We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the Harbour”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arbroath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour Nights Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Arbroath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A jewel in the Harbour”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

A very well appointed guest house with charming high quality rooms overlooking the harbour.
Friendly and approachable owners Sunita and Bill could not do enough to make our stay a memorable one, breakfast was really hearty and unlimited tea was most welcome.
Watch out for the luxury chocolate placed on your pillow!
Would not hesitate to recommend Harbour Nights to anyone who requires a quiet well presented place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alastairmcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    36
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
62
182
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here two nights in November. To me this has to be one of the best guest houses anywhere. Others have eulogised about this place - i will simply say "hear hear". I recently stayed at, and panned a four star hotel in Blackpool and i just cannot get my head around how much better this tiny guest house in Arbroath is. There were a couple of very minor detractions but they were too insignificant to mention as they relate more to personal taste however I would advise that this place might not be suitable for people who have difficulty with stairs.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THATFOODIEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night, fantastic location by the harbour in Arbroath, clean and comfortable,had a great nights sleep in a comfortable bed and a generous and well presented breakfast, comes highly recommended. Many thanks to Bill and Sunita.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank vitalspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After searching our GPS (SatNav) and following directions to several accommodation sites, we ended up following road signs which led us to the harbour, and the Harbour Nights Guest House. The title of our review says it all! We were offered a harbour view room, and it was the best room that we had on our holiday in Scotland. The room is spacious, clean, well appointed and extremely comfortable. Sunita and Bill are indeed warm and friendly, and do everything possible to make your stay a pleasant and enjoyable experience. We must not forget the excellent breakfast Bill prepared for us. There is no hesitation on our part in recommending this Guest House to anyone travelling to Arbroath.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We loved this place. Comfortable room, welcoming hosts, delicious breakfasts (recommend trying the smokies!). The house is beautifully decorated reflecting it's maritime past. We had a problem with a pre arranged trip to the Bell Rock Lighthouse which Bill , the host, went out of his way to help us sort out. Couldn't fault this lovely place. NB Arbroath is worth a visit.

Room Tip: We were at the back. No sea view but very comfortable ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callander, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I booked a one night stay in september at short notice for my partner and myself,We arrived and were greeted warmly by sunita who was very charming and friendly.We were shown to our room which was the room at the back overlooking the garden and in the distance the priory.And what a great room this was full ensuite,nice comfy bed,biscuits - yum.All you could ask for,for a good nights sleep,now I had read some of the other reveiws on here so I had seen the comments about "stealing pens" and other such nonsense but there was none of that in our room.I work in a hotel and there is always someone complaining about something even when there is nothing to complain about....So I'll state quite clearly WE HAD NO COMPLAINTS WHATSOEVER AND ENJOYED OUR STAY VERY MUCH.Bill made us breakfast in the morning,and what a great breakfast that was!!!!..Again Bill was charming,freindly and polite and makes probably the best breakfast in scotland(certainly in Arbroath).So if you're reading this and you've also read the doommongers I would say to you go with the majority of the reviewers on here and you won't go far wrong and enjoy you're stay..

Apologies to Bill and Sunita for taking so long to write the review there is always something needing doing!! See you soon


Dave and Dana

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidmcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here last week for ! night (wish it had been longer!). A young lad in a petrol station told us about this little gem of a place. Luckily Bill and Sunita had a room left, great service, very friendly and a fantastic breakfast cooked to order. Next time we are in the area we will be definitly be staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbroath
0.2 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
6.6 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
127 reviews
6.5 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#13 of 22 in Arbroath
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brucefield Boutique B & B
Brucefield Boutique B & B
#1 of 22 in Arbroath
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Nights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Nights Guest House

Property: Harbour Nights Guest House
Address: 4 Shore, Arbroath DD11 1PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Arbroath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Nights Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are The ONLY 4 star Guest House/Bed & Breakfast, situated directly on Arbroath's Harbour/Marina,(unlike some other establishments who project photographs of the Harbour)We have spectacular Sea Views,and certainly the best location in Arbroath. Ample free parking. A few minutes walk from Train & Bus Station. A couple of minutes walk to a some of Arbroath's best restaurants. We offer a choice breakfast menu and use only the best local produce. All our rooms are either en-suite or have private bathrooms. A few minuites walk from scenic Cliff Walk, Arbroath Abbey and the Bell Rock Museum, We are 10 mins from Carnoustie Golf and many other golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Nights Guest House Arbroath, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing