We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monks Tour Arbroath Abbey”
Review of Arbroath Abbey

Arbroath Abbey
Experience for Yourself
More Info
US$40.14*
and up
Historic Scotland Explorer Pass
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Arbroath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Arbroath Abbey is a testament to the dynamic piety of Scotland’s medieval monarchs. It was founded in 1178 by King William I ‘the Lion’ as a memorial to his childhood friend Thomas Becket, Archbishop of Canterbury, who was murdered in 1170.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Monks Tour Arbroath Abbey”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Although we have lived all our lives in Arbroath this is the first tour we have taken of the Abbey and we were very impressed with our Monk Andrew. He was a very friendly and knowledgeable guy. The information given was very informative and we gained a great insight into what the building and people in it had been like. The tour lasted around an hour after which you could explore the galleries which furthered our knowledge of times gone by. All in all a great experience and the price was extremely reasonable at £7.50 for an adult and less for over 60s and children. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Audbod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    73
    24
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Time at the Abbey”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

That's the title of a children's book (paper of eBook) available at Amazon which you should get a hold of BEFORE you drag your kids there-- once you've done it, they'll force you to go!! and they'll also be able to point out the other cool-for-kids-places immediately nearby (playpark on waterfront, "Sugar and Spice", Auchmithie caves).
The Abbey is MUCH more than just the place where Robert the Bruce had Abbot Bernard try to bargain with the Pope that Scots would help to kick Arabs out of Jerusalem in return for diplomatic recognition (that's the key point in the Declaration of Arbroath), it's a mysterious window into the past.
Oh- and if you klick on "Time at the Abbey" on Amazon and look at the cover you'll understand why the local football team is called the "Red Lichties".

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jpf0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon Visit”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My boyfriend and I were in Arbroath to see a football match, but thought we'd add some culture to the afternoon with a visit to the Abbey(and some Smokies). We were impressed not just with the towering Abbey ruins, but with the mini-museum and historical information provided. The staff members, Fiona and Andrew, we knowledgeable, friendly, and very professional. Well worth the £5.50 entrance fee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arbroath Abbey”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

There is much more to this than the facade and we spent a couple of hours exploring. Well worth the small entry fee.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quite an enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a nice time at the Arbroath Abbey. The day was clear (lucky us!) and the abbey was indeed quite intriguing. Lots of Scottish history, the tomb of King William of Scotland, the reconstruction of the life of monks and the exhibition of the declaration of Arbroath....all in all the £5.50 entry fees was worth it. I found the staff very helpful and polite and I am glad I visited the abbey. Good job Historic Scotland!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SouravBanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arbroath Abbey also viewed

 

Been to Arbroath Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing