We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel if you're unlucky enough to end up in Peterhead!”
Review of Buchan Braes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Buchan Braes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night for work; the room was modern, clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfy and the service form the staff was very good. The restaurant served pleasant food and the breakfast was very good with a wide selection of continental options and a good fry up on offer. If do find yourself in Peterhead, I'd recommend staying here. It will probably be the highlight of the visit!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank AlexKate23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Having arranged to see my wife's family in Peterhead, I booked to stay at the Buchan Braes hotel with my wife and mother in law. What a great experience.
Great rooms, spacious and clean with a great on suite bathroom.
The bar area was good and offed a great range of drinks and snacks.
The restaurant was excellent with a great meal on the Saturday followed by a fantastic the next morning.
I would definitely stay there again, as it was so close to Aberdeen/Peterhead.
Many thanks for looking after us

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We attended a wedding reception, staying over in a spacious and well maintained room.

Residents bar stayed open late for us and service overall was excellent. Including the hangover relieving breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smarley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Have ate here a couple of times in the past and had been impressed so decided to stay for a night in June. Room was spacious, clean and modern. Breakfast was first class as was the evening meal. If you are looking for a stylish hotel with excellent food and are not too worried about what the grounds look like, this is the place for you. In my opinion, one of the best places to eat in Aberdeenshire. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrylassAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We are just leaving The Buchan Brae after a few days stay. I have to say the stay has been fantastic! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. We were very impressed but the attention to detail in the dining area from the beautiful food, the white gloves on the waitering staff , to the way the tables were presented. Duncan a member of the bar staff is outstanding in his service. He is a wonderful full host ensuring his guests are comfortable & attended too.
Finally, the gluten free options are fantastic! It's one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in to offer such a great gluten free service. Congratulations to all the staff on a brilliant stay - thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalieodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I have now stayed at this hotel twice and I find it very relaxing with good service, very good food and ideally placed in a quiet location just off the main road from Aberdeen to Peterhead. Sleep quality is great in a room with thick curtains and no exterior or interior noise. The approach and outside of the hotel are nothing special - it is on an ex-radar base - but inside it is very comfortable and it is rapidly becoming an excellent alternative to much higher priced hotels in the Aberdeen area. The free wi-fi in my room worked fine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThunderRoad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We left St. Andrews and headed up the coast thinking we would find a lovely B&B. After a long drive we reached Peterhead. Not much in Peterhead, more of a fishing town, not a resort. We remembered seeing a sign for a Hotel before going into town. We were very surprised and pleased with what we found. The room was very clean and new. We ate at the bar in the hotel. Great food and drinks after such a long drive. There was a wedding there and it was so much fun to see the men in their kilts. The breakfast the next day was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
2.5 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
51 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Peterhead
176 reviews
4.8 mi away
St Olaf Hotel
St Olaf Hotel
#4 of 7 in Peterhead
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Peterhead
Travelodge Peterhead
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
17 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Braes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Braes Hotel

Address: Buchan Braes Station Avenue, Peterhead AB42 3AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range: £83 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buchan Braes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Buchan Braes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buchan Braes Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing