We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved staying in a castle!”
Review of Ethie Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arbroath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ethie Castle
Ranked #18 of 22 Arbroath B&B and Inns
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved staying in a castle!”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at Ethie Castle one night in mid-August. It was a very unique experience. First, be warned that the place is a bit hard to find, so make sure you get good directions; we took a few wrong turns before we found an unassuming road with a sign that read Ethie Farms. The grounds are truly phenomenal and the structure impressive and duly imposing. We were pleasantly greeted and shown to our room. Because the castale is occupied by a family, you will see family photos, perhaps hear young voices, and encounter the family dogs. That being said, it was a very quiet and restful place to stay for a night. The breakfast was extremely tasty and like other places we had stayed, the foods were local and farm fresh. There is no internet or television here, but lots of reading materials were available in our room.

Some of the furnishings and decorations were quaint antiques and some just seemed a bit dated. There was also a bit of a musty smell in our room (probably to be expected in an old stone building) which was very faint but nevertheless there. If you suffer from allergies, you might react to this, but we were fine. I agree with another reviewer that staying in a castle is not for everyone: the winding stairs might be difficult for some to navigate and you won't find all the lastest amenities of a city hotel. Also, we were never shown any of the public rooms advertised on the website; I would have liked to enjoy a show in the television room or perhaps read a book in the sitting room.

All in all, it was a memorable stay and we are so glad we took the host's recommendation to visit Lunan Bay just a short drive away the morning we left. It is an amazing beach with stunning views. We also took in a light supper at The Chance Inn in Inverkeilor nearby and highly recommend the food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, General Manager at Ethie Castle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ethie Castle is now under new ownership and management. We hope that you will return to Ethie in the future and enjoy a stay with us. Please see our website for updated information ethiecastle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    6
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Ethie Castle is a unique place to stay. The castle and the gardens are very beautiful and atmospheric.
Yvonne, the housekeeper, was friendly and helpful. The owner has 4 dogs who are not kept separate from guests (liable to beg for food at the table or to try and jump on your lap) so it's probably not the right place for you if you don't like dogs. We found the breakfast a little disappointing - the blueberries were frozen and therefore soggy and the bacon was rather over-cooked. Other reviewers have mentioned how good the food is but we weren't actually offered any dinner.
The castle is very cold and you should be aware that you are not allowed in the property at all between 10.30 am and 5 pm, not even to rest in your bedroom.
Although this is an incredible venue, we feel reluctant to recommend it based on the attitudes of the proprietor. She shared with us (unsolicted) some narrow-minded views that are liable to offend some customers. In particular, we feel that same-sex couples may not get a warm welcome here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lou187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, General Manager at Ethie Castle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ethie Castle is now under new ownership and management. We hope that you will return to Ethie in the future and enjoy a stay with us. Please see our website for updated information ethiecastle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Staying in a real castle was a hoot. We enjoyed meeting our hosts, and their dogs, and visiting with other travelers. The Scottish breakfast was a force to behold and you were full for the day. Beautiful rooms with lots of history, knowledgeable owners who were charming. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AngieGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, General Manager at Ethie Castle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ethie Castle is now under new ownership and management. We hope that you will return to Ethie in the future and enjoy a stay with us. Please see our website for updated information ethiecastle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed for three nights while in the area for a family gathering. The rest of the family missed out on a great place to stay. We had dinner the first night - the main course was an excellent chowder and after I had polished off a second bowlful, Kirsten gently ribbed me for not being able to manage a third! Dinner and breakfast are in the Tudor kitchen - not used as a kitchen at all, but a smaller dining room than the baronial one down one of the stone flagged passages, where, as another reviewer has pointed out, there is a good chance of getting lost. The Tudor kitchen seats a mere eight people round the circular table (although it could take 10 -12 without too much of a squeeze. A huge inglenook houses a wood burner which provided welcome warmth: again as someone has pointed out the house can be a little on the cold side (our room was - perhaps a small fan heater could be provided when the heating is not on?). Our room had a separate bathroom - superb art deco - apparently the original house bathroom, with lashings of very hot water (and a fan heater!).
We never discovered the sitting room(s) described on the website, but were never really in long enough to use them: but two chairs in the room would have been nice (as there were in the twin room nearby).
Breakfast, also in the Tudor kitchen, was super - fresh fruit - one morning a compote of rhubarb and strawberries with cranachan (thankfully without whisky!) and excellent bacon, sausage etc - and oh, the eggs are so yellow and so tasty, I wished I'd asked for boiled eggs one morning! Four expectant dogs accompany you at breakfast, though I dare say that if you totally ignored them they would go off the house kitchen in search of better/ more generous company!
It was a busy weekend for Kirsten and the household - they had a family party on the Saturday evening and open gardens on the Sunday - we were warned, but it didn't seem to make any difference to the hospitality we enjoyed (except for the very small niggle of not having the morning tea cups replaced one day)
Nearby are cliff walks, a lovely beach at Lunan Bay, and a lot of peace!

If you want chocolates on your pillow and obsequious service, don't go here: if you want baronial charm, and slightly eccentric hosts (much appreciated by this slightly eccentric guest!) go there and chill!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, General Manager at Ethie Castle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ethie Castle is now under new ownership and management. We hope that you will return to Ethie in the future and enjoy a stay with us. Please see our website for updated information ethiecastle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

If, like me, you enjoy visiting the baronial castles of central Scotland such as Glamis or Blair or Fyvie and you have ever asked yourselves, what would it be like to stay overnight in one of these towers ? In bright summer sunshine or masked by a coastal haar, rose red Ethie Castle provides the answer. It is a welcoming delight of ancient red stone, brass fittings, orange hued lighting and friendly dogs.
First of all its not a pretend Scots baronial folly a la Walter Scott (who stayed her many times incidentally). It is a genuine fifteenth century tower house - or at least the range to the right of the main entrance is. Just check out the immense thickness of the barrel vaulted walls of the room known as the Cardinal's Sitting Room (and don't miss the secret stair built within the thickness of said walls). Cardinal Beaton may have been responsible for the large wing added to the East which now houses the guest bedrooms. Judging from the armorial stone tablets inserted above the dormer windows (known as skewputts) the Castle was radically enlarged in the 17thc century and a courtyard built out to the North. Look for the round tower with the filled in gun-loops to the left of the present main entrance. Further additions were made in Edwardian times including the little balustrade on top of the Cardinal's staircase tower. The Castle is big and it's rambling. Architectural historians struggle to make sense of the floor plans and so will you. One inside you are bound to get lost. It's all part of the overwhelming charm of Ethie. Mysterious stone flagged passages beckon but it's best not to follow. This is very much a private home and you must not freely wander without express permission.

The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. My bathroom was off a short passage. My windows had a commanding view of the parterre garden below. Open your casemate windows and enjoy the sights and smells of nature at dusk or in the early hours. Priceless. As a guest you can enter the garden. Just ask. Looking back up at your room windows from the garden, perhaps you will glimpse a fleeting movement within. A trick of the light, maybe, or David Beaton checking out the latest guest ?

Chatelaine Kirsten will make you a cracking breakfast to set you up for the day ahead. All locally sourced produce, some of it from the Castle garden. I had just come from a family funeral and I found Kirsten to be a most kindly and solicitous host. You will too. You will simply adore canine co-owners, Polly, Peggy and Buster.

Ethie cons:
It can be chilly depending upon when you go - so take warm clothing as a precaution
You must like corkscrew staircases. The place is unsuitable for the infirm or the elderly

Ethie pros:
Everything. A magical, romantic retreat for those of us who like architecture and history while providing an ideal base for exploring Angus.

Once in every lifetime the discerning traveller finds somewhere transcendent to stay. I found it in Ethie Castle.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the second floor of the east range overlooking the parterre garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Novocastrian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, General Manager at Ethie Castle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ethie Castle is now under new ownership and management. We hope that you will return to Ethie in the future and enjoy a stay with us. Please see our website for updated information ethiecastle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Firstly, many thanks to Kirsten for making us so welcome in her lovely building which is clearly a labour of love and personal attention. We stayed in a room with a four poster bed and ensuite bathroom. The rooms were immaculate and achieved a balance of homeliness within grand surroundings. We had a very warm welcome, Kirsten is clearly very proud of her local community and was keen to recommend other local businesses to us. The others guests we met were very relaxed and this is due in no small part to the relaxing accommodation, surroundings and atmosphere. Really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Berksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, General Manager at Ethie Castle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ethie Castle is now under new ownership and management. We hope that you will return to Ethie in the future and enjoy a stay with us. Please see our website for updated information ethiecastle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I booked a room in Ethie Castle on our recent trip from the U.S. to Scotland. We chose it because of its location a few hours north of the Edinburgh airport. Our goal was to stay in castles and explore castles along the way.

Ethie turned out to be the perfect choice for us. It is a very old castle, lovingly restored by its owners. The castle is being treated as a B & B, rather than a large commercial establishment. I believe this adds to the comfort, charm, and personal attention given to all guests.

We were comfortably accommodated in a large bedroom suite. All of the rooms, including sitting rooms, breakfast rooms, and bedrooms, are very charming and unique. As the castle is very old, there are only circular stone staircases. In the breakfast room, each morning, we were greeted by a warm fire built of wood cut from the estate.

Yvonne, the very knowledgable housekeeper, not only cooked for us, and gave us very important information about the surrounding countryside, she also gave us a tour of the castle and taught us about its history. It was wonderfully informative and enjoyable.

The grounds of the castle were the best we visited, including the many historic castles that we toured. The De Morgan family has lovingly re-created a parterre/English garden that incorporates structure with free-flowing beauty within ancient stone walls.

Ethie is situated in the midst of rolling green pasture land, away from cities. For us, this was a big plus.

Ethie is a place we would happily return to stay.

When driving to Ethie, be aware that it is on the east coast near a village called Inverkeillor. The roads, though very charming, are not very well signposted. The castle, itself, is not signed. You have to follow "Ethie Barns" to get there.

Room Tip: There are only 3 or 4 rooms that are being used for B & B. Ours was a large one with a lovely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinziaOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine B, General Manager at Ethie Castle, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Ethie Castle is now under new ownership and management. We hope that you will return to Ethie in the future and enjoy a stay with us. Please see our website for updated information ethiecastle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arbroath hotels
4.1 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#14 of 22 in Arbroath
36 reviews
2.4 mi away
Willowbank House B&B
Willowbank House B&B
#4 of 22 in Arbroath
56 reviews
3.6 mi away
Brucefield Boutique B & B
Brucefield Boutique B & B
#1 of 22 in Arbroath
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Inverkeilor
56 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Old Brewhouse
The Old Brewhouse
#1 of 3 in Arbroath
37 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethie Castle

Property: Ethie Castle
Address: Ethie Castle, Inverkeilor,Angus, DD11 5SP | Angus, Arbroath DD11 5SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Arbroath
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership, Ethie Castle is the magnificent home of the Earl of Wigtoun. We look forward to welcoming our guests and providing them with friendly attentive service and warm Scottish hospitality. Ethie Castle is situated within a lovely peaceful rural area in Angus. We offer bed and breakfast...with a difference. A stay in one of Scotland's magnificent castles, steeped in history. Comfortable rooms with tea and coffee making facilities. Wi-fi and televisions in every bedroom. A comfortable feature sitting room for guests. Use of our all weather tennis court and access to our stunning gardens and grounds. Our breakfasts are not to be missed and include ingredients from our kitchen garden and eggs from our happy hens. We also cater to sporting parties and can provide use as a film location. We also offer the hire of our lovely lawns as a wedding venue location. We can help you arrange marquee and catering arrangements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ethie Castle Hotel Arbroath
Ethie Castle Arbroath, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing