We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location to see the Northeast of Scotland”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Slains Cottage -Open Fields to the Back
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Slains Cottage -Open Fields to the Back
Lounge - Refurbished August 2012 Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Front of Slains Cottage -Open Fields to the Back
Lounge - Refurbished August 2012
Lounge
Bedroom - One Double and One Single Bed
Bedroom - Refurbished April 2013
Bedroom
Bedroom
Walk In Shower Room - Refurbished October 2014
Back Garden where you can relax and have a glass of wine !
Rockery - Back Garden - There are some beautiful Sunsets looking up to St. James Church
Cruden Bay Golf Club
1st Tee - View to Slains Castle
9th Tee - View to 15th Green and Sandy Beach
View to Ladies Bridge to get to onto the Beach
Cruden Bay Beach
Miles and Miles of Sandy Beach at Cruden Bay
Salmon Fishing Station
Harbour at Cruden Bay
Harbour Boats
Slains Castle
Bullers of Buchan
Seals at Newburgh
Battle of Viking Cruden Boat which took place on the Anniversary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect location to see the Northeast of Scotland”
Reviewed 10 February 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Slains cottage is perfect for two people, it will also fit 2 extra for company. It has everything a person needs to make themselves feel like they are home. The beach is fantastic even in the winter. Looking for shells is always fun. Cruden Bay as a village has everything a person could want eating out places, golf on a fantastic course, a fish truck that comes through once a week and regular bus service if one doesn't care to drive on the wrong side of the road. We arrived December 29for almost 3 months.
The wind is cool but definitely warmer than the minus 31's at home. we will definitely be back .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2018
Hi Catherine. Thank you so much for your kind review. Liz works very hard to make sure everything is just right for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully sooner than you think. Best regards Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbc3
Phenix City, al.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ideal for a 4/5 person family or 2 couples.”
Reviewed 25 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Cruden Bay Golf course is less than a half mile and Trump Golf Course is less than 10 miles. There are a number of castles and small villages nearby, offering interesting scenery. On a two week trip, this would make a great 3-4 day stop, combined with a stop in St. Andrews & Inverness.
Slains cottage is quaint, cozy, clean, convenient, and comfortable. We were totally satisfied with our 3 days and nights there and would definitely stay there again. Like having your own vacation bungalow.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2018
Good afternoon Tom. Thank you very much for your Review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottage. Hopefully when you visit with Irene again you can stay at Slains, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Best regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
1 review
“A perfect location for a restful & relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I was impressed with the booking from start to finish. The booking was handled professionally & I was given all the information I needed to plan a wonderful holiday.
The property was really clean & well maintained, with all the amenities you need to enjoy your time at home, although much of my time was spent exploring the surrounding area.
I loved Cruden Bay & would definitely like to come back to Slains Cottage one day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Hi Chris, thank you so much for the lovely review, it is very much appreciated. I am very lucky to have Liz and Sheila who look after Slains so well. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nimagarog
Chicagoland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect home for vacation”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The home provides everything needed for a base location to holiday in the area. Kitchen with washer and dryer is just what I need.
Cruden Bay Golf Club is a short walk. Parking in front is easy.
The owners support staff are there
to take care of everything. My fourth
stay was Great!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thank you Roger, always a delight to have you back. See you next year. Thanks. Shona, Liz n Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
173annema...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfectly located accommodation and a home from home”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location within Cruden Bay with it's beautiful sandy beach a few minutes drive away. Also, fantastic for visiting the surrounding areas of Peterhead and Ellon and loads more further afield. Will most definitely be back!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Good afternoon Anne Marie. We enjoyed having you at Slains and will be delighted to see you again next year, thanks again for your business, much appreciated. Best regards. Shona and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neilian M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location, and Slains Cottage ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Slains Cottage was a great bolthole for a break in the North East. Well equipped and cosy with a relaxed feel. Just a short walk to the golf course, and what a beach! Beach towels, games, DVDs and books cover all bases, and parking no probs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thanks for the lovely review, and you are right, we have a fantasric beach. Hope to welcome you again. Best regards. Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“so peaceful”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Nice quiet cottage in a small town/village. Well kept internally . Near Peterhead/ Farserburgh. If you like golf this is the place for you. But plenty of things to do in the area if golf not your thing

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Morning Mike
Nice to see you back at Slains and thanks very much for your Review. Hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing