We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit to The Boatyard.”
Review of The Old Boatyard

The Old Boatyard
Ranked #9 of 75 Restaurants in Arbroath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £10 - £30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Beachfront Restaurant Seafood and Angus Steaks Local produce Recommended by Visit Scotland Recommended in Lonely Planet's Ultimate Eatlist
Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

Our second visit to The Boatyard. We visited last year when we were staying at a cottage in Kinblethmont Estate. Back at Kinblethmont for a 50th birthday treat we booked the Boatyard again for a birthday dinner. Definitely worth the taxi trip from Kinblethmont. Fabulous food. Fabulous staff. Fabulous lobster. Thank you guys for making a 50th birthday treat just wonderful. Look forward to our next visit. X

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2021 via mobile

We were surprised that no details of our name and address taken when we arrived. We were told just to go up to the counter to pay at the end. My husband enquired why no details were taken for Test and Protect. The waiter muttered something about yellow cards on the tables. There was none on our table and as I looked around I saw at least 5 tables in the immediate vacinity with no cards. My husband asked if he was going to take details. The waiter got out scraps of paper from beside the till which he appeared to have been writing orders on and scribbled down our name and number. Not impressed. It was a busy Saturday afternoon.
Would definitely not return.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Footprints780978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2021 via mobile

Last lunch without a glass of wine, hopefully. inside as it was too cold to sit out.

Excellent menu, especially if you like seafood. £15 for a starter and main or main and sweet We just had the fish and chips which were were excellent, fresh fish tasted excellent, decent batter, nice chips, not “fries!” And surprise surprise a fritter (slice of potato in batter and deep fried) not had these for years.

I had chowder to start with which was full of flavour and not too much. My wife had pear for a sweet, fresh pears in home made ice cream which was smothered in a rich chocolate sauce.

No complaints at all about the food, many dishes on menu to make a choice from, have to return to try the other meals which we liked. Something for everyone on menu, seafood , pasta and even steaks (why would you want to eat steak in a seafood restaurant?)

Then local fish market is a stones throw from the front door but menu states they source from other seafood markets

Very busy but no delays in service, hard working staff gave an excellent service. Staff very friendly, helpful too. Virus measures in place are good.

Not offered wine list because of no drinks at lunchtime, boo-hoo, but probably good judging by quality of food and service seen.

Just have to return and try something a bit more adventurous next time, we use fish and chips as a measure of the menu if it is good the rest will be good as well.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank romeo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2021 via mobile

Managed to get a table outside for lunch and we had a lovely time. Cannot speak highly enough about the staff. So attentive and nothing was any bother, got offered blankets when they noticed we were cold! Lunch was amazing and the pinot grigio is much recommended! Steak was perfect and the fish very tasty. Our first outing post lockdown…thanks very much for making it so enjoyable!

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank 243arlenew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

Very disappointed with lunch today, smoked salmon bagel ( bagel was stale), gluten free haddock & chips didn’t taste fresh either. Noticed on the menu there is a charge for hot water ! Service rushed & not friendly- will not be returning or recommending this place.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank juldave2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Old Boatyard also viewed

 

Been to The Old Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.