some of the comments i had heard. On arrival I was impressed with the sheer mass of wines and whiskeys on display in their glass walled cellar. The staff were attentive but yet somewhat confused, like lack of experience or training in their place of work. Menu was similar to the surroundings, somewhat confusing and did not go together. I struggled to find something that i thought wow that sounds great. if you dont like smoked food or fish then you best go veggie. There was one other table in when we arrived and yet it took at least 15 minutes for our drinks to arrive, even though their were plenty staff standing around. I ordered tian of crab to start followed by a sirloin steak 8oz for £22.00. My colleague ordered corn fed chicken to start followed by a rib eye steak. My starter was bland, and for nearly £9.00 very expensive for what it consisted of. My colleague was happy with his chicken, so we ploughed on. Our steaks arrived and although they looked good all they were served with was half a tomato and a cold piece of marrow bone, which was like eating cold lard so we both quickly discarded it. Both our steaks were over cooked by at least 2 cooking stages, which for the vast price was very disheartening. whats more we had to pay an extra £2.95 for cold overcooked chips, which were served in a plastic cup??? and £2.95 for some pan fried onions. I looked for the waitress to check back so i could show her the quality and overcooked items, yet she never appeared, we ate our dinner as we were hungry, and i mentioned that the steak was nice but overcooked, she merely smiled. We ordered desserts and i must say the creme brulee was fantastic. Overall I am very disappointed to have paid so much for such badly prepared food. So if you wish to visit malmaison in aberdeen be ready for paying through the nose for a standard that is sim[ply not there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lennox113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I went to the hotel for a drink and, I'd hoped, a quick supper with my wife. On arriving at the bar at around 8 we were told that we couldn't get food there since it was after 6.00, and that was when they stopped serving food in the bar area. We were only looking for a quick bit to eat since it was our first night together after the birth of our first child and wanted to get back to the babysitters! Anyway we ordered a drink and asked whether we could eat at the sofas at the brasserie. We were told that this wasn't possible.
Of course the hotel is free to have its own policies, but it was a Sunday night; the bar was very quiet and the brasserie was no more than a third full. There was no reason why they couldn't have been a little more flexible in serving us food without our having to go through the full brasserie process. There was no discussion, no alternatives offered, just flat "no"s on each request.
The cocktail was quite good though.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmarylairg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed weekend hotel was fabulous the furnishing and decoration was amazing !! Staff were very attentive and helpful cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyscotDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Travelled to Aberdeen and managed to get an excellent rate of £90 at this hotel. Very comfortable room with great modern decor, large bathroom and very comfortable bed. Free wi-fi was provided in the room. Food in restaurant is a wee bit expensive but is of a very high quality. Selection of breakfast cold buffet and cooked items is excellent. If you can afford it I would recommend it either for business or for a treat for your loved ones.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShipsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Stayed here for one night in July 2009
Rooms were absolutely gorgeous - Huge beds, Very sumptious soft furnishings, well planned & spotlessly clean.

We had a separate bath and shower cubicle which was great - Low level lighting in bathroom when main light not in use was excellent idea as I didn't have to switch on a bright light when going to the loo during the night.

Staff friendly & accommodating. Breakfast enjoyable but a little expensive for what was provided.

All in all an excellent, bright, comfortable and modern hotel - Delighted to recommend to all !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyrishsunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#22 of 65 in Aberdeen
341 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
1.1 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Property: Malmaison Aberdeen
Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing