We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family hotel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arbroath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rosely Country House Hotel
Ranked #10 of 25 Arbroath B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We recently (19th July) had our wedding reception at the Rosely Country House Hotel, Friday - Sunday. We decided it was the perfect place, groom (me) has been going there over past 13-14 yrs following a friend's wedding, not because it's perfect but because it's like no other hotel you will find. It's beautiful & charming much like the family who own & run it. It is absolutely stunning & fantastic value. Carola & her 4 generations of family maintain the building in all of it's grandeur, how it surely was intended when built late 19th century, stunning & solid. This is an incredibly special place. Should it ever change, or the intentions of the close family who run it shall be a travesty. To explain what it's like to people who have never been, wedding guests, is quite difficult. If you're inviting folk who expect symmetrical rooms full of ikea furniture then don't. You should send those folk to the nearest travel lodge, and I do hope that's where the aggrieved hotel inspector (further down the page review: "this is not a hotel") should always stay forever more. If you appreciate original fine qualities in life such as individuality, beauty, warmth, space & peace then you must go to the Rosely. We got married on the earth / sand & went back to celebrate at the Rosely & it was glorious. We had 100 guests or more, The Family we're accommodating of each and every one of them. We had a wholesome sumptuous feast prepared by Carola & family, every single guest loved the food, the party, appreciated their ethos & kindness, how they treated & trusted us. We love the Carola family, & their values, & we can all learn something from them. To enjoy life, and work to enjoy family life. The hotel is marketed as exactly what it is... A unique period family run hotel, 2 star but should be 4, set in gorgeous grounds which are a retreat from the chaos of how the world now turns. You'll get no special treatment but you'll still be a guest made to feel at home, nae'bd'y is treated any different. You can have anything you ask for (within reason) but should maybe think about how you ask for it. If you want a cup of tea just ask fir a jug ae milk!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexz, Manager at The Rosely Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you so much for the great review Jennie, your wedding and all the guests were so nice and it was a lovely 3 days and we cant wait for yous all to come back in a year for your anniversary :).
We hope to see yous soon.

Carola and Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
7
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a charming, unique, guest house that our family stayed at during a rail tour of Great Britain. As you can tell from the website, the place feels like the manor home of someone who likes to go on safaris. There are stuffed wild animal heads mounted on the wall. The woodwork, trim, and stained glass windows are remarkable. Everywhere you look there is some interesting detail to the house. We took loads of pictures. As we arrived in the early evening, our friendly hostess treated us to an unexpected dinner in the bar/dining room. We stayed in a family room which had everything we needed and ate a great Scottish breakfast the next morning.
This place is like no other I have ever seen and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexz, Manager at The Rosely Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review Rick. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Carola and Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here with my family at the weekend just gone and felt obliged to sing the praises of the Rosely Country House Hotel.
From the outside the building is a fabulous piece of architecture dating back to the earliy-mid 1800s, with extensive grounds for the kids to run around in....and mine certainly took advantage of that. Upon stepping inside you feel imbued with some of the history of the place and it sets the mind racing about the occasions that must have occurred over the years within those walls. The scale of the building and the dominant main stairwell add to the sense of being transported to another age and can easily make you forget that the centre of Arbroath, with all its visitor attractions, is only a couple of minutes drive away.
The rooms are spacious with good sized beds - handy if any of your rugrats happen to be night wanderers - and they offer comfort commensurate with price. There's no mod cons, but frankly we were happy about that and enjoyed what was offered.
Over and above the charm (and slight eccentricities) which marks out the hotel itself I have to give mention to the excellent service from the mother and daughter team running the place. Both were friendly throughout and could not do enough to make us feel welcome; the place felt more like an extended home rather than a hotel. In the bar on the Saturday night, Rebecca took time to learn the intricacies of loom bands with my kids and also got them victoria sponge desserts from her own cupboard when they made it known they needed something to fill a hole in their bellies - you don't often see that sort of personal touch in a hotel and it was very much appreciated. She also told them tales of the local wildlife and went to some effort in spotting various creatues in the gardens with them.
We ate breakfast in the morning and were impressed with what was received. More toast than even the five of us could eat, excellent cooked breakfast, and all delivered very promptly, which again was a winner when you have a noisy brood intent in holiday mode.
In conclusion, if you're looking for a place with home cinema facilities, state-of-the-art gymnasium etc. then the Rosely is not going to tick the box, but it doesn't attempt to either, It offers charm, character, relaxation and a sense of family.
I think we will visit again when we're next up in that part of the world.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexz, Manager at The Rosely Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you so much for the great review, we loved having your family here and are so happy you like our hotel. I have now taught my nieces the art of loom bands so a big thanks to your son and Mr Fox is still roaming around which is great to see.
We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Carola and Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is run by mother and daughter who do a excellent job of running the hotel. Rooms are a little basic but clean. We were there for four nights and they did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes peace an quiet.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexz, Manager at The Rosely Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you so much for the great review Philip, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay here.
The rooms are a little basic and we are now in the process of freshening them up which is great.

We hope to see you again soon.

Carola and Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

A very clean friendly establishment Good Food nice bar would use again
Has plenty of character great place to unwind in peace and quite
Due to my late arrival they provided me a great meal and on completion of my meal took the time to sit and chat the bar is well stocked and not over priced.
Breakfast is provided to the same high standard as the evening meal plenty of hot toast and hot coffee and a great full english.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexz, Manager at The Rosely Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay David, thank you so much for the great review.
We hope to see you again soon.

Carola and Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotts, N. Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having looked at the Hotel site, it looked the ideal location for a 2 day stop.
First impressions count.
The drive into the hotel and the hotel itself looked good.
As I parked, I was greeted by a young lady pushing a wheel barrow and noted another woman working on the garden.
Walking into the Hotel entrance, my heart sank.
Piled on the right was a long row of cut up wood for a burner in black dustbins with dust all around it, the paintwork was drab and pealing, floor tiles cracked.
OK ! check out the bedroom.
Spacious bedroom, floor had been hoovered, but no high dusting had been done. The bed had a candlewick covering and sleeping on a concrete floor, would describe the mattress. The Baby Cot in the room is totally illegal for modern use. A large stain in the centre of the carpet was easily noticed. The curtains were close to falling apart, rather threadbare. The bathroom was clean and serviceable, clean towels. The Soap was so small, that only one person could use it. Tea & Coffee was supplied, however, no stock rotation has been carried out, there was no taste to the tea bags (very old), the sugar was a solid lump, the Coffee sachets were OK. No milk sachets and our neighbour asked for milk, but had to go out and buy some.
I asked for a set of sandwiches at around 3.30pm, I was declined, the cook was not available until 6pm - they were working on the garden is why.
The next morning, I came down early for a smoke break outside and chatted with some Golfers.
At breakfast, I had another shock
It was Tea or Coffee, Toast but no asking if white or brown, Cooked breakfast or Cereal - which was just two children's cereals, packets of fresh orange juice from Tesco, still in cartons. The cooked breakfast would suit a pre-teenage child, certainly not enough for a grown man. Three Wooden trestle tables were set up in the centre of the room. One of my party checked the rough looking seats and found them to be covered in dust.
The serving staff arrived, the young lady had changed from the previous afternoon, but the older lady still wore the same clothes she had on doing garden work the previous day.
Breakfast the next morning was far better, only my party there, 4 of us, the breakfast had two fried eggs this time.

Having served 12 years as a Hotel Troubleshooting Manager, my overall impression is:-
This is a very poorly run Bed & Breakfast, run in a Farm style operation.
The hotel needs a lot of money and tentative care, a management that knows how to operate a Hotel.

Members of my party staying there, will never use this facility again and I shall not recommend it to my Future Commando Reunions again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Condorray71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexz, Manager at The Rosely Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Thank you for your review.
We have taken all your points into consideration so thank you for bringing them to our attention.

Carola and Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed in the Rosely in August 2013 and had no hesitation in booking it again when I ventured back to Arbroath recently. It has a wonderful old fashioned quirky charm which I really enjoy and which is so hard to find nowadays. There is very little which is hi-tech or in the least bit modern about this place, it's a little tatty round the edges but us clean and comfortable. The entrance hallway is grand with high ceilings and large ornate mirrors adorn the walls. My room was a good size with an old wooden double bed piled up with blankets and cozy quilts. Being quite tall I found the length of the bed was too short so had to sleep diagonally! (people were generally shorter in the era when those beds were made). The shower looked like it had been installed in the seventies but worked perfectly well. Tea and coffee (and a jug of fresh milk) was provided in the room along with some pretty little bone china cups. I didn't eat in the hotel but breakfast is provided and evening meals can be ordered in advance. I love this place, it's good value for money and the staff are cheery and helpful. Oh..and there is wi-fi in the rooms, it's a little erratic but worked well most of the time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexz, Manager at The Rosely Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay Shirley, thank you for the great review.
We have now started to freshen up the bedrooms and the bar which is great.
Im sorry your bed was too small for you, if you are in the area and decide to stay with us again we will be sure to give you a nice big bed.
Yes the wifi was weaker in certain parts of the hotel so we have now installed boosters which has seemed to have fixed that problem.
We hope to see you again soon.

Carola and Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arbroath hotels
1.8 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
1.6 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#13 of 25 in Arbroath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.2 mi away
Willowbank House B&B
Willowbank House B&B
#4 of 25 in Arbroath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Brucefield Boutique B & B
Brucefield Boutique B & B
#1 of 25 in Arbroath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Inverkeilor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rosely Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rosely Country House Hotel

Property: The Rosely Country House Hotel
Address: Forfar Road, Arbroath DD11 3RA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Arbroath
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Rosely Country House Hotel Arbroath, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing