We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, amazing staff, fabulous night!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stage Door Restaurant - CLOSED

The Stage Door Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Steakhouse, Seafood, Grill, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, amazing staff, fabulous night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A night out in Aberdeen with Family, post graduation ceremony. This restaurant was lovely inside, the tables all set beautifully and everyone agreed that the food was delicious. The staff looked after us from start to finish and really contributed to our celebration. How happy we felt that night. Will definitely go back to The Stage Door when I visit Aberdeen.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mamapauline49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    105
    25
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orkney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Graduation Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely food, one of the best meals I have ever had, restaurant lacked atmosphere - music, but the food spoke for itselt. Only gripe would be that one of the reasons for booking this was that the graduate eats free, when in fact its the cheapest meal which is given free. This to me is misleading. It was also pointed out to us that if out of six of you, if one person doesnt have pudding then the free pudding is the non existant pudding. So in effect it is not the graduate eating free!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OrkneySusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Came here for a graduation lunch with my family recently and I was impressed with the quality of the food.
The menu had a great selection and the food itself was excellent. The service was also very good and the restaurant had a nice atmosphere and decor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KoistyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dessert only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I went with a group of friends for my birthday! Over half of us did not like the mains, but luckily we all happy with our desserts!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrush
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a meal at the Stage Door last week with a group of 8 others. The food was fine and the service was fine. The reason I have given just an average rating was for the following reasons:

Thought that the value for money was not great, the price for the starters was high over £9 for scallops, and there where only 3 small scallops on the plate. Steak at over £30.

One of the steaks was not cooked correctly and had to be returned, no problem but no apologise.

Was ok on the whole but would not return as there are better venues in Aberdeen.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stage Door Restaurant also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing