We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrace Resturant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banff Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Had lunch out in the terrace of the hotel with its magnificent view of the mountains. The food was excellent as well.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Harperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

A good hotel for a short stay. Not very well signposted from the town. The rooms were clean and well presented and the food in the bar was excellent and good value for money. Staff very friendly and informative about the menu choices.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_howard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This Hotel is a nice modern hotel in a lovely location. The view from the bar restaurant was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The overall experience of staying here was enjoyable.

The accommodation - was modern and up-to-date. The decor in the Executive Room we had was really nice. The room was spacious. We had a large Double/Kingsize bed and a single bed for our daughter, with a full size pull-out bed for our son, and still plenty of space. There was a table and soft chairs around it to sit at should you want room service or to work. The TV was great, large screen. There was a separate cubby hole with spotlighting to hang clothes and this also had tea/coffee making facility. The bathrom was modern, spotlighting with a nice bath/shower. The view from the room was superb with floor to ceiling window. We couldn't get the door open onto the outside though we tried, and this was the only drawback as we had to cart the luggage around the outside of the building. You can only access this new annexe from outside by walking round from Reception, you can't get to it from inside the main hotel.

Breakfast - was fine, cereal, a cooked English breakfast which tasted good and the ability to make what toast you wanted. All the usual things you'd expect. Great.

Evening Meal - on the 3 nights we stayed, we ate in the Main Restaurant twice, and on both occasions the food was good. A little on the expensive side, but worth it for the quality. There was a reasonable choice. On the first night the service was very slow, and getting to sign the bill at the end took forever. Luckily this improved once we realised that if you stay in the restaurant a while after closing, go to the bar to sign your bill. On the 3rd night we ate in the bar restaurant. The food was a little cheaper, the atmosphere was livelier, the choice on the menu was more geared to families which was what we preferred and the view - fantastic - especially the sunset which was stunning.

Value for money - Just over £400 for 3 nights in a nice Suite for 2 Adults and 2 Children, Bed, Breakfast and Dinner in August. Pretty good I'd say.

Generally - Friendly staff, large Car Park, nice facilities, clean public toilets and areas.

Stay here again - Yes, definately.

Room Tip: The only downside is having to go outside the main hotel to get to this Annexe - if it's cold an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teddybearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

You can put lipstick on a pig but it's still a pig.

Rooms were old and tired.
Breakfast was good.
Ate in the main restaurant, the starters were tasty, main course was ok cheese board was appalling, when this was brought to attention of duty manager their lack of interest was at best worrying.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viagrabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

A busy weekend in Aberdeen staying at various hotels - out last night was spent at Banff Springs and we couldn't have asked for a better hotel to end our stay. The exec room was just lovely - the staff so professional and on the ball - food was good, breakfast excellent - would stay again

Room Tip: They do give you a £20 charge to upgrade -
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hellsbells006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Attended a training course for 2 days and had a good experience with very friendly staff, large training room and great food. The location and views are stunning and a great place to stay for a destress walk along the beach. The room was new and excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryano s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

our second visit to the banff spring and everything was realy good the fish was fresh and tastey and the young waitresses were friendly and helpful. The weather was sunny and the few while eating are second to none looking over to the north you can watch the kite surfers on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chablis03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.7 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
137 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
376 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Knowes Hotel
The Knowes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Macduff
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
5.7 mi away
Station Hotel Portsoy
Station Hotel Portsoy
#2 of 7 in Portsoy
244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmelite House Hotel
Carmelite House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Banff
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Springs Hotel

Address: 8 Golden Knowes Road, Banff AB45 2JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £73 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Springs Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing