We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Packed, big serves, reasonably priced.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rustico

Rustico
Ranked #16 of 658 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Adelaide
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Packed, big serves, reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

Really busy place, lovely food with generous proportions. Nothing to fault other than they like to move you through pretty quickly!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigOilAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    495
    155
    58
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary, alberta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Won't be returning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We were completely unimpressed. We have a child with a peanut allergy. They serve pasta. It's usually an easy combination, as it's really unlikely that you'll find peanuts in a bowl of pasta. They absolutely refused to say that there would not be peanuts in the pasta. Despite going over it with the waitress multiple times, and her multiple trips to speak with the chef - being very clear that all we sought for our child was a bowl of plain pasta with butter, they refused to serve him.

We've travelled far and wide and have NEVER encountered this. It is ridiculous. This process took over 30 minutes to sort through. The most frustrating part of the entire experience is that we'd confirmed that the peanut allergy wouldn't be an issue when we called to reserve a table. Thank goodness another restaurant nearby could take us in at the last minute, where our child very easily enjoyed a meal.

We aren't looking for big menu re-writes when we eat out - as allergies are tough for restaurants to manage. But when seeking something as simple as pasta and butter, surely accommodating such a request in an Italian restaurant shouldn't be too big of a stretch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5luckytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Poor Poor Poor. Get back to you normal Rustico”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

I dined here last night as part of a work night out. There was a big group of us so it was a set menu which was fair enough. Starters were ok. Main - horrendous - It was basically just pasta with some pesto through it, so awful. At £27.95 a head you expect better. Service was slow - most of us had finished our main courses before the other half of the table had even been served their mains.

Waitresses were 'snappy' too. "Madame madame give me your plate" not what you want when your trying to enjoy a nice night.

I have dined here before and it was nice but last night was such a disappointment. Not what you expect given the price we were paying.

Not impressed. Unless it improves I will not be returning. Highly recommend Mi Amore on Huntly Street which is 10 times better anyway.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank dior123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Spoilt for choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We visited for dinner on a Wednesday night - we were seated at a fantastic table in the top floor by the window. The service was really good as the drinks order was taken promptly but enough time was allowed to choose our meals. The menu is great - so much choice. I've never seen so many starters to choose from! I had the Boccincini Di Carne which were delicious!! They were doughballs stuffed with meat ragu with the choice of a garlic butter dip and an amazing pesto one. So tasty. For main I had Risotto con Scampi - risotto with Prosecco & scampi - that too was just gorgeous. We didn't have to wait too long in between meals either. For 5 people who had 2 courses each & 2 rounds of drinks, the bill came to £124. I would definitely recommend coming here.

Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice place, great food, good value, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Called in last night, table for 2, had starters mains bottle of red and coffee, all came to around £50. Brilliant food, and really friendly staff. Great little Italian in Aberdeen.

Helpful?
Thank Duane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rustico also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Rustico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing