We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“this is for craig cottage next to craig alva” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craig Alvah Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Craig Alvah Lodge
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“this is for craig cottage next to craig alva”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2015

hidden gem absolutely marvellous ,had a week there and not long enough red squirrel,woodpeckers,pheasants,deer, heron all seen from window (well just around corner for deer) super place all mod cons,would go there again tomorrow if I could, not a bad thing to say about it.

Room Tip: take some peanuts for the wildlife to put in bird table,didnt turn the tv on once
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Numpty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontcofferFishings, Owner at Craig Alvah Lodge, responded to this review, 15 June 2015
Delighted you enjoyed your week at the cottage and thank you for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2015

I spent a long weekend with friends at the lodge and cannot rate it highly enough, in fact it was perfect. Reception rooms are spacious so can accommodate large groups, comfortable bedrooms, majority with ensuites. Great indoor pool. Sky TV and SONOS sound system available. Climbing frame & trampoline available in garden area. Great location in any month of the year !

  • Stayed March 2015, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontcofferFishings, Owner at Craig Alvah Lodge, responded to this review, 29 March 2015
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
Also thanks for recommending the Lodge to some of your friends who have now made a booking with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

We have just returned from a weekend at the lodge and cannot rate it highly enough. Each room is fitted to a very high standard and the sheer size of this lodge means you also have privacy if needed.the indoor pool was very welcoming and it meant we didn't have to brave the cold chill outside. If you are looking for s retreat with all the chic of a boutique hotel but without the restrictions then this is the place for you. I know myself and our group of friends will def make a return visit very soon.

Stayed March 2015, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stewartx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontcofferFishings, Owner at Craig Alvah Lodge, responded to this review, 29 March 2015
Thank you for your kind review and for staying with us.Really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2014 via mobile

5* lodge no doubt! Equipped with absolutely everything one could need with top of the range fittings! Such a beautiful lodge.. We really did not want to leave!!
Local area very scenic but not much more to do therefore
Entertainment at this lodge is perfect with the pool .. Games room.. And the garden facilities.
Will definitely be visiting again!

Stayed October 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sai R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontcofferFishings, Owner at Craig Alvah Lodge, responded to this review, 29 March 2015
Thank you for staying with us and taking time out to write a review.Delighted you all enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2014

For my parents 60ths we decided to find accommodation to take five couples and two small children, large enough to stay in during rain and luxury to relax in, this was perfect. The living space was more than enough, we could all move freely without bumping into each other! The swimming pool was fantastic, hot tub too. All bedrooms were spacious and finished to a high standard. The large TV/ games room sat everyone comfortably. Any small problems were dealt with quickly and efficiently. We would recommend Hamish to bag piper to welcome you in (!) and local fish and chips in Whitehills. We used Iain Bain photographer for family portraits who was great. Myself and boyfriend surfed in Banff, the water was warm and waves were fantastic. Plenty of tea rooms and pottery shops to explore and beautiful wooded walks from the lodge. Only points to improve would be a clear recycling system.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lydiambarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontcofferFishings, Owner at Craig Alvah Lodge, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review.i am delighted you all enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to meet you and your family.It seemed between coming out to change the pool filters and add chlorine and the problem with the dishwasher that I was out too much so thank you for your patience with me.Thankfully the dishwasher is working perfectly now.we are very lucky with our location with the beautiful woodland and river walks right from the door .very brave to be surfing in the north sea , it seems to be getting very popular up here the last few years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at the lodge for my friends daughters hen party had a lovley tym lodge was perfect very well equiped with everything you need. Couldn't belive the size of it it was massive swimming pool was great too nice and warm hot tub was ace as well. Plenty to do and lovley views saw a squirrel running through the garden this morning. All bedrooms had en-suite apart from the one downstairs, beds were very comfy en-suites nice and big. We all loved our weekend and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didum2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontcofferFishings, Owner at Craig Alvah Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for the review and delighted you enjoyed your weekend.
We used to have at least 5 or 6 red squirrels come to feed every day but due to abuse of the bags of nuts I used to leave I stopped leaving the nuts so we don't see many at the Lodge now, although they still regularly come to the cottage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invergordon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

2nd time I've stayed here in 6 months..1st with a group of friends and this time wi the family and both times have been amazing!! Saw the owner today and he was lovely and good crack and also very helpful ...would recommend this place to everybody n he it might av it's little flaws but when it's rented out 90% of the year I would expect little things to be wrong but it doesn't and wouldn't put me off... Already plannin our next wkend here as it's just perfect xx

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontcofferFishings, Owner at Craig Alvah Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us again and for taking the time to post a review.
Delighted you all enjoy staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.6 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Knowes Hotel
The Knowes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Macduff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carmelite House Hotel
Carmelite House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
6.1 mi away
Durn House
Durn House
#1 of 6 in Portsoy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.5 mi away
16A Low Street
16A Low Street
#8 of 13 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig Alvah Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Alvah Lodge

Property: Craig Alvah Lodge
Address: Bridge of Alvah, Banff AB45 3TD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Banff
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Craig Alvah Hotel Banff
Craig Alvah Lodge Banff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing