We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Amazing Day was Made more Amazing by The Fife Lodge Hotel”
Review of Fife Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fife Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We booked for our wedding to be held at the hotel and myself and wife are so glad that we did as this was the most amazing experience we had and our Wedding Co-ordinator, Joan, was amazing and wonderful and without her input it would not have happened quite like it did. Joan was excellent and very helpful and kind, and also the other staff were all very polite and helpful. We look forward to when we attend again for our anniversary trip back to the hotel. The food was excellent and great value as was the atmosphere!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 504076Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

Positive:
Hotel itself is very nice, located in a little park. Registration was very friendly. Breakfast was good, english breackfast is made fresh. Bed was big and comfortable, TV program good even for a long evening in bed. Night was very quite.

Negative:
You must carry your luggage upstairs 8so be carefull with heavy luggage). Heating and warm water is shut down during the night (extra heater was in the room), so taking an eary shower will really wake you up. Breakfast from 7:30, so not for earlybirds. Some renovation shout be done (doorknobs loose, ..)

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank defMunichCanyonRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Fife Lodge Hotel

on 11th may i was requested to vacate the hotel AT 1AM by the owner because i was talking on the mobile phone in my room.
I am a british asian and was in room 5 and each time i was talking on my mobile phone in my room someone from room 6 was banging loudly on the wall
;i was upset and went out to my car and called security;
the owner came and i explained what has happened;
to my disbelief he didnt even go to room 6 to ask the occupant about his behaviour;
instead he started cross examining me asking me why i am using my mobile phone in the room and even said that if i want to talk i should go out of the hotel TO USE my mobile phone;
I wonder whether this is because of the fact that i am a british asian ?

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Service
4  Thank arvindUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banffshire, Manager at Fife Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2010

The guest was definitely not asked to leave the hotel for any reason. He called for the night porter to complain that he could hear knocking. When asked what the problem was and if he was uncomfortable in his room he responded by claiming he was a psychiatrist and couldn't understand why I was asking him questions. He informed me he was on the phone but couldn't hear the other person on the phone because of the knocking. I assured him that this was the first time I had received this complaint so I contacted the neighbouring guest to find out if he was experiencing the same problem to be told that he could not sleep because of the shouting and loud noise coming from room 5.

He was asked to return to his room and respect other guests as it was past 1.00am in the morning as most were asleep. He then started to knock on other bedroom doors consequently waking up other guests. The other guests were very polite and stated that there was no need for him to be so loud and to talk quietly. I again requested he should return to his room which he did but after a few minutes came to the reception and asked for his bill.

The Fife Lodge Hotel has many guests who use the hotel frequently because of its location, style, comfort and service. We are disappointed to receive a poor review from arvindUk especially when he did not respect other hotel guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Lovely hotel friendly staff excellent food, our room was spotlessly clean only down side was the water presure in the shower not powerfull enough.loves the open fires in the hall and the lounge. overall goos value for money, would return.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This was a very friendly hotel with a nice triple room and excellent breakfasts. The evening menu was too complicated and not nearly as well cooked as breakfast but it was all served quickly and cheerfully and everyone was very accommodating of a lively 3 year old.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel.

We had a lovely room which was spacious and had a lovely big bath although the shower wasn't great. It was tastefully decorated and felt quite modern rather than one of those "scottish" tartan hotels.

It was very easy to find as we came into Banff and was handy for all the things we wanted to do.

Our only concern was the food. The evening menu was over complicated and took about twenty minutes to get through. The food itself was heavy and overcooked. A simpler menu with slightly more simple cooking would make it a fantastic hotel rather than just a good hotel as their breakfasts showed that they were capable of doing very simple things very well.

One last small gripe might be that although I know that most hotels are slightly more expensive compared to restaurants the prices were a bit steep. We were paying £17 for a bottle of wine which was literally dumped on the table, as although the waiting girl was pleasant she didn't seem to understand about tasting or pouring wine.

All in all these are small complaints as the hotel itself was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

Stayed one night in this lovely old house and was greatly impressed by the standard. Beautifully clean, well-decorated - a real mansion !!!
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - 100% Scottish which is quite rare these days !!!
There is a cosy bar which offers reasonably priced bar meals. We ate in the restaurant and our evening meal was excellent, as was the breakfast the next morning.
There is a lovely relaxed atmosphere about the place so whether you're a young couple or a family, it's the place to stay !

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.7 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
477 reviews
11.7 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
381 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Knowes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Huntly
Castle Hotel Huntly
#1 of 3 in Huntly
311 reviews
20.1 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
24.4 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fife Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife Lodge Hotel

Address: Fife Lodge Hotel Sandyhill Road, Banff AB45 1BE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £73 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel located in the Historic town of Banff and set in its own private grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Fife Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife Hotel Banff
Fife Lodge Hotel Banff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing