We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel good location and fabulous value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel good location and fabulous value for money”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I booked 3 single rooms with breakfast for city break with friends although it wass reasonably priced it was an excellent hotel. It is based beside small shopping area 3 miles from city centre but the bus stops at the hotel and is £2 excellent late night bus service runs also. In our rooms we all had complimentary juice,water,crisps,mars and snack bar they were an added bonus. Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful overall had fabulous stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear fiona g

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your highly positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    152
    51
    39
    15
See reviews for
62
130
30
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We arrived early but unfortunately could not get booked in early. We therefore left our cases in the car and headed into Aberdeen. Costly in a taxi for just 3 miles or so, beware. We had a drink in the lounge waiting for the taxi and the price is better than some of the bars in the city centre. When we got back late on it was no problem booking in, staff very helpful and efficient. Room had everything, fridge, drinks (tea, coffee, juice, bottled water etc.) The morning saw a nice cooked breakfast with waiter service for tea/coffe etc., and a self service buffet. All the usual stuff was available.
Enjoyable stay, good quality 3 star and nice and clean. Wee bit out but was handy for getting out of the city the next morning as the A9 is nearly on the door step.
Would I go back - yes, but mibees wait on a bus haha as it is cheaper than the Aberdeen taxis?

Room Tip: Shop around for travel choices to get from hotel to the city centre, quite expensive in the taxi we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabatiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Rabatiti

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

Unfortunately when we have a busy checkout it is not always possible the have rooms ready early for guests arrival but we always try to accommodate where possible.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night when up visiting a friend. I got a great deal on my single room with all the facilities I could need given that I was only there for a short time! The staff were very friendly including the night porter who let me in after my night out. I can't comment on the dining facilities as I didnt use them on this occasion but I however will be using this hotel again given the competitive pricing. The location is only a short bus or taxi into town which was ideal to get away from the noise. Would reccommend to anyone needing a reasonably priced room for the weekend !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-wee-yin-88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear The-wee-yin-88

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your highly positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

It is always a great pleasure to hear we have provided a pleasant experience so much so that a guest is looking forward to a return visit.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was my 3rd visit here, and was, yet again, not disappointed. The value for money on deals available, and on their own website is astounding for what you get....in fact,what DONT you get here! Where do you get free bottled water,orange juice,crisps,chocolate bars and choc biscuits and shortbread in your room? The toiletries in the bathroom even stretches to lip balm! The breakfast range and quality is fantastic, as was the dinner at night,lovely, fresh food. The staff are very attentive and helpful. The hotel exterior is not the best,i admit, but its whats inside that counts. The rooms are lovely and well equipped for your needs. This is the best 3* hotel ive ever been in, and have complained in other 4 and 5* places on my travels. Will b back here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timzy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear timzy6

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your highly positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

It is always a great pleasure to hear we have provided a pleasant experience consistently, we are planning further improvements this year and hopefully these improvements will enhance the experience further.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
568 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

After staying in a couple of nice B & B's we were shocked when we arrived at the Summerhill Suites. It was in a very industrial part of Aberdeen and the surrounding neighborhoods seemed seedy. As we had not canceled prior to 24 hours, we didn't want to lose the money for two rooms so we stayed. The rooms were small and hot, even in cold weather outside. We went down to dinner in the hotel restaurant and had the worst meal of our trip. I would not advise anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamstoked22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear iamstoked22
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your highly positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

Our cancellation policy for all bookings apart from advance purchase bookings is that rooms can be cancelled up to 4pm on day of arrival without charge. The area in the hotel is located is a residential area and not an industrial area.

We are a good quality 3 star property with good customer feedback and we do exceed the expectations of a majority of customers. Our pricing is clearly in line with our star rating as we do market ourselves as a quality out of town property.

I can find no record of any issues with our restaurant during your stay, as you have omitted any exact details unfortunately I cannot comment on which aspect of your dining experience caused issue.

Please accept my apologies that the hotel did not meet your expectations.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This Hotel was surprisingly good value .
Only stayed the one evening but it was a very comfortable stay .
Great quality bed .Had superb tv .Even had a fridge and microwave in the room

Nice touches were added like a free bag of Crisps, Mars bars and other goodies
The breakfast was also superb

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear j w

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your highly positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after finding a special for one night including dinner, bed and breakfast. I read the reviews after booking and they were so right - the exterior may not be inviting but it's a different world when you step inside. The rooms were clean and included many amenities I have never seen in a room including a bag with water, crisps and chocolate and dental wash amongst many other things in the bathroom. The staff were great and reception even phoned to check to make sure everything was ok. You can catch the bus into town right across the street. Food and staff in the restaurant were both great. Honestly I couldn't find one single thing wrong. Great place and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summerhillAberdeen, General Manager at Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear trvlr13

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your highly positive views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will certainly pass on your comments to the team which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our guests feedback is always appreciated as only through our guests comments do we know we are achieving our set standards.

Our reviews are an important part of what we do, as we will never manage to meet every guest expectations we strive to exceed the expectations of our guests when we can.

We hope to see you again in the near future.


Thanks again.


Marc A Adams
General Manager
manager@summerhillhotelandsuites.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.2 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen (Anderson Drive) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
2.1 mi away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites

Property: Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites
Address: 20 Summerhill Court | Lang Stracht, Aberdeen AB15 6TW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Summerhill Hotel & Suites is offering a choice of 23 standard rooms and 22 suites with modern styling. Selected rooms offer views across the Grampian region and sea views on a clear day.Come and relax, soak up the atmosphere in our modern stylish Bistro conservatory Restaurant which offers a wide range of dishes to suit your taste. Whether it’s a light lunch, high tea or leisurely Dinner, a warm welcome awaits at BEST WESTERN Summerhill Hotel & Suites.Our contemporary lounge bar offers a wide range of fine wine, spirits beers and cocktails. Whether it’s a quick drink after work, a bar meal or socialising with friends you’ll find this the ideal place to meet up. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel And Aberdeen
Summerhill Hotel Aberdeen
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing