We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
It's the one with the red roof
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
It's the one with the red roof
View from upstairs bedrooms. Time for reflection .....
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
It's the one with the red roof
View from upstairs bedrooms.
Time for reflection .....
Upstairs twin room
Upstairs twin room #2
A dram fine fireside
Ding ding ... anyone in ?
Romantic videos ....
Al fresco breakfast
Squabble
Kitchen with a seaview
View from the kitchen sink
Crovie Village in the mist
Local wildlife comes round for breakfast
Big Banffshire sky
Winter wonderland
Summer sun
Midsummer sunset
The view from the front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Banff, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sue O
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Great setting.lovely village.so quiet,all you hear is the sea beating on the rocks.house is cosy and we learnt how to light a coal / log fire. Always cosy in the kitchen with the underfloor heating on, whilst opening the door and looking out to sea just yards away.
Would return here again and again for compete chill out time.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan726
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic, first class”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The cottage is absolutely fantastic, it has everything you need and so well planned and thought out by the owners to make you comfortable. There is absolutely nothing negative you could say about the cottage. Our dogs were really comfortable in there and happy to stay in the kitchen when we went to Gardenstown for a meal. The actual location is good and, Crovie Cottage has its own little parking lot at the rear on the hill. We only had one blustery day when the sea was rough and it was great. We will definitely go again and it was so nice on an evening to cosy up by the log fire and watch a DVD or TV (the only thing I would ask the owners is to buy a larger TV as we both have bad sight and found it difficult to see the screen). Other, thank you to the owners for a really truly wonderful relaxing stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 4 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
4
people found this review helpful

We first arrived in Crovie on a blustery night in October 2008 and nothing could prepare us for the breathtaking sight as we came over the headland, there was Crovie in all it's splendour lit up by the quaint lights and the sea crashing over the bank.
We have stayed there many times since and always at number 13. The accomodation is very comfortable with mod cons alongside a open log fire,bliss. With natures larder on the doorstep it's great to take a fishing rod to the end of the pier and catch supper, or indeed you can buy it at the wonderful fish shop in Macduff. The sunsets are spectacular, pull up a comfy chair outside the cottage with a drink of choice, good company and soak up the atmosphere. This friendliest of villages is a welcome retreat from the hussle and bussle of everyday life and we can't think of anywhere we would rather be either in summer or winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The immediate proximity to a fabulous bay.
Liked least: Going home at the end of a great holiday
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mikewot
Fareham
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Can't get closer to the water”
Reviewed 29 July 2011 for a stay in April 2011

This property is in a fabulous location right next to the water. It does mean no parking outside the front door but there is a car park at the end of the row with wheelbarrows to help you cart your belongings to the cottage (plus 2 more car parks up the hill).
Having hired many other rentals we've never found one so comphrehensively stocked with equipment as this one. Including yea olde video tape player with a vast treasure chest of videos to choose from (and a DVD player for more modern folks).
The nearest village (with a pub) is a short walk away mainly along a constructed path but across part of a beach so watch out at high tide or you'll have the long walk back along the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Azjaki
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is everything the pictures show and more!”
Reviewed 24 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from an extraordinary holiday in Crovie and would highly recommend this lovely cottage. It is cozy, quaint, and a step back to a time that is much simpler and stress-free. We will be returning as my soul cannot imagine that we would not. Thanks, Hamish for everything :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range I prefer not to answer
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia1103...
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sun, sea and sealife, quiet relaxation and no cars!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed in Crovie before and this re-visit did not disappoint. The cottage is cosy when the wind howls and the open fire and underfloor heating makes it suitable for any conditions.
We saw a pod of dolphins cross and recross the bay, and when 'night fishing' (it was still light at mid-night) a pair of sea otters came to investigate!
The cottage has everything you might want and the relaxed attitude to leaving non-perishable everyday items such as cooking oil, canned goods and toiletries means that you don't have to take half used washing up liquid home nor throw it away - environmentally sound.
If you can tear yourself away from the cottage it is close to long sandy beaches (Fraserborough) and other attractions in Banff but we just stayed put and had a brilliant time on the rocks, fishing (caught only 3 all week), sitting on the path outside the cottage and just chilling.
As a guide - we had electric underfloor heating on all week, showers (4) each day and heated the water tank for a couple of hours daily too. Also hot food cooked on electric hob or in the oven at least once each day and used all other facilities such as TV too. In total we (2 adults, 2 teenagers) put about £22 in the meter.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fbumps293
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We have returned for the past 12 years...that says it all”
Reviewed 24 April 2011 for a stay in May 2010
3
people found this review helpful

Location, Views, Amenities (in and around) First Class. Getting to know the local people, even more fun. Romantic fires, Romantic sunsets, what more could you ask for.

We 'came upon' #13, a long time ago, loved the location straight from the start. Hamish ensures everyones comfort. This is what brings us back again EVERY year....

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing