We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic in everyway, pleasure on every level...”
other travellers have booked this property
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset decking area from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset
decking area from the kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
decking area and lighthouse
living room with open fire
main bedroom
main bedroom
bathroom
romantic setting for a wedding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
victoria...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic in everyway, pleasure on every level, and more!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I have just returned from the most wonderul trip
I feel well rested, and can't quite believe somewhere so idyllic actually exits and so sad we had to leave. The highlights were lying in front of the open fire listening to the storm brewing outside and eating the a cheese board that we had bought back with us from a lovely meal at bunchan braes hotel. The cottage was so well equipped and Sheila was the perfect host, you really don't need anything else. I hope to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherubbro...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Dream Come True!!!!”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My partner and I stayed in the cottage for one week from.28th Sept-5th Oct 2014..Skerry Cottage was beautiful and the decking was stunning, just looking out to the sea and at night the stars and flashing of the Lighthouse right above you. As an avid lighthouse lover it was a dream for me to be able to stay in a Lighthouse and Sheila the owner was lovely, giving me literature to read about lighthouses and telling me as much as she could about Buchan Ness. I was also lucky to meet a lovely lady staying in the second cottage and who was one of the former lighthouse keepers daughter. I didnt get the good fortune to gain access to the tower but i loved every moment of the weeks stay. The scenery, the beach walks and coming home.to peat fire and cosy cottage. The only change i would make if at all possible is laundry facilities and id be willing to pay more for this, only because we are keen walkers and i git rather muddy one day and woud be nice to just wash but i just washed by hand and placed on the decking..Mayb some extra storage in the kitchen if at all possible and again only for the reason that i didnt want to make such a lovely cottage untidy with all my things..The rocking chair is lovely but a little storage unit in their may be more beneficial however i just loved it all and it was carefully created lovingly and i wouldnt change that. I was so sad to leave and want to return..I would recommend to anyone and thank you Sheila for the lovely bottle of bubbly you gave my partner for his birthday, such a nice touch. A dream come true for me and a holiday i wont ever forget..Treasured moments.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewistex
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Words can't describe the beauty of this location!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How many times can you say you've stayed in a working lighthouse cottage on your own island? For us, this was an experience we could not pass up. The drive up the coast line was breathtaking. To see the light house on the drive up made all of us act like little kids in the car. When got to the bridge to the island, we were mesmerized. Honestly, it is literally a secluded island just for those staying in the two cottages! When arrived, Shiela greeted us with a warm smile and pleasant conversation. She showed us around a meticulously decorated cottage. Our jaws dropped when we walked around the 2 bedroom, one bath cottage. The kitchen over looked the Sea with a porch right out the door. The living area had a fire place ready to go upon arrival. The bathroom was spacious and accommodating. We stepped outside and could not believe the views of the harbor and sea. When we woke in the morning from sleeping on a comfy bed, we enjoyed a cup of coffee out on the porch. We saw seals swimming by and lounging on the rocks in the harbor. Our kids we delighted to see so much wild life. We finally had to go to get groceries for the day and found that everything you needed was only a few minutes' drive from the lighthouse. We honestly did not want to leave and look forward to coming back here again! Outstanding accomadations and friendly service, what more can you ask for, Thank you Shiela!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea views are breathtaking!
Liked least: We could not find one thing to complain about...perfection!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a warm welcome to this very special place! We enjoyed lovely evenings at the fireplace and an unforgettable breakfast on the sundeck! The sourrounding area is great to explore: Pennan and other costal villages, Fraserburg lighthouse museum, etc.!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fireplace and sundeck
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakimac
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful location for a holiday. When we drove over the bridge onto the 'island' it was like we were leaving the world behind. The cottage was delightful, the kitchen opened on to a deck which looked out over rocks to the North Sea. We had most of our meals out there - even when the notorious 'haar' rolled in.
On occasion the village disappeared from view and all we could hear were the seagulls. The main bedroom was light and airy and the only complaint was that the twin beds in the other room were not really suitable for adults - unfortunately we had a mishap with one - Mr & Mrs Priest were very understanding and replaced it without complaint. The living room was cosy and peat and kindling was available had we needed to light the open fire. However we did not require it as the evenings were warm. The kitchen could have done with some storage for food - there were no cupboards and all our stuff had to sit on the worktop or table. It was interesting to watch the light flash above our heads at night, especially through the mist - very spooky.
My husband was born in the area and we took several trips down memory lane, introducing our son's South African girlfriend to the area, including a visit to Slain's Castle and a paddle on Cullen Beach. We were fascinated by the number of large vessels passing our viewpoint from Peterhead Harbour heading out to oil rigs and further afield. We took many photographs of the area and also saw some seals on the rocks off Boddam Harbour which were fascinating to watch.
Our 4 day stay was too short and we will definitely be back in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tooves
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“our favourite”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have spent 5 weeks travelling through the UK and this has been our favourite place to stay. I say this without in any way detracting from the wonderful places we have visited. The cottage had so much character and it was extremely clean and very comfortable. There were 2 bedrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, a large and comfortable lounge room and bathroom. But it also had a wonderful decking out the back with magnificent views as you would expect from a lighthouse. You could breathe the peace and tranquility of the area as you sat out there. We enjoyed the slow setting sun for a couple of hours and then watched the sun rise over the water very early the next day. Sheila had made our stay very comfortable and welcoming. I also walked right around the lighthouse compound and thoroughly enjoyed photographing many aspects of the area. Excellent value for money. Pity we could not give it an extra star for the review.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space, comfort, peace, views
Liked least: only staying 1 night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H Stephen...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What can I say. This was a perfect place to stay. Right on the ocean. Private deck right off the kitchen. Fireplace in the living room. If I had any idea it was going to be this good I would have booked a week instead of 2 nights. Extremely friendly and helpful host. Oh, did I mention that I really liked it? Hope to return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Right on the ocean/privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing