We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arbroath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbour Nights Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Arbroath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A one night's stay in the top floor room with en-suite and a hearty breakfast - including superb 'Arbroath Smokies'. We were made most welcome and treated like VIPs. Good free internet connection. Particularly liked the bright dining/breakfast room and the open aspect beside the harbour and its modern and interesting facilities nearby.

The people who wrote the bad reviews about this place must have stayed somewhere completely different!

Room Tip: Try for a harbour view from the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Only stayed for 1 night, room was lovely and we were very kindly upgraded to a harbour view room. Took a while to decide where to stay in Arbroath but definitely made the right decision to stay at Harbour Nights. Very friendly, relaxed atmosphere and went that extra mile ( literally ha ha!). Would defo stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a very nice time at Harbour Nights Guest House. The Arbroath marina is right in front of the house, and the views are amazing. The breakfast was very good, but there is an extra charge for the famous Arbroath smokies (which, however, were delicious).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kveliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Retreating to our wee haven in early February brings out the child in us both yet again. With the warm and personal greeting of both Bill and Sunita, we step through time once more into the carefree comfort of Harbour Nights Guesthouse, Arbroath.

With its stillness whispering “welcome back”, the airy but cozy bedroom overlooking the blue-clad forest of mast and sail presides over the harbour, with the beacon of the Bell Rock Lighthouse heralding that we are no longer in inland Perthshire, but on the edge of the land, being caressed to sleep by the North Sea.

Easily accessible to the guesthouse and with no need for a car, to our treasured haunts, like excited birthday-bound bairnies, we journey to our favourite cafes and restaurants, art and trinket shops, as well as memorials of the bygone ages of heroism and innovation From the refreshing walks along the promenade and cliffs, the inland fishing boats skippered by their native families may yet be seen.

In this working yet welcoming town that magnifies all that is good about Scotland, for breakfast Bill and Sunita serve us up the free-range egg and the famous Arbroath Smokie. Cooked to perfection, as always, the fish flakes from the bones, melting in the mouth. Beside all this there is traditional porridge served at just the right consistency, besides other choices on offer or requests available.

Articulated with a first hand knowledge of the area and its folk, we witnessed once more just how personalized the hosts’ concern was for the guest, whether Scottish or American, helping to make their visits memorable.

On our short winter break or indeed at any season of the year, in this guesthouse where ambiance and antique dance in step, to get away from it all yet be accessible to major population centres such as Dundee or Aberdeen, Harbour Nights Guesthouse, in this inspiring, non graffiti-tarred thriving town of community pride, has proved yet again for us to be our first choice.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 both command an excellent view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We spent a lovely weekend in Arbroath. Harbour nights was a lovely B&B the location and our hosts Bill and Sunita were great. Loved the way the guest house was decorated it had a real design flair. Over breakfast we had gained lots of info from Bill about the local area and took a super cliff walk to Auchmitie

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We booked 2 rooms in Harbour Nights for Friday 21st Feb 2014.
The rooms were so lovely and waking up to the sunshine and the boats bobbing in the harbour, what a lovely view from the very comfortable rooms. We could not have asked for more. Our hosts Bill and Sunita could not have been more helpful, welcoming and friendly.
Bills breakfast was first class.
We were recommended by Sunita to eat in the Boathouse just across the road on Friday evening, and all four of us had the most delicious meals! Lovely atmosphere and fantastic seafood.

Next day we asked Bill for his suggestion on where we could go for a walk, he was so helpful and pointed us to a 4 mile cliff top walk, he told us where to park and gave us a great leaflet which pointed out lots of interesting sights to see along the way. At the end of the walk we caught the local bus back to Arbroath. The walk was fantastic, and the views amazing.
We asked Bill the best place to buy some Arbroath Smokies, he sent us over to Bill Spink, where we picked up the real Smokies and some hot smoked Salmon. Lovely!

We all had a fabulous time, and cant recommend Arbroath and Harbour Nights highly enough. What a super place and lovely hosts!

Room Tip: Harbour View rooms are delightful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CouplefromStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My wife and I booked for a one night stay 7th Feb for a trip to Arbroath to see family and friends. We where met by Sunita who has delightful, our room was very comfortable with all one could wish for. breakfast prepared by Bill was well cooked and presented coupled with a friendly chat, the other guests contributing to making for a very pleasant experience. We visit Arbroath often and will endeavour to book again if rooms are available but given the excellence of the Harbour Nights we will book well in advance as any other location in the area would be a disappointment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadrm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arbroath hotels
0.2 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
0.8 mi away
Brucefield Boutique B & B
Brucefield Boutique B & B
#1 of 22 in Arbroath
462 reviews
0 mi away
Balnabrechan Lodge B&B
Balnabrechan Lodge B&B
#2 of 2 in Inverkeilor
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Inverkeilor
64 reviews
2.3 mi away
Willowbank House B&B
Willowbank House B&B
#5 of 22 in Arbroath
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#14 of 22 in Arbroath
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Nights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Nights Guest House

Address: 4 Shore, Arbroath DD11 1PB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Arbroath
Price Range: £41 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Nights Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are The ONLY 4 star Guest House/Bed & Breakfast, situated directly on Arbroath's Harbour/Marina,(unlike some other establishments who project photographs of the Harbour)We have spectacular Sea Views,and certainly the best location in Arbroath. Ample free parking. A few minutes walk from Train & Bus Station. A couple of minutes walk to a some of Arbroath's best restaurants. We offer a choice breakfast menu and use only the best local produce. All our rooms are either en-suite or have private bathrooms. A few minuites walk from scenic Cliff Walk, Arbroath Abbey and the Bell Rock Museum, We are 10 mins from Carnoustie Golf and many other golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Nights Guest House Arbroath, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing