We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to bus station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Ranked #57 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my girlfriend for an overnight stay to edinburgh the next day.
Excellent location as it is directly opposite to the bus station and Town.
The Breakfast was of good Quality and the staff in the restaurant were very helpful and efficient.
Overall hotel is very nice and clean.
Only two things that I didn't like, the hotel has approx 5 floors and the stairs are very steep. There is no lift as it is described as a listed building.
No bell boy or assistance was offered with suit cases. Would find it very hard to
Imagine older people and disabled or families with young children managing these stairs , yes I would recommend staying here but would only stay again if all the stuff I have mentioned was addressed

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickya70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

booked a room for 2 weeks so managed to get a bit of a discount, but had to pay in full at check in and was told that there was a 48 hour cancellation policy.
staff were friendly enough, the room was OK clean enough the bed was comfortable though the décor was a bit dated and there was damp above the window, no air con so to open the window you had to climb over the bed same with closing the curtains.
The bathroom was spot on it looked like it had just been refurbished.
Breakfast was very good cereal, juicehey , fresh brewed coffee, and a choice of cooked breakfast.
I had to leave after 1 week at short notice when I told the receptionist she said I still had to pay for the 2 nights that I would not be there a bit harsh I think but they say it is their policy.
there was a thunder storm whilst I was staying and the rain came in through the roof and dripped through every floor right through to the restaurant, dripping through light fittings and smoke detectors, not very good at all.

Room Tip: traffic noise in rooms at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weegram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was our second stay in sopranos. Stayed overnight on a special online deal. Room was spacious and very clean, staff very friendly. Can be a bit noisy with traffic but its city centre. Very handy for shopping centres. Best of all was sopranos restaurant, excellent food and reasonable price. Staff went out of their way to please, and obviously work very hard from morning to night. Great breakfast too all cooked fresh. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin?

The staff were very pleasant … that's all that I can say to the positive.

The room was stuffy and far, far too warm.

Sound from adjacent rooms can be easily heard.

WiFi Internet access is £10 per day and of very poor quality.

Given the hotel's proximity to Guild St., opening a window for fresh air is met with loud traffic at all hours and party-goers leaving the many bars nearby.

There are no lifts and plenty of stairs.

There are no phones in the rooms.

The desk is rarely manned and they have the nerve to expect the customer to run around the building trying to find assistance.

I will do all I can to avoid this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offshore2long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

had a lovely stay, very helpful, friendly, excellent customer service, good room for reasonable price. Was here to visit friends, location was excellent as I could get anywhere on foot. Food in restaurant very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svajinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice in hotel , the rooms are perfect , clean and modern ,
I really enjoy the way during the day the hotel bar\restaurant has a franchise for Starbucks , as I love Starbucks this place makes it more homely for customers , at night the food is outstanding and can't be beaten I have being to this restaurant a number of times and the food is outstanding and it a reasonable price , I would recommend this restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The Soprano on first appearance was promising with its external facade, however, inside the hotel was tired, outlandish decor with delapidated rooms. Min facilities no free WIFI & Overpriced for quality of facilities and available services on offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#46 of 65 in Aberdeen
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#59 of 65 in Aberdeen
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#30 of 65 in Aberdeen
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Address: 20/22 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: £44 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique baronial style hotel in the heart of Aberdeen's city centre. Adjacent to the train station, harbour and airport bus link. At the entrance of the city's Merchant Quarter with it's independent boutiques, bars and brasseries. Two minutes walk from all the key theatres, art galleries and museums. Superb Wine Bar and Mediterranean restaurant with live entertainment at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing