We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B & B!”
Review of The Old Brewhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Brewhouse
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We would never have found the Old Brewhouse using the Internet booking site. I feel lucky that we found it after arriving in Arbroath at 4:00 on a blustery winter's day. The rooms were perfect (2 rooms for 2 couples). The beds were much more comfortable than others we slept on this trip, a big white fluffy duvet and good pillows. The bathroom was sparkly clean with tons of hot water and terrific water pressure. The views were gorgeous - the North Sea with crashing waves out one window and the Signal tower in the distance out the other. Half of us had the excellent Full Scottish breakfast, I had the smokies with free range scrambled eggs. Love smokies!
Staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome, patiently explaining the Scottish dishes to us, when asked.
I don't know if I'll ever be back in Arbroath, but I would definitely stay here! - we also had a wonderful dinner in the pub.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nansea1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for one night, by chance and it was a gem of a find. The room was lovely, beautifully decorated, great facilities and a stunning view - very comfy bed. We had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely, as was the house red (Rioja). We had a drink in the bar after beside the woodburner - nice and cosey. Breakfast in the morning was among the best I've had - really well cooked and tasty and plenty of everything. Couldn't fault the food or accommodation and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and will stay again if we're in the area for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsForgetful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

For over 12 years, at the end of August, we head to Arbroath for a family reunion and each year we end up at The Old Brewhouse. There isn't a great deal of choice of eateries in the town especially not at the time we need to eat. Couldn't fault the food or the service. Today I had the Arbroath Smokie and it didn't disappoint. But the place is beginning to look a bit drab. A pity really because for pub food it's pretty good and the location is smashing. Why only two outdoor tables on a beautiful sunny afternoon? Didn't look very inviting.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suziedaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We recently stayed for two nights, 11th & 12th August, and wished it could have been for a week at least. Everything was just perfect, the Bellrock Room has wonderful views on one side all the way out to the Bellrock Lighthouse on one side and over the Harbour on the other, is a generous size, beautifully furnished and with "decent" sized power shower. The host's, and all staff members were extremely polite, friendly and helpful.
We did not get the opportunity to dine in the evenings due to other prior commitments but the breakfast's are to die for, a truly FULL SCOTTISH SERVING and Meg's homemade marmalade is the best I have ever tasted.
Have experienced "other" so called Star Rated Hotels in Arbroath on previous visits but this leaves them all standing. Yes it is small but it is also SO PERFECTLY FORMED.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realistlboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Haven't been to the Old Brewhouse for a few years. Went yesterday with my husband for lunch, the decor has changed since our last visit, a bit drab in comparison but still clean and tidy.
My husband had the Deep Fried Fish and Chips which tasted very good, I went for the Stuffed Mushroom with garlic dip and the Warm Chocolate Cake which was amazing. A very pleasant way to spend a few hours. Lunch for 2 was £32. Would recommend the Old Brewhouse if your in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a table in the vey small restaurant at the back of the hotel, this gives you a view of Dange...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rivaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of June, as a treat after a stressful weekend in Dundee. We had the Bellrock room with a great view over the sea and the harbour. All very comfortable, clean and great wifi connection. Breakfast in the morning was my first encounter with an Arbroath Smokie and I really enjoyed it. We had coffee outside in fornt of the htole before retunring home.
the staff are friendly and helpful (rescuing our Kindles which I left on the car bonnet errhm, Thank you,

Room Tip: Make your own decision, all rooms are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieO060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for the Angus Accordion & Fiddle Festival weekend & were extremely happy with the quality of room furnishings. The bed was very comfortable and the view over the harbour was fabulous. The bathroom had a large shower cubicle with a powerful shower and good quality toiletries.

The choice at breakfast was extensive and extremely high quality with service second to none as we're the evening meals. This is the third place we've stayed in Arbroath & we loved it so much we've booked again for next year.

We'd have no hesitation in recommending the Old Brewhouse for a stay in Arbroath. The central location with great views is an added bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rush2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arbroath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
0.7 mi away
Brucefield Boutique B & B
Brucefield Boutique B & B
#1 of 22 in Arbroath
463 reviews
7.2 mi away
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Inverkeilor
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Willowbank House B&B
Willowbank House B&B
#5 of 22 in Arbroath
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#13 of 22 in Arbroath
37 reviews
0 mi away
Balnabrechan Lodge B&B
Balnabrechan Lodge B&B
#2 of 2 in Inverkeilor
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Brewhouse

Address: 1 High Street, Arbroath DD11 1BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Arbroath
Price Range: £86 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Old Brewhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Brewhouse Arbroath, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing