We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buchan Braes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buchan Braes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Certificate of Excellence
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stopped off for lunch today, nice food, good service, big pricey but good quality so worth it, staff very attentive and nice and clean, food very fresh and good portion, all in all very nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    70
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
48
6
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We decided to book a meal in the dining room for Hogmany night , there was 8 of us.
The Hotel had a Hogmany party in the Ball Room but thought per head it was a better deal with the set meal in the dining room.
The choice was the correct one ,the quality of the food , service and the atmosphere was perfect for the occasion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I visited the Buchan Braes to celebrate my husbands Granda's 80th Birthday. There was about 20 of us in all.
The hotel its self is lovely - quite fancy and I'd stay it's definitley a place to go to treat yourself and get all dressed up or if you have a special celebration.
Normally with bigger tables and more people to serve the service can sometimes be quite slow but this certainly was not the case. The staff were very friendly and were extremely attentive and it was a nice fast service.
Food was absolutely gorgeous - cannot fault it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We were fortunate to be invited to join friends for New Years Eve at the Buchan Braes Hotel. What a terrific evening it turned out to be. We had a very comfortable and warm friendly feeling double bedroom for my wife and I. The evening kicked off canopies and kirsh at 7.00pm. We were given the opportunity to review the menu and select our courses for the evening. We were shown through our table which was right beside the dance floor which proved very convenient after dinner was over. The meal consisted of four courses with coffee or to tea to follow and was agreed by all to be excellent. A bottle of wine was included in the function price. The group playing the function were fantastic (Crystal Clear) the singer had suburb vocal range and catered to the wide range of guests enjoying the fiction. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the function and our overnight stay and took advantage of a cooked breakfast in the morning which was included in our room price.

Room Tip: I would think any of the rooms would be good. There are two levels and the rooms are on the opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Have been to the Buchanan Braes on many occasions. The menu choice is amazing and the food has never disappointed. Have also taken bus loads of my learning difficulties and disabled friends there. The staff could not have done any more for us. I would highly recommend anyone to go there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

An ex-army officers mess, sympathetically converted into a smart comfortable hotel. Rooms are nicely decorated and well equipped, with comfortable beds. Food is a cut above average and choice of dining in spacious and attractive lounge bar or in the slightly more formal restaurant. Heavily used by business people in the week, with the nearby power station, gas plants and oil related industry. Which makes it slightly surprising that the internet was not working until the system was "reset" on request, after which it was still slow and intermittent. Apparently the hotel is changing its service provider, which they really need to get on with - otherwise I will reluctantly need to go elsewhere next time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AboyneFyfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was here for a family wedding and the staff were very helpful and friendly-food was excellent.
Looks were deceiving -it looks like an old peoples home when you approach it .All in all a very pleasant day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juet1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
2.5 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
13.8 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
4.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crawfords Guest House
Crawfords Guest House
#4 of 16 in Peterhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Braes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Braes Hotel

Property: Buchan Braes Hotel
Address: Buchan Braes Station Avenue, Peterhead AB42 3AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Buchan Braes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buchan Braes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buchan Braes Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing