We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four large fishing trawlers EACH with 20 high power lights shining into your room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Four large fishing trawlers EACH with 20 high power lights shining into your room”
Reviewed 18 November 2010

The thick drapes covering the two windows could not hide the bright lights of the four HUGE fishing trawlers with hi power lights that remained on all night. Or the hummmm of their powerful generators. The people who wait for the bus outside the front door have better access to the hotel - nowhere to stop to drop off your bags, a three block walk to a locked car park, and then three flights of stairs (no lift) to drag your luggage up.
Having said that, the restaurant and staff are lovely.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirTuck2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    76
    69
    44
    40
See reviews for
12
92
38
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2010

I booked my reservation after carefully reviewing this hotel website. I was travelling with a person who has limited mobility. Nowhere on the website or in reviews of this hotel was it ever mention that there is NO place to park that is remotely close to the hotel and someone with limited mobility should NEVER come here. AND the parking lots are locked at night so you could not remove your car. You cannot even stop at the front of the hotel and drop off your bags. Additionally entry to the hotel front desk is up one full flight of stairs. Entry to your room is up at least another additional flight (if you can get a room on a lower floor). THERE IS NO LIFT. When I finally walked the three blocks from the car to the hotel (having to leave my friend with limited mobility in the car) and realized that there was not a possibility of my friend being able to be accommodated at this hotel, the staff at the desk couldn't have cared less. They said that because I didn't cancel 48 hours in advance, I would be charged for the room anyway. I made repeated attempts via the mail and emails to contact the hotel and ask for a refund. THEY NEVER RESPONDED to any mail or emails. Additionally VISA tried and failed to get ANY response from them. Clearly they don't give a $hit about customers. DO NOT EVER PATRONIZE THIS HOTEL. There are plenty of other hotels that accommodate limited mobility customers and actually LIKE people in the immediate area. FIND ANOTHER HOTEL IN ABERDEEN!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valmc8084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We ended up in this hotel as a last minute booking for 60 euros and had the executive twin room, apparently named 'Passionata' on the 1st floor. Both the room and the bathroom had a luxurious feel about it, and we had a broad flatscreen (a bit awkwardly positioned near the ceiling). Apart from people on the other side of the street (and the office building) being able to look into the room, it was absolute value for money. Very helpful daytime staff servicing with a smile.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Be0rn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed the 1 night and thought it was a good hotel at good value. The staff were friendly and helpful and room was clean. The breakfast was tasty but after reading on the menu it was "serious sausages" i expected more than 1 small sausage lol.

Would happily stay there again if the price was right

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammyfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

stayed here for one night great location right beside the bus station and a decent breakfast.staff are very friendly .would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbow2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I love Scotland, I come here every year, I stayed in 4 different hotels in aberdeen and all of them except Sopranos were unreasonably expensive. What an amazing location for shoppers and tourists. This place has an amazing wine bistro. Incredible Staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose-glasgow111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Stayed here twice and both times have been happy with this hotel. Friendly staff when checking in who advised about car parking, its in a good location across road from new union square development/bus and train stations, both times I had a comfortable room with a nice bathroom and on my last trip I was surprised at the size of room I was given.

On my last stay there was noise from 7am onwards due to roadworks outside but not alot hotel can do about that. Best bet for parking is college st car park (in the stations levels not union sq parking levels)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#48 of 65 in Aberdeen
653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#61 of 65 in Aberdeen
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,984 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#43 of 65 in Aberdeen
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Property: Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Address: 20/22 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6NF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique baronial style hotel in the heart of Aberdeen's city centre. Adjacent to the train station, harbour and airport bus link. At the entrance of the city's Merchant Quarter with it's independent boutiques, bars and brasseries. Two minutes walk from all the key theatres, art galleries and museums. Superb Wine Bar and Mediterranean restaurant with live entertainment at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing