We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel close to the town center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel close to the town center”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is close to the centre of town, convenient for the station and so on.
The restaurant and bar are on the ground floor, meaning that reception and rooms are on the first second and third floors with no lift: so not recommended if you will struggle carrying your bags up to three floors by hand. The room was a good size and the en-suite bathroom adequate. My room smelled strongly of paint, but hopefully this is a temporary problem.
OK, but fairly expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: Beware no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    76
    68
    43
    40
See reviews for
12
90
37
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This is a very convenient city centre hotel, situated across the street from the rail and bus stations, and within easy walking distance of all the main shopping areas.

The hotel itself is average, and did not exceed in any aspect, but nothing to complain about either.

The price, by Aberdeen standards, for very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Lovely big room, everything you would expect and need. Staff extremely helpful, went the extra mile when asked for assistance. Room rather cold at night, extra heater in room, quickly replaced when stopped working. Breakfast lovely.
Great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

£180 a night for a single. £10 extra for WiFi code. Cold shower at 6 in morning. Stale tesco value bread for breakfast at that time.

The above sums it up. The room was actually quite comfortable and the location is excellent however for a single bed at £180 a night I expect a cooked breakfast, free WiFi and a hot shower in the morning. Glad it was my company footing that bill, that's all I can say.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A bit of a pain with the staircases to the front desk/rooms but a friendly welcome. Large room with nice bathroom. A few bars within walking distance and easy access to a taxi pickup on the side street.

Not sure I'd go to Aberdeen again...but if so this hotel would be in the running for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I booked for 2 nights at the rate of £175 per night. Although well used to the rip off nature of Aberdeen hotels, this really took the biscuit. The weather had turned cold and the room was freezing on check in. There was no visible form of heating in the bathroom at all and it felt as cold and damp as a cave. The two radiators in the room were stone cold and the valves were tightened closed and the adjusters removed. They were offering to give me a plug in convector. The hotel is in a seedy place. There's nowhere to park in front, even to drop your bags in. I parked in a side street and some dodgy characters looked hungrily at the car and the wheels in particular. I had to push through a crowd people grouped around the front door. Many seemed to be having a smoking break outside Ladrokes, which the hotel sits above. I was told that the best place to take my car for the night would be Union Square - that would have been a 20 minute walk back. I demanded a refund and the manager relent my room in the 15 minutes that I was repacking my things. That's Aberdeen for you. I will never be back to this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RRRBEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Staff were very polite , thats the only positive i can say . Cold rooms , no central heating just a plug in heater , a candle would omit more heat than it did..

Decor is very dated , and could do with a tidy up.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malky2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#44 of 65 in Aberdeen
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#61 of 65 in Aberdeen
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#59 of 65 in Aberdeen
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Property: Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Address: 20/22 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique baronial style hotel in the heart of Aberdeen's city centre. Adjacent to the train station, harbour and airport bus link. At the entrance of the city's Merchant Quarter with it's independent boutiques, bars and brasseries. Two minutes walk from all the key theatres, art galleries and museums. Superb Wine Bar and Mediterranean restaurant with live entertainment at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing