We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High class B & B accomodation with service to match. Puts most Hotels to shame.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brucefield Boutique B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brucefield Boutique B & B
Ranked #1 of 25 Arbroath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“High class B & B accomodation with service to match. Puts most Hotels to shame.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

A friendly welcome when we arrived, with complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits offered and provided in the lounge area. The 4 spacious Rooms in this totally refurbished Edwardian house are furnished to a very high standard with excellent en-suite facilities. Flat screen TV and DVD player are part of the deal, with a comprehensive library of CD's and DVD's available - again this is complimentary. Bottled water and fresh milk in the room fridge was another welcome extra.
The Breakfast matched the rest of the provision - try the Arbroath Smokies!
Altogether a great place to stay - unfortunately we had only one night.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
69
239
10
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

I knew that this was a 5* B&B before I booked it, but travelling down the ordinary street while looking for it I could not equate the images on their website with the surroundings. I need not have worried and was very pleasantly surprised to encounter a substantial house with a long driveway, large lawn to the front (where you can play croquet) and a New England style porch (with heat lamps for those cool Scottish evenings).
The owners of the property are a very warm and pleasant couple with an extensive local knowledge. They have lived in the area for 25 years (if I remember correctly).
The decor is contemporary and unique, the public areas very comfortable and the bedrooms spacious and very well appointed. Everything is immaculate. There is also a free bar.
The Arbroath smokies for breakfast were delicious as were the "sublime" scrambled eggs.
This B&B was inspected and awarded a 5* rating at the first attempt - I reckon that's a rare achievement and a well deserved one at that. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DouglasR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Compared to the normal Tripadvisor 5 star B&B, Brucefield deserves between 8 and 10. It is simply in a superior class. A substantial 1920's merchant's house has been restored by the owners and transformed into a truly luxurious B&B, run to a standard that one dreams of, more like a luxury boutique hotel than B&B.

The decor is superb, the breakfasts are top class with unusual touches such as Arbroath Smokies. The facilities are lavish to the last detail and standards of housekeeping better than Scotland's top hotels. The hosts are delightful, professional and really welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Brucefield is not on any account to be compared with 'ordinary' 5 star B&B's. I urge you to go out of your way to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sagacious_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

From the moment we arrived in the car park where Ray met us until we left three days later our stay was a pleasure. The coffee and sandwiches after we had settled in our room went down a treat.
Our room (Red Castle) was extemely spacious and beautifully furnished, breakfast expertly cooked.
Esther and Ray are friendly and chatty and could not be more helpful phoning restaurants or the golf club to get a discount. Superb value for monry.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

I just wanted to leave a quick review to stay what a fantastic B&B this is and I hope to back.

I can't imagine that any 4 or 5* hotel could ever match this guest house for service, and quality.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigCRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Just back from a 2 night break and wish we could have stayed longer. The whole experience was an absolute joy. Esther and Ray are marvellous hosts and nothing is too much bother for them. They have put together a first class B&B that is up there with 5 star hotels. All the tripadvisor reviews are so accurate in this instance and we look forward to many return visits in the future. David and Christine, Renfrew

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rangers1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

Myself and my husband stayed here for 4 nights. This place is a gem, everything was fantastic. The attention to detail was spot on, the room we stayed in was beautiful, very comfy beds and pillows.
Breakfasts in the morning were outstanding, Esther and Ray could not of looked after you more. We are returning next year, can't wait.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alderslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbroath
0.6 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
7.3 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
17.2 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carnoustie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
11.1 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brucefield Boutique B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brucefield Boutique B & B

Property: Brucefield Boutique B & B
Address: Brucefield Cliffburn Road, Arbroath DD11 5BS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Arbroath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brucefield is Arbroath's only boutique B&B offering contemporary and stylish accommodation in a 1920's built manor house within walking distance to the centre of the historically important town of Arbroath.The B&B offers:•Exclusively en-suite accommodation•Gourmet breakfasts created from the finest Scottish produce•Complimentary mini bar in the guest lounge•CDs and DVDs for guests to borrow•Complimentary wireless broadband throughout the property•A charming mature garden and decked patio for guests to enjoy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brucefield Boutique B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brucefield Boutique B & B Arbroath, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing