We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to celebrate a special occasion”
Review of Buchan Braes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buchan Braes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Certificate of Excellence
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great to celebrate a special occasion”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I visited the Buchan Braes to celebrate my husbands Granda's 80th Birthday. There was about 20 of us in all.
The hotel its self is lovely - quite fancy and I'd stay it's definitley a place to go to treat yourself and get all dressed up or if you have a special celebration.
Normally with bigger tables and more people to serve the service can sometimes be quite slow but this certainly was not the case. The staff were very friendly and were extremely attentive and it was a nice fast service.
Food was absolutely gorgeous - cannot fault it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    71
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
48
6
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were fortunate to be invited to join friends for New Years Eve at the Buchan Braes Hotel. What a terrific evening it turned out to be. We had a very comfortable and warm friendly feeling double bedroom for my wife and I. The evening kicked off canopies and kirsh at 7.00pm. We were given the opportunity to review the menu and select our courses for the evening. We were shown through our table which was right beside the dance floor which proved very convenient after dinner was over. The meal consisted of four courses with coffee or to tea to follow and was agreed by all to be excellent. A bottle of wine was included in the function price. The group playing the function were fantastic (Crystal Clear) the singer had suburb vocal range and catered to the wide range of guests enjoying the fiction. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the function and our overnight stay and took advantage of a cooked breakfast in the morning which was included in our room price.

Room Tip: I would think any of the rooms would be good. There are two levels and the rooms are on the opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Have been to the Buchanan Braes on many occasions. The menu choice is amazing and the food has never disappointed. Have also taken bus loads of my learning difficulties and disabled friends there. The staff could not have done any more for us. I would highly recommend anyone to go there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

An ex-army officers mess, sympathetically converted into a smart comfortable hotel. Rooms are nicely decorated and well equipped, with comfortable beds. Food is a cut above average and choice of dining in spacious and attractive lounge bar or in the slightly more formal restaurant. Heavily used by business people in the week, with the nearby power station, gas plants and oil related industry. Which makes it slightly surprising that the internet was not working until the system was "reset" on request, after which it was still slow and intermittent. Apparently the hotel is changing its service provider, which they really need to get on with - otherwise I will reluctantly need to go elsewhere next time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AboyneFyfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was here for a family wedding and the staff were very helpful and friendly-food was excellent.
Looks were deceiving -it looks like an old peoples home when you approach it .All in all a very pleasant day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juet1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very nice and not what was was expected as I was driving north of Aberdeen. The setting is unusual looking something like an industrial estate. I've since learned it is an old RAF base and having a quality hotel in there was somewhat unexpected.

The food in the restaurant is overpriced but the bar meals are okay and were perfectly edible. The wifi was patchy at best but the rooms were of a good size and well furnished although I needed to change room due to a drip in the roof.

The car parking is plentiful if poorly sign posted; worth a stay if you're in the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AnotherGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayenne, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Though a good hotel I feel 4 stars is pushing it a bit nowadays the rooms and bathrooms are a bit tired and the clientele are more roughnecks than normal customers. Staff are friendly mostly but we did have a sour faced middle aged woman on reception who found any request too much trouble they could do well to get her moved . We had a couple of small problems which after dealing with the sour face we asked the other girls and they were sorted very quickly. Still we like the hotel and would use it again as it is the best in the area.

Room Tip: I feel 95% of customers will be happy with this hotel we are and understand the times we live in kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan661268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
2.5 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
46 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
168 reviews
10.5 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
231 reviews
13.8 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocksley Inn Hotel
Rocksley Inn Hotel
#1 of 15 in Peterhead
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Braes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Braes Hotel

Property: Buchan Braes Hotel
Address: Buchan Braes Station Avenue, Peterhead AB42 3AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Buchan Braes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Buchan Braes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buchan Braes Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing