We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcoming and homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Banff Springs Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming and homely”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

A large group of us stayed for 3 nights, to attend a funeral in the village. I could not fault the customer service, exceptional food, and attention to detail. I would most certainly recommend this hotel for any occasion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Sarah
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    114
    45
    25
    13
See reviews for
107
145
10
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckie, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My partner and I booked the Banff Springs for our Wedding Reception in July this year. Right from the word go, we were treated like 'royalty' and the professional approach displayed by Gillian and her staff in the lead up to the wedding was outstanding.
On the day itself, everything went like clockwork which was testament to the hard work put in by the hotel. The weather was great and we had excellent views out over the Moray Firth which helped us and our guests get some excellent photos.
The meal, drinks, speeches, band, buffet and the size of the dance floor was brilliant and a fabulous night was had by all. We really had the time of our lives and our guests have all said since how great the hotel was. We can't wait to go back and have a meal and relive some of ur memories. Thanks to all at the hotel for their hard work especially Gillian!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind words.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Sarah
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Well, what a brilliant place to stay. Even though I was at the Banff Springs on business, it really felt like a mini-break for me. I had a fabulous room with a great sea view. Room was spotless and very comfortable. Easily controlled heating and ventilation (all too often missing in some hotels). Shiny modern bathroom with a proper length bath; a cupboard for all your essentials makes it look tidier.
I was with colleagues at a business event and I really can't praise highly enough the customer service - it made no difference if you were a paying guest or a delegate to the event, everyone was made welcome.
Meals were top notch, delicious and adequately sized portions. Compliments to the whole kitchen team. Dining room well serviced and again spotless. Every single staff member I came across was cheery, friendly and extremely welcoming. We all know that the hotel trade is not the most highly paid employment, but each of the staff portrayed a professionalism that was a pleasure to see.
I stayed for three nights and in the whole time felt truly welcomed and valued as a customer.
I understand that a major refurbishment programme is currently being undertaken, but what has gone so far is stunning - I absolutely loved the outside terrace, especially the flag-stones; I only wish I was here in summer to make the most of it.
I recommend this hotel if you have a business meeting planned - relaxing and picturesque location, true VFM.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMeggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.
It really means a lot to us here at the Banff Springs.
We hope that you will be able to come back again.

Kindest Regards,
Sarah
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We recently had our wedding at banff springs hotel and everything was perfect. The hotel is stunning and food was excellent. All the staff were very helpful and professional. Been back for a meal since the wedding and it was excellent too. Would definetly recommend there as a wedding venue, weekend break or just a meal out :)

Helpful?
Thank Jemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We are so glad that your wedding was perfect for you.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Sarah
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have been here twice recently for lunch and on both occasions enjoyed it very much. Plenty of choice on the menu but each time I had fish which was lovely. The deserts were also delicious. Good service by very attentive staff. We were seated in the dining room and from our table had a beautiful view along the beach towards Whitehills and out to sea.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishbluebell_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your kind comments in regards to your lunch visit.
I will be sure to pass your comments on to our chefs and waiting staff, they will be delighted to hear that you had a great experience.

Kindest Regards,
Sarah
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fintry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have stayed at Banff Springs several times over the last 35 years and would need to compliment the new owners on the refurbishments and modernizing that they have carried out..Our stay of 2 nights 4/11 to 6/11 dinner,bed & breakfast in room 20 was most enjoyable and relaxing with a superb view of the Bay although Sat night was a horrendous storm Quality of food and presentation was excellent.All staff are extremely courteous,helpful and efficient.
Whilst we were there a large function was being held in the banquet suite and it was well worth seeing the beautiful layout created by Manageress Maxine Riddoch and her staff.
We will definitely return

Room Tip: Sea Facing is well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KENNETH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hello there
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I will be certain to pass your kind comments on to the staff and hopefully you will return too the hotel in the future.
Thank you
Jillian
Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a three day break
we had a lovely three days could not fault the hotel or the staff
everyone was very friendly
We had a room with a sea view which was well worth the extra cost
The restaurant served top quality meals with service to match

Room Tip: seaview is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyholidays48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffSpringsHotel, Manager at Banff Springs Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so Much for taking the time to post your comments. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thank you
Sarah
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.7 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
117 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
338 reviews
23.4 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Durn House
Durn House
#1 of 7 in Portsoy
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmelite House Hotel
Carmelite House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Banff
27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gardenia Guest House
Gardenia Guest House
#9 of 13 in Banff
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Springs Hotel

Property: Banff Springs Hotel
Address: 8 Golden Knowes Road, Banff AB45 2JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Springs Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing