We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Fife Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fife Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights on our honeymoon last month, and it is just a fantastic little hotel. We were both exhausted from the wedding and spent the first day or two just lazing around because it was so comfortable and welcoming. We were in the honeymoon/bridal suite and it was enormous- and had a HUGE bathtub! A lot of provincial hotels are a bit tacky, especially if they're remotely affordable, but the Fife Lodge was beautifully and tastefully decorated, neat and clean- I particularly loved the foyer with that gorgeous chandelier and the huge antique mirror up the staircase. Staff were so lovely; the managers couldn't do enough for us and everyone else staying there. It's really well located as well; lovely views (and bunnies, red squirrels, and pheasant in the garden!) and Banff is a really sweet town, with a lot of daytrip possibilities. We're definitely planning to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanvS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

Hotel staff are gems, really nice and the old fashioned theme is great - the hotel grounds are really pretty for pictures.

The hotel could be done with being done up, it's a shame but if some money could be spent on the hotel it would be stunning.

We stayed here for a wedding in August and the wedding meal was delish, really nice meal.
However the breakfast the morning after left much to be desired.

The hotel rooms are huge and check with the hotel before you go because you can fit more than two in the hotel rooms if you are travelling in a group.

We were £85 for a room and i thought it was expensive because usually you get a special rate for a wedding but i felt the breakfast let the hotel down.

We were back in November for a wedding and the meal again was a treat and the staff were really nice again - we did not stay that time though.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs and almost directly above the bar, there was no noise and the room was HUGE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Arrived very late on a wild windy day, first impressions of the hotel are good with that big hallway and wide staircase, very much a country house sort of feel to the place. Managed to get Room 6 which I believe is the bridal suite for a good price. This is just a fantastic room, felt warm and cosy even though it was a huge, paced it out at about 5m x 6m, tastefully done out with an excellent view over the nearby countryside. The bathroom is also big with separate shower and big bath. Staff were friendly and helpful and the evening meal of fish and chips was good (so it should be in Banff) I guess they tried too hard with the Porridge for breakfast and either made it with cream or added cream; It was a little too rich for my tastes so only 3 stars for this.

So what was wrong; There appears to be a disused door that leads from room 6 to room 5 with the result of virtually no sound insulation between the rooms. This could be a real problem if you had someone noisy, luckily our neighbour finished her phone conversations early and wasn't a snorrer! The big bath was also ruined by a very very slow hot water tap, It must have taken the best part of 30 minutes to run a bath. And finally the TV didn't work, apparently this happens when its windy, can they not secure the aerial or dish a little better?

But overall I would still rate this hotel, it had a real good feel to it, would probably stay again but not in 5 or 6.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PorridgeCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I did manage to get locked out one night, after being supplied with the wrong outside door key (worth checking), but was quickly (thankfully) rescued. Good food, especially the a la carte menu..

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Booked this hotel for my daughter's wedding reception along with most of the Hotel rooms as well. The staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble, the food was excellent with generous portions on the plate as well as two dishes of veg and two dishes of potatoes on each table. One of my daughters, who was a bridesmaid had brought a friend with her and it was not until we sat down to the meal she had forgotten to say her friend was a Vegetarian, this was no problem they quickly produced another meal from the kitchen (congratulations to the Chef). We could not fault anything which made for a great day.

Our rooms were very well furnished, clean and very presentable, with views over the grounds,it was the first time I had stayed in a hotel which had a three-seater leather sofa in the room which did not make the room overcrowded. My daughter & son-in-law who had the largest room which is used also used as a bridal suite were really impressed with the size, quality and style of the room which had double aspect windows overlooking the grounds. All the rooms were en-suite with either shower over bath or just a shower.

There was a good choice of breakfast on the Sunday morning and when it was just the wedding party left in the room the staff did not rush us, so the newly weds were able to spend time with family and friends and look at the cards and gifts that had been given to them the day before.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone contemplating holding a wedding reception or other celebration, as the staff are very helpful, which made the weekend a time of great celebration for family and friends, some whom had travelled long distances.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blootoonloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband & I recently stayed at this hotel, we had a lovely brief stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a lovely comfortable room. We enjoyed our breakfast and a lovely high tea! If we are in the area again we will certainly pay another visit.

Michael & Vivienne

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Booked this cos couldn't get anywhere else - so really wasn't expecting much. I've visited Banff on many many occasions but never been up to this part. First impressions were very positive, set in large garden it has lovely views and very ample parking.
It has the air of a period hotel - with a huge chandelier in the entrance hall which rattles every time someone goes up the stairs (the kids thought this was hilarious!!)
The family room consisted of a double bed, and 2 single beds in an alcove, and a small bathroom with a shower in it.
Ample drawers and cupboards, and all the usual amenities.
Two slight niggles with the room - one if you are a television obsessive the number of channels are limited (thankfully the weather was good and we didn't have to rely on the goggle box), and two, the bathroom window isn't frosted glass so the blind has to be pulled down !

Beds were comfortable, room clean

we ate both nights in the bar - food was excellent - and the staff coped admirably with the precise demands of one child (none of that salad muck please !!). must recommend the steak pie which was tremendous!

Breakfast were very civilized and the selection great - no complaints on that score.

Staff very friendly and chatty !
We will return !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyrusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.7 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
461 reviews
11.7 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
372 reviews
20.1 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
255 reviews
6.1 mi away
Durn House
Durn House
#1 of 7 in Portsoy
410 reviews
6.2 mi away
Station Hotel Portsoy
Station Hotel Portsoy
#2 of 7 in Portsoy
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fife Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife Lodge Hotel

Address: Fife Lodge Hotel Sandyhill Road, Banff AB45 1BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £93 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel located in the Historic town of Banff and set in its own private grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Fife Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife Hotel Banff
Fife Lodge Hotel Banff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing