We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for small function and weekend stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banff Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent venue for small function and weekend stay.”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Attended small function (Dinner for 40), stayed for 2 nights with 10 others attending same party. Room spotlessly clean, new bathroom. Food very good both at function and in Restaurant -Scallops & monkfish were fantastic. Staff were mostly local and very friendly. Only drawback is no spa facilities, but that's reflected in the price for rooms.
Would happily recommend this hotel for functions, dinner and rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, I am glad you enjoyed your few days here and I hope you will return again soon. Maxine Riddoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    114
    45
    25
    13
See reviews for
107
145
10
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Three day holiday in Banff staying at the the Banff Springs hotel. We were visiting my wife's relatives with her sister and husband.

Clean, smart hotel with fantastic views. Dinners and breakfasts were excellent with wonderful food and wide choices. Service from all staff was excellent at all times and they were all so friendly.

The steak pie was just the best we have ever tasted.

Plenty of parking available and certainly seemed to be the best hotel in the area.

Great walking from the hotel with lovely beaches on the door step.

It would have been 5 stars but there were some negative points worthy of note which the hotel may care to consider.

1. The hotel website makes no mention that they are undergoing major refurbishment and that the bar has been gutted and is therefore not available to guests . Therefore the per-dinner area was crowded and cramped.
2 on arrival and for the first two days the view of the hotel entrance was spoilt by a pile of rubbish from the refurbishment. Broken plasterboard, old carpets and general builders rubbish not a good impression on first arriving.
3 the bedroom on the third day was not cleaned and the bin was not emptied. Not a major issue as we kept the room clean but I did have to ask for clean towels. We did put out a sign in the afternoon for the room to be cleaned but this was ignored.
4 on the menu fillet steak is £31.95 plus £2.95 for sauces such as Diane sauce. This is much more expensive than on the hotels website. In addition I checked at other hotels in Scotland , Langan's in London, Aberdeen steak houses, Michelin starred restaurants in Jersey end the Uk and the Banff Springs Hotel is by far the most expensive fillet steak on a menu in Europe. The rest of the menu was very good value for money so I presume the price must be a mistake although on asking the staff they said it was not.


Very, very enjoyable stay at a comfortable hotel which was good value , extremely friendly and has incredible views.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGGSarnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel we are pleased to say that our refurbishment of the bar and dining room our now complete. Our apologises for any inconvenience caused. I note your comments on the pricing of the fillet however being in the heart of Aberdeenshire our prime Aberdeen Angus comes for a local top breeder and are hung for weeks by Aberdeenshire award winning butcher hope to see you again.
Gemma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Went to this hotel for dinner on a return home to see my family. We had a reservation and were seated promptly, during which time the waitress told us multiple times that we would have a wait before our order as they were so busy. We looked around the (newly expanded and refurbished) restaurant and it was half empty... Took 10 mins to give us menus... 15 mins later our order was taken. Food didn't actually take too long to come out, and was very tasty.
My real problem was with the service. Didn't see the same waitress twice, had to get their attention to ask for drinks EVERY time after sitting with empty glasses, which were then left on the table! Also, we weren't informed of the specials menu, only heard it being read to table next to us.
The food was tasty and well cooked and presented, although fish portions small (according to dad!) but if they want to charge city centre prices (their menu is very similarly priced to that of one of my favourite Aberdeen restaurants) then they really need to step up their staff training. The wait staff we dealt with were friendly, nice girls but just seem terribly inexperienced and overwhelmed. And if the kitchen can't cope with a half full restaurant on a Sunday evening, take away some tables. I'll definitely return on my next trip home, just hope they've invested a bit more time with their newer staff by then.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem1009x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your recent visit to the hotel was not up to our usual high standards. We have recruited more staff recently but I will take up the points mentioned with my Food and Beveridge Manager. I hope it will not put you off returning again.
Maxine Riddoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We celebrated our Golden Wedding this past weekend at the Banff Springs. We were delighted with the quality of the food, with the clean comfortable rooms and the pleasant, helpful staff.
Quite a number of our guests stayed one/two nights and the breakfasts were excellent.
Jillian, the young lady who organised the event for us, made sure everything went according to plan and she and her able assistants catered to our every need.
We have no hesitation in recommending this venue to anyone with a similar celebration in mind.

Room Tip: The front rooms have a marvelous sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall package, from the Accommodation, Restaurant, and our Private Room.
I am so glad that Jillian was able to make your Golden Wedding so special for you and your family. We hope to see you again soon. Maxine Riddoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Just been for a lovely meal on the new restaurant at the Springs. Staff really friendly and attentive. Great new menu and wonderful surrounding. Decorated to a great standard and what a view. Can't wait to go again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BARR1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Great to read another positive review, so glad you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Maxine Riddoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Just back from a meal at the Springs. The new dining room is very nice and the food first class. Service was very good, hotel was busy with a function. The lounge bar is being done up and was out of use but the dining room and staff coped well. A big menu with lots of choice, well worth a visit.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your great review. So glad you enjoyed the New menu and our New Restaurant.
We hope to see you again soon.Maxine Riddoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

what a great hotel,were down for a wedding, meal was beautiful staff polite and cheerful great location ,hotel,toilets etc was spotless,owners and staff should be proud of there- selves a great day was had t.y.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hymie3987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your positive review and we hope to see you again soon.
Maxine Riddoch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.7 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
117 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
338 reviews
23.4 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Durn House
Durn House
#1 of 7 in Portsoy
387 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmelite House Hotel
Carmelite House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Banff
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gardenia Guest House
Gardenia Guest House
#9 of 13 in Banff
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Springs Hotel

Property: Banff Springs Hotel
Address: 8 Golden Knowes Road, Banff AB45 2JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Springs Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing