We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Nights Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arbroath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour Nights Guest House
Ranked #2 of 25 Arbroath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night, fantastic location by the harbour in Arbroath, clean and comfortable,had a great nights sleep in a comfortable bed and a generous and well presented breakfast, comes highly recommended. Many thanks to Bill and Sunita.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank vitalspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    35
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
60
179
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

After searching our GPS (SatNav) and following directions to several accommodation sites, we ended up following road signs which led us to the harbour, and the Harbour Nights Guest House. The title of our review says it all! We were offered a harbour view room, and it was the best room that we had on our holiday in Scotland. The room is spacious, clean, well appointed and extremely comfortable. Sunita and Bill are indeed warm and friendly, and do everything possible to make your stay a pleasant and enjoyable experience. We must not forget the excellent breakfast Bill prepared for us. There is no hesitation on our part in recommending this Guest House to anyone travelling to Arbroath.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We loved this place. Comfortable room, welcoming hosts, delicious breakfasts (recommend trying the smokies!). The house is beautifully decorated reflecting it's maritime past. We had a problem with a pre arranged trip to the Bell Rock Lighthouse which Bill , the host, went out of his way to help us sort out. Couldn't fault this lovely place. NB Arbroath is worth a visit.

Room Tip: We were at the back. No sea view but very comfortable ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OSWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callander, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked a one night stay in september at short notice for my partner and myself,We arrived and were greeted warmly by sunita who was very charming and friendly.We were shown to our room which was the room at the back overlooking the garden and in the distance the priory.And what a great room this was full ensuite,nice comfy bed,biscuits - yum.All you could ask for,for a good nights sleep,now I had read some of the other reveiws on here so I had seen the comments about "stealing pens" and other such nonsense but there was none of that in our room.I work in a hotel and there is always someone complaining about something even when there is nothing to complain about....So I'll state quite clearly WE HAD NO COMPLAINTS WHATSOEVER AND ENJOYED OUR STAY VERY MUCH.Bill made us breakfast in the morning,and what a great breakfast that was!!!!..Again Bill was charming,freindly and polite and makes probably the best breakfast in scotland(certainly in Arbroath).So if you're reading this and you've also read the doommongers I would say to you go with the majority of the reviewers on here and you won't go far wrong and enjoy you're stay..

Apologies to Bill and Sunita for taking so long to write the review there is always something needing doing!! See you soon


Dave and Dana

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week for ! night (wish it had been longer!). A young lad in a petrol station told us about this little gem of a place. Luckily Bill and Sunita had a room left, great service, very friendly and a fantastic breakfast cooked to order. Next time we are in the area we will be definitly be staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seez, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

In attending a Course seminar in Arbroath Scotland i was highly recommended to stay for the 5 days at the Harbour Nights overlooking the Marina and Harbour here in Arbroath.
Past experiences of staying in a B & B guest house have always been unpleasant experiences but alas it was all that was on offer to me.
I couldn't have been happier.
On arrival i was met by Bill and his wife Sunita who were extremely pleasant and welcoming and showed me straight to my room and wasted no time in explaining the safety policy of what to do in an emergency which was a great way to start seeing as i was there for the NGC H&S course at Angus College.
The room was large and boasted a king size bed with beautiful crisp Egyptian cotton sheets a very warm Duvet and matching throw. The furniture was not that multi pack hotel normal boring identical stuff you get everywhere but it looked like their own personal belongings draped throughout the whole building which was a mixture of Antiques, and nice pieces of art they had collected over the years. I slept like a log and waking in the morning and pulling back the curtains i was met with sunrise over the Marina where all the yachts and small lobster boats were either leaving or returning and where i went for a very pleasant walk pre breakfast.
The form one fills in before attempting breakfast, i say this as Bill lays out a beautiful breakfast of multi choice items. The usual and the choice of a small Scottish breakfast or a large, i chose the large on the first day but not again as there was too much and opted for poached eggs each day until i left, but i am assured you can have as much as you require and all items of food are top quality as opposed to the bulk bought symmetrical items found in many other establishments. The one dish for breakfast that caught my eye was the French Toast with cheese and chilies which as a chef i knew i had to try and left it till my departure date. I wasn't let down, beautiful bread pan fried with seasoned cheese and fresh chilies was delicious even though strange to have for breakfast it hit the spot and i could taste it all day, something i will be using on my travels.
Your own key is left with you on arrival and you come and go as you please and anything else you need Bill and Sunita are always around and are extremely helpful in pointing you in the right direction, even when it came to my decision of purchasing some of the famous Arbroath Smokies also on his breakfast menu. There are many back garden outlets selling just about anything smoked or unsmoked that come out of the sea.
Bill and Sunita presently rent Five bedrooms but are in the process of adding another three as business is good and as they continue to look after all their clients in their own special way, they are going to have continued success. I am due back twice before Christmas and didn't even bother looking at any hotels or other places as this is the place for me and if your ever down here you need to try it as well. First Class guys keep up the great work.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Marina if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanwrda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We arrived in Arbroath off the Edinburgh train and walked the short distance to the harbour where you will find this superb guest house. We were met by Bill who showed us every courtesy and carried our cases up to the room - a superb double en suite. We asked him about places to eat locally - Google couldn't have done better!! We had a very restful night in what was a quiet room, were up early for a walk around the harbour and back to the guest house to be treated to a really great breakfast - including Arbroath Smokies! Is there anything better for breakfast? Before we left, we met Sunita and said our goodbyes, reflecting on a fabulous start to our holiday. Next stop Inverness - could it get better?

Room Tip: Front or back - rooms are quiet. Front has harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n10tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbroath
0.2 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
6.5 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
6.6 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carnoustie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.9 mi away
Seaview Guest House
Seaview Guest House
#3 of 3 in Carnoustie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#13 of 25 in Arbroath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Nights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Nights Guest House

Property: Harbour Nights Guest House
Address: 4 Shore, Arbroath DD11 1PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Arbroath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Nights Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are The ONLY 4 star Guest House/Bed & Breakfast, situated directly on Arbroath's Harbour/Marina,(unlike some other establishments who project photographs of the Harbour)We have spectacular Sea Views,and certainly the best location in Arbroath. Ample free parking. A few minutes walk from Train & Bus Station. A couple of minutes walk to a some of Arbroath's best restaurants. We offer a choice breakfast menu and use only the best local produce. All our rooms are either en-suite or have private bathrooms. A few minuites walk from scenic Cliff Walk, Arbroath Abbey and the Bell Rock Museum, We are 10 mins from Carnoustie Golf and many other golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Nights Guest House Arbroath, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing