We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
16040311031
Hebburn, United Kingdom

Avoid like the plague

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Dec 2021
Made a reservation over a month ago for night of 3rd December. Booking confirmed by last-minute.com, arrived at Hotel, no room reservation. Hotel has allocated all rooms to Home Office Asylum Seekers. No warning given by hotel or booking site.
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£94
  • Expedia.com
    £99
  • Agoda.com
    £74
  • Hotels.com
    £99
1.8 miles from OYO Brentwood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aberdeen Standard Double
£80
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    £72
  • Vio.com
0.2 miles from OYO Brentwood Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£87
  • Expedia.com
    £108
  • Agoda.com
    £71
  • Hotels.com
    £108
3.8 miles from OYO Brentwood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre hotel exterior
£39
  • Trip.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £44
  • StayForLong
0.6 miles from OYO Brentwood Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £99
  • Skyscanner.com
    £74
  • Hotels.com
    £89
0.5 miles from OYO Brentwood Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £89
  • Hotels.com
    £89
  • Priceline
1.3 miles from OYO Brentwood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £40
  • Algotels
    £68
0.2 miles from OYO Brentwood Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £85
  • Agoda.com
    £73
  • Official Hotel Site
2.4 miles from OYO Brentwood Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge Bar
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £72
  • ZenHotels.com
    £68
  • Hotels.com
    £80
0.2 miles from OYO Brentwood Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £30
  • Trip.com
3.9 miles from OYO Brentwood Hotel
View more hotels in Aberdeen
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
119
134
65
19
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
119
134
65
19
54
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2021

If you are reading this review you will already have ready all the other poor reviews....other guests are not lying! This hotel is absolutely shocking, filthy beyond belief. Such a disappointment.

This hotel is a very well known hotel for people from the Northern Isles. This is not the hotel I remember. It is the Brentwood hotel plus the Highland guest house next door merged together under the new owners OYO. Staff are not friendly, absolutely nothing explained to us upon checking we were told to "go to the building next door" This instantly got me concerned as this was the old Highland guest house. We entered the family room, which looked nothing like the pictures online.

The bin had not been emptied, there were hairs all through the bed clothes which had obviously not been changed. The piech of material that hotels place at the bottom of their beds for decoration was covered in someone's blood. We were so tired from the boat journey to Aberdeen and angry that we had faced up to that we just dumped our bags and left the room to go shopping and tried to not think about it because it was only for one night.

The next morning however when we tried to have a shower in the again dirty bathroom which had absolutely no soap for washing your hands with, there was no hot water after running the shower for a few minutes. A call was made to reception about the issue I was told that this is normal and the water would turn hot after a few minutes, after 8 minutes the water was barely warm. We couldn't wait to leave, a massive disappointment from what used to be a fantastic hotel........Never again!!!!

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allanwA3987QB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 November 2021

My two sons (7 and 11) and I went to Aberdeen for one day and needed a relatively cheap and cherry place to spend the night. The OYO Brentwood hotel provided what we needed.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and called taxis, gave us directions and assisted us. On the day of our departure, the gentleman who I presume to be the manager very kindly carried some of our luggage towards the bus station, using a shortcut that saved us spending money on taxi.

But like others have said, it is not the best hotel in Aberdeen. It was clean, but some things could be improved on. The room where we stayed in had a leaking toilet which I didn't notice on time. It wasn't a lot and the room did not get flooded, but it was there. I hope they get it glued/sealed again. Plus there were a few stains in the bath tub that I couldn't wash off. There were also some stains on some (not all) of the towels we were given, two out of four. I believe we could have exchanged them for cleaner ones, but thankfully we went with ours, so didn't bother.

That said, we did like some features of the room. The beds (a double and a single) were comfortable and pleasant to sleep in, the lights worked, shower and water worked fine. The room had a nice wardrobe with an ironing stand+iron.

My oldest son who is 11 wasn't particularly thrilled, but for the price and short duration of our trip, I thought it was alright. It probably should be called a guest house rather a hotel.

In this season of Covid, where the hospitality industry has been badly affected, I must commend the staff for staying open and offering very cheap rates. I really hope they can make the necessary improvement to attract more guests.
Best wishes OYO Brentwood Aberdeen!

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 327theresao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2021

Best thing about this hotel is the check in.
Toilet had urine in it already,making me doubt that it had been cleaned. Shower never had hot water but the bath did strangely. Not too bad, nothing you can't deal with. Until you see the broken bathroom light ,damp roof, and shoddy repairs to the toilet.
Also had dried in vomit on the carpet and various make up stains /lipstick and very dusty and scruffy. Couldn't wait to leave. Have emailed them and messaged the number provided, with no response, so left a review through the booking app I used,which has been deleted. And for almost £60 pounds a night, it's was ridiculous.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 593susane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2021

Husband booked 3 rooms for a family get together. My poor family who arrived before us were horrified. The rooms were not together, in fact further apart would have been impossible. One was an attic room that only a 5 foot dwarf could stand up in, no heat and no water. The other warmer but in the same vein. Our "luxury" room was cleanest, but with blood on the bathroom walls and bedroom ceiling. The halllways smelt varyingly of vomit and damp.
The staff were genuinely friendly & helpful. The owners should be banned from advertising this as anything else than a dosshouse.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionabM3231VY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2021

Checked in with overwhelming stench of damp only positive has a car park frantically looking for somewhere to stay should have read the reviews a major mistake. Been staying in Aberdeen for years stayed hear lots of times while on business but made a massive mistake coming back.

Room tip: Don’t come stay away unless you can hold your breath for 24 hours.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeB182
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews