We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Brentwood Hotel
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ideal location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by our son and we were not disappointed. We booked 2 nights at the weekend at a very reasonable rate ( for Aberdeen ) and the location was spot on for everything we wanted to do, once we parked the car it was there till we left. Union Street is a 2min walk away and Union Square about 5mins. We were fortunate to be in one of the executive suites in the hotel which was absolutely beautiful. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the food we had was excellent. The hotel is very clean and cosy and can be a bit deceiving from the outside. I will definitely be booking this hotel again if we need to stay in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    93
    40
    9
    9
See reviews for
26
82
30
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding with my wife. Friendly staff, free parking, and a very good central location. The room was small, but we didn't spend much time in it, the only issue we had was the water pressure in the shower and toilet cistern which was almost non-existent, the shower was a dribble and the toilet took a very long time to refill, we were only on the second floor. My daughters had no problem with their water pressure and they were just down the corridor. Breakfast was excellent served up in a nice dining room. The room rate at the weekend was very reasonable, although it increases dramatically during the week.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastdave199Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have stayed at the Brentwood Hotel several times in the past 25 years and I'm sorry to say that this stay is best forgotten.

Upon checking in, we were given Room 105 which is actually smaller than a prison cell (I've visited a prison museum). The Duty Receptionist did not understand that it was unsuitable for us for four nights - especially with my wife suffering arthritis as it was an up and down route march to reach this first floor room, the receptionist tried to make things difficult in implying that we couldn't have the same room for four continual nights, so I started to ring round the Premier Inns and Holiday Inn Expresses around the city, lo and behold she offered us the choice of two rooms and we selected Room 120, which we stayed in before.

The room was clean, with a comfortable bed and well furnished - despite the common fault of tv remotes not working! The bathroom was clean, but the shower was abysmal - you run round the bath in an attempt to get wet!!!

Breakfast is interesting! In the good old days of the Brentwood Hotel, breakfasts were hearty feasts that kept you going all day. The Brentwood Hotel of today exercises portion control Aberdonian style!!!

The restaurant menu is a lack-lustre shadow of its former self - gone is the 'Carriages' name which attracted residents and non-residents to dine there, it appears that Brentwood Hotel cannot compete with the eating places in nearby Union Square.

The real bugbear to this place is parking and it always will be, if you drive anything bigger than a mid-sized hatchback, then be prepared to recall all your driving lessons for reverse parking and three (more like thirty) point turns.

When Jim ran this hotel, he ran a very tight ship which he was proud of, Jim has retired and sadly we can see the sparkle and gloss disappearing from the Brentwood.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 105!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent one night here with a friend, reception is very nice. Room was nice, lots of space & high ceilings. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast (included in price) was yummy. The hotel has character, much better than your 'premier inn'. Very handy with shops, both union st and union sq. Price was very reasonable, one of the cheapest we could find. What more could you want! Will be returning again.

Room Tip: I think we had a family room, with a double bed & single bed. Only booked a twin room so it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddict2278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Had a one night stay over that this lovely hotel. The room was spacious and clean and found the price very reasonable. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and again both were excellent. Enjoyed a few drinks in the hotel bar. Union Street is only a two minute walk from the hotel so it is ideal for shopping and bars. Found the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had the Shetland rate, which i am pleased about as it's not worth any thing more. Our room was above the bar and next to the smoking area, so we had loud noise and the smoke coming into our room. We complained and got moved to a different room which was good.
The breakfast was very good, thought the young waitress with the long blonde hair was very rude, she stared at us all the time with a face like thunder, not once did we see her smile.
We had an evening meal in there 1 night which was appalling. I had the venison casserole which was awful, it was so dry i couldn't eat it and the mash was full of pepper i couldn't eat that either. Very poor. The waitress stood staring at us again, it was very uncomfortable (same one, with the blonde hair)
The reception staff were very nice...no complaints there.
Sorry, but i wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Really lovely hotel, food was brilliant! Very central. We ate both nights in the restaurant as the food was so good! Cooked breakfast was spot on! Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Will stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosehearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.0 mi away
Highland Hotel
Highland Hotel
#58 of 64 in Aberdeen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#13 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#28 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,854 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brentwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brentwood Hotel

Property: The Brentwood Hotel
Address: 101 Crown Street, Aberdeen AB11 6HH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brentwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brentwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood Hotel Aberdeen
The Brentwood Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing