We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I stayed here on business and booked the hotel through lastminute or laterooms. It has a very quirky decor to it and is fairly centrally located well close to the train station if thats how you are arriving in Aberdeen.

From a buisness travelers perpective not the best, no bar area to mingle easily and Wifi is chargeable, the desk are wasnt the best layout.

Would I stay here again if I was traveling on pleasure for one night possibly yes. business maybe not.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodruffjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    76
    69
    44
    40
See reviews for
12
92
38
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on business. The staff are friendly and it is clean. Typical of a boutique hotel: small rooms, fairly good food, a bit over priced. This hotel is quite modern. The staff are great bar the odd character though that is typical to everywhere. I feel this hotel would be good for a business trip or a short weekend break.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awaylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed here for one night. Great location....one minute from bus/train stations and Union Square, five minutes from Union Street. Friendly and helpful staff. Room nicely decorated and well-maintained, if slightly on the small-ish side (however, just the size of room you'd expect for a city centre hotel). Beds were comfy and warm, and we had no bother with external noise. We chose to eat our evening meal in the restaurant, for which we were given a 10% off voucher, being hotel residents and the food was really tasty and well-presented. Although primarily seafood, I am vegetarian and managed to find several choices. Breakfast was good too - plenty of choice and all good quality. Would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Look in the cupboard for the hospitality tray!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed two nights and was pleasently surprised by a spacious twin room with a good bathroom, all very clean. Nice breakfast in the morning. The staff was very nice and helpful. Good location in the town centre with everything in walking distance. Unfortunately no lift, so a bit heavy to carry suitcases and bags. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

we stayed one night at this hotel following sister act,it was central quite location.
Rooms- lovely spacious and bathrooms were so so large with bath & shower cubical,staying at this hotel gave you 10% off restaurant it was well worth it and food was amazing lovely romantic as it was also our anniversary,just a short walk up to union street for further entertainment.
would I stay again YES.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from main street,otherwise great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed here at the end of May with my wife. I booked the room through laterooms.com. I would normally book a Travelodge. We were allocated the Bel Canto suite and we thought it was lovely, very tastfully decorated with some nice art on the walls. Two big windows in the corner of the room overlooking the harbour.We had a very good night and had a reasonably priced, reasonable sized breakfast in the morning . I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: I am not sure what the standard rooms are like but certainly I would choose Bel Canto suite. You mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rab333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 night B&B and was made very welcome, my room was spotless clean,lovely clean crisp bedding and the bathroom was also very clean,very nice full scottish breakfast in the morning as well.
The hotel is situated right in the centre of town,opposite the bus and train station.
Will certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mand21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#48 of 65 in Aberdeen
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#61 of 65 in Aberdeen
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,990 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#43 of 65 in Aberdeen
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Property: Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Address: 20/22 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique baronial style hotel in the heart of Aberdeen's city centre. Adjacent to the train station, harbour and airport bus link. At the entrance of the city's Merchant Quarter with it's independent boutiques, bars and brasseries. Two minutes walk from all the key theatres, art galleries and museums. Superb Wine Bar and Mediterranean restaurant with live entertainment at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing