We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Finally, a decent stylish/boutique option in Aberdeen. The central areas are impressive and the rooms, while a little small, are very comfortable (even have irons and ironing boards). The gym is decent as well. Overall, a nice ambience, friendly staff, stylish and a good central location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dsbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2009

I stayed here at the end of May on business and I really enjoyed the hotel. The staff was very accommodating... lending me a converter after I had left mine in the last city without any fuss. We hosted a large supplier from the region who wanted to stay up drinking white wine and talking till sunrise and they never once gave the impression that it was putting them out. The receptionist kept our glasses full. They have an extensive list of rare scotches with a knowledgeable bar staff that is happy to give you recommendations and even educate the untrained pallet a bit. This was the place to be on the weekends and the bar does get pretty crowded with locals but the atmosphere remains intimante.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalsaPicante78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Our first experience of a Malmaison Hotel, check in was quick, smooth and we (2 couples) were personally led to rooms by receptionist. Impressive! But we found out why - we would have struggled to find our 'superior' rooms alone. Be warned - 21 & 22 are below ground, have very poor daylight and are on their own next to the laundry and bar store - we experienced loud noise (staff moving barrels) well after 1 a.m. and the laundry staff started thumping about at 8 a.m. Staff could be trained to close doors quietly too - these were just allowed to slam each time someone went in and out of the two areas.

Although dark, rooms are beautifully designed - contemporary but with a scottish twist. Bathroom is excellent with massive drench shower and huge bath - bliss. Bar was very busy before dinner - hard to find a seat. Some unusual things on the menu e.g. ox cheeks, bone marrow, fried brill. Steaks were superb - £28 for fillet with side dishes extra. Desserts were unexciting. Meal for 4 exc. wine was c. £200. Extensive wine list and fab sommelier but waiter lacked enthusiasm. We have had better breakfasts at lesser hotels - nothing distinguished it and we had to wait ages for tea and coffee. We were told by the three different staff we asked that the kitchen was very busy ....obviously... but not the right answer when you're dying for your morning cuppa.

The feel of the hotel is luxurious and these were irritating disappointments that took away from what first impressions promised to be a great hotel experience. We might be tempted to give it another go - the spa looks amazing and worth a try.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gariochquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

We visited Aberdeen for our 20th wedding anniversary and changed our hotel to Malmaison based on posted reviews. We were not disappointed. Everything about our stay confirmed the validity of all good reviews of this hotel. When checking in, we were upgraded to a junior suite. We ate dinner the first night in the hotel and canceled our dinner reservations for the next night (our anniversary) to dine in. The wait staff was pleasant, the sommelier was superb and food fabulous, both nights. Some of the best food I have eaten in the UK. The ONLY disadvantage for us was that the hotel is a short distance from downtown and we had arrived by train. We would stay here or at any other hotel operated by this group in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeboMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

As stated in the title, this is the third visit to the Mal, Aberdeen in as many months each time, mid-week because of business commitments. The two occasions before, we were very happy, thank you very much! The Superior rooms are delightful with a separate shower and bath, lovely surroundings in the room and free internet - perfect! Thank goodness for that, when you're a tired business traveller, spending weeks in hotels.

However, we have become increasingly despondent with the brasserie. On each occasion, we have elected to use the 2000 Two Dine for £29 voucher, where you get a bottle of wine thrown in. The first and second occasions, the food was very nice, with bread, tapenade 'starter' just arriving without even being ordered. Nice touch we thought! The third occasion, last week, it started with having to pay for the bread and tapenade without knowing about it. Now, that might sound petty, so let me quantify it.

When you're used to being given loaves of bread by really attentive staff who know what they're doing and have a smile on their face, that's just great. Couple that with delicious blade of beef main courses and you're on to a winner. When you go back and all you get is an attempt to sell you up all the time "would you like water with your meal...yes.....still or sparkling.... tap, thanks' and then extras charged, you walk away feeling a bit sad. In addition, ordering mackerel main courses and one small fillet arrives with barely anything else on the plate and you begin to feel ripped off, especially when you're paying £150 for the night (and no breakfast)

So, all in all, we do like the Mal alot for the luxury of a steam room, the trendy staff and nice bed linen - especially when everywhere else in Aberdeen is pretty poor. However, if there is a next time, we might not just bother with the brasserie and eat somewhere else. It's a real shame - people warned us that Mal Aberdeen is getting an 'upsell/ expensive' reputation and we didn't heed, so beware.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

The Aberdeen Malmaison i the best hotel i have stayed in for a while; it could only be better if it were closer to town; i made a few 10-15 pound round trip taxi trips. The restaurant and bar are lovely places with good service and food. My room was large; quiet but very very dark - i was on the ground floor so didn't want my curtains open and the in room lights couldn't cope. It also suffers from random lights needing turning off individually rather than a master switch which is frustrating. Everything in the room feels substantial and good quality. The amenities in the bathroom are first rate.

The desk was large with sockets over the top for your laptop needs. The wireless internet is very expensive; they offer a free 30 minutes service which might help you read your email; i found it very slow so used my 3g card which worked fine.

The staff are very helpful getting some friends drinks from the bar after it had closed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank u07ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Myself and my husband have just spent a glorious night in Malmaison, Aberdeen. Upon arrival at reception, we found the staff to be polite and very helpful. The surroundings were absolutely beautiful. We quickly put our bags in our room, which was also perfect, we could have borrowed cds from reception should we have wished.

The bar was great, not to pricey either, we had a gorgeous meal there, not rushed , just very relaxed, and worth every penny.

I would recommend this hotel without hesitation. It was a lovely extravagant treat and we both enjoyed ourselves.

PS try the eggs benedict for breakfast. Beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holibobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#18 of 65 in Aberdeen
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.6 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
901 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: £75 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing