We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

After staying in a couple of nice B & B's we were shocked when we arrived at the Summerhill Suites. It was in a very industrial part of Aberdeen and the surrounding neighborhoods seemed seedy. As we had not canceled prior to 24 hours, we didn't want to lose the money for two rooms so we stayed. The rooms were small and hot, even in cold weather outside. We went down to dinner in the hotel restaurant and had the worst meal of our trip. I would not advise anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamstoked22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear iamstoked22
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your highly positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

Our cancellation policy for all bookings apart from advance purchase bookings is that rooms can be cancelled up to 4pm on day of arrival without charge. The area in the hotel is located is a residential area and not an industrial area.

We are a good quality 3 star property with good customer feedback and we do exceed the expectations of a majority of customers. Our pricing is clearly in line with our star rating as we do market ourselves as a quality out of town property.

I can find no record of any issues with our restaurant during your stay, as you have omitted any exact details unfortunately I cannot comment on which aspect of your dining experience caused issue.

Please accept my apologies that the hotel did not meet your expectations.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

This Hotel was surprisingly good value .
Only stayed the one evening but it was a very comfortable stay .
Great quality bed .Had superb tv .Even had a fridge and microwave in the room

Nice touches were added like a free bag of Crisps, Mars bars and other goodies
The breakfast was also superb

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear j w

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your highly positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after finding a special for one night including dinner, bed and breakfast. I read the reviews after booking and they were so right - the exterior may not be inviting but it's a different world when you step inside. The rooms were clean and included many amenities I have never seen in a room including a bag with water, crisps and chocolate and dental wash amongst many other things in the bathroom. The staff were great and reception even phoned to check to make sure everything was ok. You can catch the bus into town right across the street. Food and staff in the restaurant were both great. Honestly I couldn't find one single thing wrong. Great place and would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear trvlr13

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your highly positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

Our reviews are an important part of what we do, as we will never manage to meet every guest expectations we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests when we can.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights and I've booked in again later this week. I didn't expect much but was pleasantly surprised; the building has clearly been refurbished; as well as a lift it has a wide old-fashioned carpeted staircase which is well lit and has a fresh and pleasing appeal.
My room was a double and I discovered quickly that it was well stocked with free snacks and mineral water. The bed was very comfortable and there were two windows overlooking the main road (which wasn't at all noisy).
I enjoyed the full breakfast each morning and dined there one of the nights. The food was absolutely excellent - and affordable, including the wine. Free internet was available also. The front desk person seemed a bit new to the job, but nonetheless friendly and accommodating. For those wishing to go into the city, there is a very convenient and frequent bus service with a stop just outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Seenoff

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your highly positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

It is always nice to see that a guest has enjoyed there stay and that the team have helped in making that stay more comfortable.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable with lots of complimentary snacks and toiletries.The food and dining room staff were amazing. Should definitely have 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Kath D

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your highly positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

lovely ,relaxing break ,away from city centre but 10 mins if you want into centre . nice bar area to chill with coffee or a drink.bedrooms very clean and comfortable had a wonderful relaxing weekend away. did go into city centre was nice too,and after a day shopping back to hotel to chill with a coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Alison Mrs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Alison Mrs G

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Hotel exterior terrible but dont let that put you off. Room clean and comfortable. Cooked breakfast terrible, buffet style cooked items which had probably been sitting about for a while as bacon was inedible. other than that hotel is clean and staff are friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear David M

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

The breakfast experience you had was not the norm and not acceptable in any way and we are currently investigating in how this happened and re-training is clearly required for our morning team.

Please accept our sincere apologies in this matter. We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.2 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,062 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Aberdeen Westhill
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites

Address: 20 Summerhill Court | Lang Stracht, Aberdeen AB15 6TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: £38 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Summerhill Hotel & Suites is offering a choice of 23 standard rooms and 22 suites with modern styling. Selected rooms offer views across the Grampian region and sea views on a clear day.Come and relax, soak up the atmosphere in our modern stylish Bistro conservatory Restaurant which offers a wide range of dishes to suit your taste. Whether it’s a light lunch, high tea or leisurely Dinner, a warm welcome awaits at BEST WESTERN Summerhill Hotel & Suites.Our contemporary lounge bar offers a wide range of fine wine, spirits beers and cocktails. Whether it’s a quick drink after work, a bar meal or socialising with friends you’ll find this the ideal place to meet up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel And Aberdeen
Summerhill Hotel Aberdeen
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing