We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Town House Hotel Arbroath

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arbroath
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed here for one night in October 2011 and although a little more costly than the B & B's in the area we were very impressed with the hotel. The staff were very friendly and everyone knew who we were. The food both dinner and breakfast were excellent. The breakfast set us up for the rest of the day. Rooms were good (we tripped the electrics in the first one and were moved instantly to a second room). We had no problem with the wifi in our room.
We'd recommend this hotel to anyone who was visiting Arbroath.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kilted-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    46
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
52
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Room clean but basic with no 'frills'. Absolutely zero soundproofing meant that we could hear the couple in the room above 'clog dancing' rhythmically and energetically for most of the night with multiple loo visits. Breakfast was very good. We moved to a local B&B the next day - nuff said.

Room Tip: Check that you have WiFi and look out for noisy cohabitees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trickpsyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We ummed and ahhed about where to stay and said Ok, lets try this one!
Good choice. We were greeted like old friends and nothing was too much. Our bicycles were secure so we slept well after eating well!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancs
Level Contributor
271 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed here 26/04/11 after calling in at the tourist information centre, as we wanted someting in the centre and Ogstons is on the high street. We paid £84 B&B in a double room. the room didnt have much of a view only roofs but was adequate enough, although I did notice the bath hadnt been cleaned properly and there wasnt a shaving mirror in the bathroom (which we had been told - room 5)
Breakfast was cereal, full english and toast and jam - good portions and tasted fine.
Parking was free around the corner from the hotel.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillyTPreston_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

I am remiss in not posting this sooner. Took a three week trip through the UK last year and ended up in Arbroath on the eve of the US/England World Cup match. We found everything we needed at Ogstons: dining, big screen TV with lots of refreshments, and very reasonably priced lodging. The staff was terrific and even helped us with ferry and train reservations the next morning. Here's the kicker. My wife left her jacket with money and ID in one pocket in the lobby at breakfast the morning we left. We contacted them from Edinburgh a day or two later and they confirmed it was there. The hotel took our address in the states and said they would send it to us. They did, with everything intact.
This was a wonderful facility in an absolutely beautiful, picturesque village on the North Sea. Lots of history too. I really can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kolekona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very impressed by the friendly staff. We had our evening meal on 2 of the 3 nights and were impressed with the quality and prices. The WIFI was only working in the bar area but this did not pose a problem for us as we were able to download emails ok.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

We stayed over on 29th September. Really good location being so near the town. Excellent room and huge comfy bed. Good breakfast and service was first class.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dundee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbroath
6.7 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
16.1 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
10.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
6.2 mi away
Seaview Guest House
Seaview Guest House
#3 of 3 in Carnoustie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#13 of 25 in Arbroath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House Hotel Arbroath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House Hotel Arbroath

Property: The Town House Hotel Arbroath
Address: 99 High Street, Arbroath DD11 1DP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arbroath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Town House Hotel Arbroath 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Arbroath centre, just 30 minutes' drive from Dundee, The Townhouse Hotel offers stylish rooms with free Wi-Fi. There is free on street parking, a restaurant and a lively bar. The spacious rooms at the Townhouse are individually decorated, and each has a private bathroom. All rooms have a Smart TV, tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. Ironing facilities are also available. The cosy bar offers meals, snacks and a selection of beverages. A traditional full Scottish breakfast is served daily and is included in the room rate. Continental and vegetarian options are also available. Situated in Angus county, this hotel is a 5-minute drive from Arbroath Golf Course. Arbroath Railway Station is just 10 minutes' walk away, offering direct trains to Aberdeen, Dundee and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Town House Hotel Arbroath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Arbroath Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing