We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Banff Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed here on Christmas night as we were visiting relations for lunch at their home and did not want to drive home and I can honestly say that this hotel is a credit to the British hospitality industry. I only wish that all hotels were more like this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edward b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to hopefully seeing you again.
Maxine Riddoch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

On arriving at this picturesque hotel, we found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming! Maxine, the receptionist, goes out of her way to help you, and make you feel like your amongst friends! The room was gorgeous, clean & fresh, with a beautiful vista of the North Sea & Bay below... The service in the restaurant couldnt be faulted and the food was delicious, plentiful and of a very high standard! This hotel ranks amongst the best we have stayed in! We already look forward to our next visit!! Highly recommended !! x

Room Tip: ask for an executive room, they all look over the bay :) x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouCarle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We travelled to the Banff Springs for a Sunday lunch for 4, booking in advance. On our arrival, we found the restaurant very busy with the staff fully occupied trying to meet the demand. This resulted in a longish wait to be served our food. We had 4 x Cullen Skink as starters and although prepared differently from other places we've been, it was still very tasty. The main courses of Steak & Ale pie and Chicken with chef's vegetables were very acceptable and our overall view of our meal was that it was worth the wait! maybe the Manager can organise his staff better to meet demand, but to be fair, this was probably a one-off post New-Year rush.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank AFS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I was part of a group of 8 who stayed in Banff for the 2 night New Year package 2012-13.

Buffet dinner with dancing, pipe band at midnight followed by fireworks. Excellent
Breakfast then dinner on day 2 were superb. Excellent menus.

Beach scavenger quiz plus adults GK quiz (ngoing to be handed in at end of day) plus wine and whisky tasting all organised by functions manager Gillian McBain and her team were excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

First class made very welcome, room was warm comfortable, meal was best I have had in a long time, would reccomend this to anyone who needs a Hotel in the area. Breakfast would keep you going all day.

Room Tip: all good as far as I have seen, just had a lot of work done on all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexhanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We held our wedding reception at The Springs in June and we are still getting fantastic feedback from our guests about what a great wedding it was.
Everything about the day and the build up to it was fantastic, all along we had total confidence in the whole team, Gillian and the banqueting team, Maxine and the reception team, Mary and the housekeeping team, not forgetting the Chef and his team. The organisation, attention to detail, cleanliness of the rooms and standard of the meal went beyond the expectation of ourselves and our guests.
Can't thank and praise everyone highly enough, would highly recommend the hotel for meals, accommodation or events.
A wonderful example of great Scottish hospitality which lots of bigger / higher star rating hotels could learn from.
Thank you not just from us but our guests as well.

Stayed: June 2012
2  Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I booked this hotel for my daughter’s wedding reception in October 2012 following good reports from others had used this as a similar venue. We were assisted in planning the event by Gillian, who could not do enough to help and nothing was too much trouble. From our first meeting, through to managing the wedding reception she was on hand to deal with any questions or concerns we had.

The preparation of the hall and attention to detail exceeded our expectations. The food was served hot and was very tasty, & the service was good. Many of guests commented on how good the food was.

Many friends and family booked into the hotel for the night. The rooms had clearly been refurbished to a good standard and the bed we had in the Gilmore Suite was comfortable providing a good night’s sleep.

Our thanks to Gillian and all the staff at the Banff Springs for helping to make the day such a memorable occasion for everyone, and particularly Nicola & Colin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.7 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
133 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
371 reviews
20.7 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
256 reviews
5.7 mi away
Station Hotel Portsoy
Station Hotel Portsoy
#2 of 7 in Portsoy
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmelite House Hotel
Carmelite House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Banff
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Springs Hotel

Address: 8 Golden Knowes Road, Banff AB45 2JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £67 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Springs Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing