We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I felt like I was at home. Surrounding is full of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset decking area from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset
decking area from the kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
decking area and lighthouse
living room with open fire
main bedroom
main bedroom
bathroom
romantic setting for a wedding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
delfini8
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I felt like I was at home. Surrounding is full of natural snapshots!”
Reviewed 17 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this amazing place only for one night. It was just after Princess Anne's visit. I don't know whether it was extraordinarily good because of her visit but, if I visit Aberdeenshire again, definitely it will be the accommodation I would book. I felt like I was at home. The bedrooms, kitchen and the living room have everything you need and actually even more than you can guess.
The hosting was so friendly. The lady who welcomed us was so cute and helpful. She suggested the highlights on surrounding and also on our way to Aberdeen and then to Dundee.
There is not much famous places to visit nearby but for a romantic or nature holiday, it is one of the bests I have ever seen.
If you like taking photos, relaxing or may be watching sunset or walking through hills, I suggest this place with sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: -------
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NdCardiff
Airdrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wish we would have booked a longer stay!”
Reviewed 25 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This was our first trip to Scotland and Skerry Cottage was the 1st place we stayed during our 3 week trip (and the best place we stayed). Sheila was there to greet us on arrival. The property was outstanding. Wonderful photography opportunity. Our son is 3 years old and the property was perfect for a toddler. We will be booking the cottage for our next trip to Scotland. The cottage was spacious, clean, and lovely. There is so much to do around the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottishP...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“The decking at Skerry Cottage is the bonus”
Reviewed 22 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Stayed at Skerry Cottage for 3 days. It is quiet and the deck facing out to sea is fabulous. You can watch the sunrise as well as sunset. Loads of seabirds and photo opportunities regardless of the weather. However turn your ahead around and the largest powerstation in Scotland is in the background and that does somewhat spoils the ambiance. The cottage itself is neat, spacious and decorated to a high standard. It is comfy, homely and the real fire in the living room is very effective. Fridge is very small so don't bring lots to cook - just buy locally. No dishwasher. Cleaning overall was very good but some misses- e.g. shelving with dust and bits on it in the kitchen, crumbs in the cutlery drawer etc.. small points but enough to make you feel others have been there before and left their mark. Nice places around to visit such as Fraserburgh Lighthouse Museum and you can go into the lighthouse; cliff top walks to see the Bullers O'Buchan and also Slains Castle; walk along Cruden Bay and drives to small coastal villages such as Pennan (where they filmed Local Hero) and Crovie show you how beautiful the coastline of this area is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decking and view
Liked least: The fridge - compact, no dishwasher
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2011
Thank you for a very professional review.
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Everyone (including myself) enjoys the feeling of peace when you're on the island,looking out on the sea and rocks, and for me, especially, looking up at the beams going round above your head at night ,is always amazing.
I think we're the most accessible of the Northern Lights, which means that, like the power station, we're part of a vibrant north-east community, based on fishing and all the amazing oil-based technology associated with the North Sea.( It also means that you're only a few minutes away from the local shops if you run out of wine or fancy a fish supper !)
I must apologise that you found some dust and crumbs in the kitchen- I checked as soon as i read your review, and could find none, but be assured, I'll be extra vigilant next time you visit us !- Only sorry that if you'd mentioned at the time, I could have done something about it, as we want our guests to be 100% happy with their stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kcooke912
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Highlight of our trip!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This was our first trip to Scotland, and staying at the Buchan Ness Lighthouse was the highlight of our two week trip. When we arrived and opened the door to the Dundonnie cottage, my husbands jaw dropped. It's beautifully restored, actually nicer than our home in California!

The owner, Sheila, was very attentive and so friendly, even brought a gift basket one stormy evening for our 20th wedding anniversary! We loved our sturdy, cozy retreat by the fire, watching the beam from the lighthouse at night. There were even wonderful crocheted throws to curl up with in the living room! It was wonderful having an island to ourselves - so private!

We were fortunate enough that the lighthouse keeper came by one day to service the lighthouse and let us accompany him up inside!

My husband is still talking about this place . . .we didn't want to leave, and hope to go back someday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was beautiful, the owner was wonderful
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olive52
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Cottage, Wonderful Owners”
Reviewed 28 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and 3 other family members stayed at Skerry Cottage in June'2011. Sheila Priest and family were just wonderful, made us feel like family coming to visit. The cottage is decorated with all the little extras, we hated to leave and hope to visit again. Best place ever to stay, very clean, lots of privacy. I would recommend to everyone to stay there if they can, best value, best location. Owners made themselves available to us during our entire stay. We left our hearts in Scotland............

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregandca...
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Sets a benchmark few other b&bs could manage”
Reviewed 30 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This place literally ticked all the boxes
Charming hostess
Well appointed rooms
Large beds
Hot showers
Big kitchen with room to cook in
Open fire
Sea views
An island
A light house
Going to sleep with the sound the waves
Every one who ever thought of opening a b&b should come here and see how the master has done it...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick T
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Once you step on the island you never want to leave”
Reviewed 23 May 2011 for a stay in October 2010
3
people found this review helpful

From the warmest of welcomes to the beauty of the seascape the time we spent on Buchan Ness Island was fantastic. You enter the cottage and immediately realise you have made the right choice. Clean, tidy well-furnished and nicely decorated. All rooms are designed to make you feel very much at home in terms of comfort. Functionally you are provided with everything in the kitchen which is large and has a family dining table.

The location is on the edge of a small village and the nearest town is about 4 miles away which has all basics like grocery shops and bakers etc. There is also a selection of restaurants worth checking out.

Wander by foot or drive the cost roads by car you will not be disappointed but may be breath taken by the stunning views and tranquillity of the coastal hamlets and villages.

Further away, but only 25 minutes or so by car is Aberdeen where you have everything a city can offer including theatre, shows, gigs and large modern promenade with fun fare, amusements, crazy golf and a campus of restaurants to suit all.

We visited twice in 2010. My son is 11 and he won't stop asking when we are going back. My daughter is 17 and she spent most of the week in August out on the rocks sketching and drawing the view was so fantastic.

You will not be disappointed - enjoy

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing