We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This old fashioned Hotel only needs some tlc and it would be back on its feet”
Review of The County Hotel

The County Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The County Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Banff B&B and Inns
Strathaven
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This old fashioned Hotel only needs some tlc and it would be back on its feet”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here one night and it is a lovely old fashioned hotel which if funds were able to be spent on it would be a fab place. The owner and his son are so helpful and the breakfast was really good. The Hotel just needs a little tlc some new paintwork and other touches to help it on its way and it could be back to being a busy place. We didnt eat in the restaurant but the reviews from locals was very high.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get an en suite room and a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    18
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
19
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We are just back from a fantastic stay at the County Hotel, We were treated so well from the moment we arrived. The food was faultless and each course was freshly prepared and beautifully presented. The breakfast was lovely and the owners and their son were so helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Been a while since we were last at County and not disappointed, food was great with steaks cooked to perfection, really friendly and efficient staff, with Eric and Vida perfect hosts.
Atmosphere was as always calm and enjoyable allowing you to hear each other speaking without being aware of others in dining room

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Went here for an extended family dinner. Felt the fish was unexceptional from the a la carte menu. Overall the decor is in dire need of updating, cold and tired. The one member if staff we met was helpful and friendly. Felt the whole experience overpriced, lacked quality and did not meet expectations. Will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The upsides - interesting menu, and absolutely beautiful soups. The downsides - as others have said, 'tired' and in need of a hefty slice of renovation; food quality - variable, but service, dreadful and the coffee far, far worse. I even overheard one older couple discussing a 'cappuccino' they'd ordered which was apparently made from two shots of espresso, in a tiny cup, and some frothy milk! It ended up with the owner virtually begging them to pay the 87p each cartridge cost him - which doesn't do much for the ambiance (and believe you me, the place needs all the help it can get in that direction!).

Now I'm not one to brave it out with the chef if I've had a bad food experience - OK I'm a coward, I'll admit that - but even I had to feel for those two as they (quite rightly) stood their ground on this one. I mean, if you admit you haven't got the facility to make cappuccino, then why offer one? I really felt sorry for them - it obviously spoiled their treat, and it wasn't a good thing to witness.

So as I say, tres Parisienne - in the way that many places in the back-streets of Paris are; over-priced, under-equipped, with a massive sense of entitlement and staffed by people who have no idea of the meaning of the word 'service'! Pretty much like the whole of Banffshire, in fact. No, I won't be going back (not even for the amazing soup).......... but then you probably guessed as much.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I have many times eaten in the Bistro which is full of old traditional charm. Both the owners make you feel at home and welcomed. The food is delightful and the deserts are superb. It is well placed in the centre of town in a listed house. Great ambiance and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona1970REDHILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

I recently visited Morayshire for a few days and, despite the bitingly cold wind, ventured out for a birthday celebration. Four of us made the half hour journey along the coast to Banff to the County Hotel and were not disappointed. We dined in the main restaurant. This is a family run hotel and we were greeted in such a friendly and warm way which went a long way to cover the silence of the dining room as we were the only guests that evening. The room was comfortably lit with lamps and candles and had a pleasant ambience though the decor is dated around 1990. We made our choices from one of the two Table d'hôte menus which had an excellent range of choices. The food is locally sourced and was beautifully cooked. We sampled the sea bass which was superbly cooked and presented with flavoursome vegetables. The sirloin was well cooked but perhaps was not the most tender of cuts. There was an excellent range of desserts but only one member of our party was tempted by the bread and butter pudding which disappeared in record time. Chocolate mints with the coffee satisfied the rest of us. Overall value? Not inexpensive but good value for fresh well-cooked food. I will certainly return hopefully on a warm summer evening!

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maggieanne1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.0 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
16A Low Street
16A Low Street
#8 of 13 in Banff
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carmelite House Hotel
Carmelite House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Banff
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bankhead Croft
Bankhead Croft
#10 of 13 in Banff
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel

Property: The County Hotel
Address: Banff AB45 1AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your The County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The County Hotel Banff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing