We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good for short stay”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The exterior looks shabby but the interior is to a high standard, reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. I was advised that I had a suite ?, I don't think this is what I would call a suite but hey ho.
The room was in nice décor the bed was comfy the toilet was very clean and there was plenty of shampoos etc for your use. The room I had, had disabled facilities in the toilet.
Breakfast was a buffet style and was tasty, breakfast staff were pleasant, eggs were to order but on the morn I was there they took for ever to arrive, I had to remind the staff of my request.
If travelling by car you need to be mindful that the car park is really for the shopping centre adjacent to the hotel and can be difficult to get a space at certain times of the day.
This hotel wouldn't be my top pick to stay in Aberdeen but that doesn't mean its not a good hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms a double and treble glazed, rooms facing the Lang starched weren't affected by the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Graham Y

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    152
    51
    39
    15
See reviews for
62
130
30
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a groupon deal which included breakfast and evening meal. Room was fantastic very spacious and the complementary items were really appreciated ( shampoo, mouthwash, body moister, lip balm, facial spray and shower gel) and the goody bag. The tea making facilities were fantAstic, usual only given two of each but here we got about 5 tea bags, 7 coffee sachets, 4 hot chocolate sachets and 4 shortbread packets, not mentioning the fridge content bottled water, orange juice and kit Kat which was all replenished each day.

A lot if choice at breakfast from full English items to cereal and plates was take. Away so fresh plates can be used if you wished to go for more with unlimited drinks non alcoholic

Evening meal a lot of choice and never left hungry if anything the portions were too big for us but we are small eaters, fanatic portions and never disappointed

One evening we wanted to go into the town and the receptionist was more than helpful explaining where to go etc and ordered our taxi and we was able to wait in the bar area and she came and let us know when it had arrived.

All staff were amazing we do not have one bad word to say about any member of staff, all very helpful, pleasant and made you feel welcome and that nothing was too much! They even make a point of remembering you once they have met you. Absolute credit to the hotel!

When you turn up to the hotel do not let the surrounding put you off, when we arrived we were very concerned as it is not very inviting and the parking is very insecure I was not happy leaving my car there but had no choice. However when we walked into reception all our concerns were gone and my car was safe.

If a deal like Thai arises again we would not hesitate to book

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank XXBella22XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear XXBella22XX

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

We have upgraded all of our guest toiletries range after guest feedback and hopefully we now offer something for all of our guests.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I enjoyed this hotel. Small rooms and small TV, but great amenities and a generous welcome package with complimentary snacks. I could walk down town and to the beach in 40 minutes. I normally stay at higher quality hotels, but the breakfast is one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever had. The website led me to believe I could get Aeroplan points here, that was unknown to the staff. Felt a little pricy for a Best Western hotel, but perhaps Aberdeen is a bit above UK average.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Rune Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Rune Kevin N K

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

Please contact me directly and I will rectify the issue surrounding your aeroplan points.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

this was the first time we stayed at this hotell and wont be the last the staff and the hotel was great they also could not do enough to help my wife with her special dietery needs very comfortable all round.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear DouglasS

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The difference a room makes. Having used this hotel before and found it to be excellent I was sorely disappointed on last visit.

Travelling on business I paid £165 for a room only. Which can only be described as a very small box room.

Tea and coffee facilities were available but no plug unless you put the kettle on the floor under the desk or by the enterance door.

The bathroom is what an estate agent would call bijou. It was not possible to be seated on the toilet without one leg stuck to the radiator. If this was switched on it would have been interesting. The toilet roll holder was behind you on the wall making bit difficult to reach.

The walls were paper thin. I could hear the gentleman to my left snoring and the gentleman to my right talking in his sleep.
The staff in the restruant were polite and attentive however the young girl on reception at checkout left a lot to be desired.

I have stayed here before and had a great time but so disappointed this time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Blueberry2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Blueberry2010

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly discuss your comments with the team especially our reception team. Some of our single rooms are compact, although where possible we do try to upgrade guests in singles when possible.

Our rates are competitive within the Aberdeen market although lower rates are always available by booking in advance with our advance purchase scheme.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in February on a Groupon deal.
On arrival I was disheartened. The exterior is very off putting. Ignore it!
Inside you will find a warm efficient welcome and spotless, pleasant surroundings.
Our twin suite was very well appointed with everything you could want and more!
The kitchen area was a real bonus as were all the complimentary food and beverage items.
The selection of toiletries in the shower room was fantastic, even lip gel and mouthwash.
I had forgotten my toothbrush but the super receptionist was able to provide me with one and toothpaste.
The service in the restaurant from Iain and Kelly was exemplary as was the food.
A fabulous weekend break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whizz51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear whizz51

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

We have continued to improve the furnishings and decoration within the bedrooms and throughout the hotel and we are happy that our guests like our changes which we will continue with, in an aim to improve the guest experience, this incudes upgrading our guest toiletries and amenities.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We have just spent a lovely weekend at the hotel on a Groupon break and it was even better than our first visit last June. The room was excellent and had a lovely goody bag for us on arrival. The menu in the restaurant both evenings had a great choice and we were delighted with the quality of the food. Breakfast was delightful too and set us up for the rest of the day. A special word of thanks has to go to the staff who were all extremely well trained, courteous and efficient which made the visit very pleasant indeed. Roll on our next visit to Aberdeen!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear John K

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

We have continued to improve the furnishings and decoration within the bedrooms and throughout the hotel and we are happy that our guests like our changes which we will continue with, in an aim to improve the guest experience.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.2 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
2.1 mi away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites

Property: Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites
Address: 20 Summerhill Court | Lang Stracht, Aberdeen AB15 6TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Summerhill Hotel & Suites is offering a choice of 23 standard rooms and 22 suites with modern styling. Selected rooms offer views across the Grampian region and sea views on a clear day.Come and relax, soak up the atmosphere in our modern stylish Bistro conservatory Restaurant which offers a wide range of dishes to suit your taste. Whether it’s a light lunch, high tea or leisurely Dinner, a warm welcome awaits at BEST WESTERN Summerhill Hotel & Suites.Our contemporary lounge bar offers a wide range of fine wine, spirits beers and cocktails. Whether it’s a quick drink after work, a bar meal or socialising with friends you’ll find this the ideal place to meet up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel And Aberdeen
Summerhill Hotel Aberdeen
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing