We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Ranked #56 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Had a one night stay and was quite pleasantly surprised,nice room,had an electric shower so no problem with hot water until trying to clean my teeth in the morning.There could be an issue with noise from the ships in the harbour but it did not bother me,would have no problem using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here in march great location but at night wanted a bath but no hot water! In the morning took more than 20 mins for hot water! Plus door in bathroom would noy shut! Spoke to staff about door and hot water they said they would sort it! When coming back that night nothing sorted still no hot water!
I will be not be staying at this hotel again! Very disappointed with this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claireregan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed @ this hotel on a Sunday night because of an early airport checkin the next day. The room itself was massive. I got one of the suites. Only problem there was onl;y a small electric heater which could hardly cope.
Got up early next morning and there was no hot water and the toilet didn't flush. No time for breakfast because i was out before 5AM.
For an overnight stay I would probably use the hotel again but don't think I would use it for any longer. The traffic is absolutely unbelievable and eventually stops late on only to start again very early again.
Like I say I would use it foe one night stays again only because the train station and bus stations are across the road.

Room Tip: Try and not get a romm directly on to main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GazzerD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

4 of us ate at the Sopranos restaurant last Saturday and I must say we were very impressed with the food and service. It is also very good value for money. We will certainly be eating there again.
I cant understand why it is not included in Trip Advisors Aberdeen restaurant list

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Brilliant location for train, railway station and ferry terminal - also very convenient for shopping, but for longer stays I can't say I find the area that comfortable. Much though it's being gentrifed, it is still the harbour - and that isn't a great place, at night, in any town.

Entrance was a little strange as you have to climb a flight of stairs to reach reception which was a very functional, sparse desk - yet there was some really funky wallpaper in public areas!

More stairs to climb, with suitcase, to reach your room - lack of lift would be irritating if on higher floors or with a lot of luggage (no porter).

Room was spacious, clean and well enough equipped but somehow looked as though it has been "done up" cheaply, and was already looking a little tatty in places. Minor defects like skirting board missing in toilet, hole where toilet roll holder had been movedwas left unfilled and no towel rail, let the room down slightly.

Room overlooked a bar, and although there was no noise, a screen or net curatin would have been nice so the bar doorman did not have a clear view into the room. I was disappointed to find that given the exceptionaaly cold (snowing) weather the heating was switched off. The tiny heater was behind the curtains so it toom a very long time for the room to warm up - I was cold even under the bed covers!

Loved the quirkily decorated bar/ restaurant area. Bar staff were very friendly and drinks reasonably priced.

Cooked breakfast is done to order and exceptionally good, but the other offerings seemed a little sparse - no fresh fruit and a basket with only three partries in it at 8.00am.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidotheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed here for one night.Great location just opposite bus and railstation.Staff very pleasant.The room was clean and spacious which overlooked the main road .Having said that the room was cold and had no hot water at all.Breakfast was very good.Bar seating area very tired in need of updating.All in all okay for one night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Quirky hotel in good location close to rail station. Clean simple room. Great food downstairs with interesting quality menu. Plenty of stairs though! Quiet room. Pleasant staff. Themed rooms from Operas. Lovely gothic building.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donaldosaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#51 of 65 in Aberdeen
681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
#42 of 65 in Aberdeen
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#41 of 65 in Aberdeen
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Aberdeen Central Justice Mill Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Address: 20/22 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: £33 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique baronial style hotel in the heart of Aberdeen's city centre. Adjacent to the train station, harbour and airport bus link. At the entrance of the city's Merchant Quarter with it's independent boutiques, bars and brasseries. Two minutes walk from all the key theatres, art galleries and museums. Superb Wine Bar and Mediterranean restaurant with live entertainment at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing