We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best in Peterhead”
other travellers have booked this property
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset decking area from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset
decking area from the kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
decking area and lighthouse
living room with open fire
main bedroom
main bedroom
bathroom
romantic setting for a wedding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redcanton...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best in Peterhead”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have been lucky enough to have been staying here since February until present time this has got to be the best in Peterhead very clean and comfortable a real home from home as we are working up her , Sheila is a wonderfull lady and very helpful and always calls each week to see if we are ok hope we are here a lot longer makes working away from home much easier when you have these cottages to come back to many thanks Sheila

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
961KateL
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Already planning our next visit”
Reviewed 2 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My family stayed for 2 nights in the fabulous cottage. The break was a surprise for my 8 year old who loves lighthouses and didn't know that we were staying in one until we pulled up at the gates. It was a magical experience for him. The accommodation is clean and cozy with a peat fire in the living room and plenty of games and DVDs to keep us all entertained in the evening. The kids loved exploring the rock pools out front and would have played there for hours. The family staying at the cottage next door said that it was their 3rd visit to Buchan Ness Lighthouse and I can certainly see why people keep coming back. We can't wait to escape there for a long weekend again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing setting
Liked least: I can't think of anything
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marion095
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb location”
Reviewed 5 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

A really clean and comfortable cottage with everything you would need for self catering. A very warm welcome from Sheila with flowers and chocolates was most appreciated. Unfortunately the decking had been damaged in a recent storm and we were unable to use it, but Sheila said it was due for repair, however we did manage to get up the lighthouse with a spectacular view. Overall this is a lovely peaceful place with a cosy peat burning fire and we will return. Ian Marion Craig and Aldo

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet with lovely views
Liked least: wasn't able to use decking no fault of Sheila's
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ainsley_1...
Banff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the best short breaks ever!”
Reviewed 17 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at Skerry cottage for 4 nights & loved every minute of it! My partner & I were wanting a wee break away to do nothing but relax. & we did. The cottage itself was lovely & clean & had everything that you need for self catering. The peat fire was the best bit of it all & I actually lit a fire myself on the 3rd day. (Was the best one of the whole 4 days, ha!). The location was amazing. The lighthouse & the cottages are on a wee island so you have to travel over a bridge to get to them which made it even more exciting. Our own wee island for a few days! The weather wasnt fantastic but we never ventured out much. That was the whole idea of the holiday. We spent most of our time in front of the fire relaxing. The double bed was comfier than the one we have at home which I thought would be hard to beat but it did. Wasnt wanting to leave Skerry cottage. Sheila & the cleaner were lovely too. 10 out of 10 for this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coal fire & comfy bed
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjcollins
Stowe, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Dark and Stormy Night”
Reviewed 9 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My wife and I spent one night at Skerry Cottage. It was a dark, stormy and windy night - and it was fabulous. We had a little difficulty gaining access to the property but once we tracked down Shelia she was very cheerful and accommodating. Skerry is a 2 bedroom, self contained cottage with separate living room and kitchen. We made our own peat fire and hunkered down for the night. We woke to glorious sunshine and crashing waves off the back deck - perfect

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Gaining access to the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aysem Z
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I felt like I was at home. Surrounding is full of natural snapshots!”
Reviewed 17 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this amazing place only for one night. It was just after Princess Anne's visit. I don't know whether it was extraordinarily good because of her visit but, if I visit Aberdeenshire again, definitely it will be the accommodation I would book. I felt like I was at home. The bedrooms, kitchen and the living room have everything you need and actually even more than you can guess.
The hosting was so friendly. The lady who welcomed us was so cute and helpful. She suggested the highlights on surrounding and also on our way to Aberdeen and then to Dundee.
There is not much famous places to visit nearby but for a romantic or nature holiday, it is one of the bests I have ever seen.
If you like taking photos, relaxing or may be watching sunset or walking through hills, I suggest this place with sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: -------
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NdCardiff
Airdrie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wish we would have booked a longer stay!”
Reviewed 25 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

This was our first trip to Scotland and Skerry Cottage was the 1st place we stayed during our 3 week trip (and the best place we stayed). Sheila was there to greet us on arrival. The property was outstanding. Wonderful photography opportunity. Our son is 3 years old and the property was perfect for a toddler. We will be booking the cottage for our next trip to Scotland. The cottage was spacious, clean, and lovely. There is so much to do around the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$143
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
other travellers have booked this property
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing