We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice place”

Clifton House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Peterhead
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifton House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“very nice place”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

stayed here for one night as i was playing music close by doesnt look to inviting from the outside but dont let that put you off room was superb nice and clean large and all mod cons breakfast was great will defo recomend and use again if am in the area

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doddsy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
9
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My company used an agency who booked this hotel for me at short notice, on pulling up in the car i was concerned that it was going to be quite dated and very basic...! All i can say was i had a complete change of heart as soon as the owner opened the door for me.
This hotel is kept imaculate by Drew and Carol (the owners) and their team, the rooms are large and very well appointed, the bed i had was very comfortable. The home made evening meal was fantastic.
Drew and Carol where very welcoming and great company at the evening meal.
I would highly recommend this hotel over the others i have stayed in in Peterhead any time.

i am using my fiances tripadvisor account to write this review as i do not have one, however if i had i would have probably written more.

David Ross (Sabre Safety)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Good location close to the centre of town. Parking is a bit hit or miss, there is an enclosed courtyard but can only take three or four cars. Rooms are very good, beds are comfy and warm. Breakfast is cooked to order.
No evening meals are served, but is only a 5 min walk from many restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highplaces73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackpoolEngland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Went to Peterhead for the first time to go for a funeral and sort out an estate.Made very welcome from day one.Great downstairs room next to the front door so we didn't disturb anyone when returning at night.Breakfast was great every morning with lots of choice.Everyone was very helpful giving us directions to all the places we had to visit.Car parking at the rear of the hotel,where we could leave the car and walk into town.We would recommend the hotel for any stay business or pleasure

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TomandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012 via mobile

Fantastic big room. Comfy bed. Free wifi not too bad. Noisy dining room beneath. Didn't like the dog poo on pavement by front gate. Quite a bit of traffic noise. Good breakfast. Not cheap in terms of price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squinthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed 4 days at the Clifton House Hotel Peterhead recently and was very pleased with the accommodation. Booked a single room which was en-suite and was very comfortable and a good size. Tea and coffee facilities was available plus a fridge which I thought was very helpful. The cooked breakfast was excellent and there was a good choice of cereal and yogurts. Only a five minute walk into town and parking was available round the back of the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone on holiday or on a business trip to Peterhead.

Room Tip: Hotel on 3 floors with a grand staircase so if mobility a problem ask for a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbles642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here with family whilst being in Peterhead for a family Christening. The staff we very hospitable with every need we had! Beautiful room, lovely breakfast, good price! Will definitely stay again next time were up visiting the family!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
2.6 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
223 reviews
9.9 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
0.0 mi away
Crawfords Guest House
Crawfords Guest House
#4 of 16 in Peterhead
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House Hotel

Property: Clifton House Hotel
Address: 96 Queen Street, Peterhead AB42 1TT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Clifton House Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing