We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't the same third time round, a real shame :-(”
Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wasn't the same third time round, a real shame :-(”
Reviewed 19 August 2009

As stated in the title, this is the third visit to the Mal, Aberdeen in as many months each time, mid-week because of business commitments. The two occasions before, we were very happy, thank you very much! The Superior rooms are delightful with a separate shower and bath, lovely surroundings in the room and free internet - perfect! Thank goodness for that, when you're a tired business traveller, spending weeks in hotels.

However, we have become increasingly despondent with the brasserie. On each occasion, we have elected to use the 2000 Two Dine for £29 voucher, where you get a bottle of wine thrown in. The first and second occasions, the food was very nice, with bread, tapenade 'starter' just arriving without even being ordered. Nice touch we thought! The third occasion, last week, it started with having to pay for the bread and tapenade without knowing about it. Now, that might sound petty, so let me quantify it.

When you're used to being given loaves of bread by really attentive staff who know what they're doing and have a smile on their face, that's just great. Couple that with delicious blade of beef main courses and you're on to a winner. When you go back and all you get is an attempt to sell you up all the time "would you like water with your meal...yes.....still or sparkling.... tap, thanks' and then extras charged, you walk away feeling a bit sad. In addition, ordering mackerel main courses and one small fillet arrives with barely anything else on the plate and you begin to feel ripped off, especially when you're paying £150 for the night (and no breakfast)

So, all in all, we do like the Mal alot for the luxury of a steam room, the trendy staff and nice bed linen - especially when everywhere else in Aberdeen is pretty poor. However, if there is a next time, we might not just bother with the brasserie and eat somewhere else. It's a real shame - people warned us that Mal Aberdeen is getting an 'upsell/ expensive' reputation and we didn't heed, so beware.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    291
    163
    85
    48
See reviews for
106
443
65
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

The Aberdeen Malmaison i the best hotel i have stayed in for a while; it could only be better if it were closer to town; i made a few 10-15 pound round trip taxi trips. The restaurant and bar are lovely places with good service and food. My room was large; quiet but very very dark - i was on the ground floor so didn't want my curtains open and the in room lights couldn't cope. It also suffers from random lights needing turning off individually rather than a master switch which is frustrating. Everything in the room feels substantial and good quality. The amenities in the bathroom are first rate.

The desk was large with sockets over the top for your laptop needs. The wireless internet is very expensive; they offer a free 30 minutes service which might help you read your email; i found it very slow so used my 3g card which worked fine.

The staff are very helpful getting some friends drinks from the bar after it had closed.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u07ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Myself and my husband have just spent a glorious night in Malmaison, Aberdeen. Upon arrival at reception, we found the staff to be polite and very helpful. The surroundings were absolutely beautiful. We quickly put our bags in our room, which was also perfect, we could have borrowed cds from reception should we have wished.

The bar was great, not to pricey either, we had a gorgeous meal there, not rushed , just very relaxed, and worth every penny.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. It was a lovely extravagant treat and we both enjoyed ourselves.

PS try the eggs benedict for breakfast. Beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holibobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Its more like one of those classy boutique hotels. People who've got bored staying in usual 4-5* hotels, Malmaison is the place for u! The whole of the hotel is very impressive!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonEngee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Went to mal maison aberdeen as i had heard mixed reviews and wanted to experience some of the comments i had heard. On arrival I was impressed with the sheer mass of wines and whiskeys on display in their glass walled cellar. The staff were attentive but yet somewhat confused, like lack of experience or training in their place of work. Menu was similar to the surroundings, somewhat confusing and did not go together. I struggled to find something that i thought wow that sounds great. if you dont like smoked food or fish then you best go veggie. There was one other table in when we arrived and yet it took at least 15 minutes for our drinks to arrive, even though their were plenty staff standing around. I ordered tian of crab to start followed by a sirloin steak 8oz for £22.00. My colleague ordered corn fed chicken to start followed by a rib eye steak. My starter was bland, and for nearly £9.00 very expensive for what it consisted of. My colleague was happy with his chicken, so we ploughed on. Our steaks arrived and although they looked good all they were served with was half a tomato and a cold piece of marrow bone, which was like eating cold lard so we both quickly discarded it. Both our steaks were over cooked by at least 2 cooking stages, which for the vast price was very disheartening. whats more we had to pay an extra £2.95 for cold overcooked chips, which were served in a plastic cup??? and £2.95 for some pan fried onions. I looked for the waitress to check back so i could show her the quality and overcooked items, yet she never appeared, we ate our dinner as we were hungry, and i mentioned that the steak was nice but overcooked, she merely smiled. We ordered desserts and i must say the creme brulee was fantastic. Overall I am very disappointed to have paid so much for such badly prepared food. So if you wish to visit malmaison in aberdeen be ready for paying through the nose for a standard that is sim[ply not there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lennox113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

I went to the hotel for a drink and, I'd hoped, a quick supper with my wife. On arriving at the bar at around 8 we were told that we couldn't get food there since it was after 6.00, and that was when they stopped serving food in the bar area. We were only looking for a quick bit to eat since it was our first night together after the birth of our first child and wanted to get back to the babysitters! Anyway we ordered a drink and asked whether we could eat at the sofas at the brasserie. We were told that this wasn't possible.
Of course the hotel is free to have its own policies, but it was a Sunday night; the bar was very quiet and the brasserie was no more than a third full. There was no reason why they couldn't have been a little more flexible in serving us food without our having to go through the full brasserie process. There was no discussion, no alternatives offered, just flat "no"s on each request.
The cocktail was quite good though.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmarylairg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Stayed weekend hotel was fabulous the furnishing and decoration was amazing !! Staff were very attentive and helpful cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyscotDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,931 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Property: Malmaison Aberdeen
Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing