We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£66
Priceline
£69
Fully refundable before Sun, 10 Mar
No prepayment needed
Agoda.com
£66
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jacqui D
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
82
Disappointing
Review of Corner Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jun 2023
Having read reviews on Booking.com we were looking forward to a lovely meal - arrived to a notice saying the kitchen was closed - and had been since 4th June. There was no mention of this online. We were early, met with a look of utter disdain from the barmaid, who then fetched the manager. He kindly allowed us to drop our bags off in the room. We were offered the room nearest the sea - I can only assume it was near as we couldn't see it. Tried to put the handtowel on the towel rail and it promptly fell off the wall which is clearly a regular occurance. While the room and bathroom were clean and the bed exceptionally comfortable, the radiator in the Bathroom was pretty filthy and needed a good clean. The remote control for the television was held together with an elastic band, and we gave up on it actually working after 10 mins of effort. The bath had a shower attachment , rather than a shower (which the owner did explain in advance), but despite our best efforts neither of us could get the shower attachment to work! Previous reviews indicated works were being carried out to the hotel but it looked like only the door to the bathroom had been replaced. Lastly, the curtains didn't actually cover the windows!

Have been in worse but have certainly been in better, sadly we wouldn't go back.
Date of stay: June 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£85
No prepayment needed
  • Carnoustie Golf
    £85
  • Vio.com
    £73
  • Priceline
    £85
0.4 miles from Corner Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
£79
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £79
  • eDreams
0.4 miles from Corner Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dining Room
Tripadvisor
£104
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £104
0.7 miles from Corner Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.5 miles from Corner Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.2 miles from Corner Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.8 miles from Corner Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
0.6 miles from Corner Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
0.9 miles from Corner Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Corner Hotel Carnoustie Scotland UK
Booking.com
£66
  • Priceline
    £69
  • Agoda.com
    £66
  • Vio.com
    £66
0.0 miles from Corner Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
PremierInn.com
£47
  • Algotels
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
4.1 miles from Corner Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Carnoustie
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
5
2
1
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
5
2
1
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2023 via mobile

I wish I could tell you what this establishment is like, unfortunately I can’t. We always take our small well behaved dog with us while having lunch or dinner, a lot of places in Carnoustie are dog friendly which is great, and I was assured this place was. I stood at the reception part for at least 5 minutes before someone came out. I asked if they were open for food, I was met with a look of derision, and told I’d missed lunch, dinner didn’t start until 5, and I couldn’t bring that in, pointing to my dog. I felt hurt and humiliated by the way I was spoken to. We’d only just moved to Carnoustie and we were looking for a place to eat out regularly. Needless to say we’ve never been back.
If that’s the service before you go in, I dread to think what it’s like inside. Don’t advertise as dog friendly if you’re going to pick and choose which dogs are allowed.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JenIgma29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Wild, Owner at Corner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2023

Are you sure you are advising the correct premises. ?

We would invite you back to discuss this.

Normal practice dogs Not allowed in restaurant unless guide dogs.

Dogs allowed in lounge and bar.

A tad harsh to say dread to think what it's like inside..

Opening hours are what they are in these very trying times for the hospitality business.

Thanks for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2023

Corner Hotel is not what it once was. Can't keep Staff. Poor professionalism from Owners. Used to be an amazing hotel especially in Golf season. Would not recommend it now. Poor management high staff turnover

Room tip: Do not book
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susblue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Wild, Owner at Corner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2023

Based on what experience. We are improving every part of the establishment.

By the way, this is trip advisor for restaurant so please guide on restaurant only

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2022

Unfortunately owners again drunk, serving behind bar whilst drunk. Fights including owners with patrons. Drugs. Disability toilets locked through drug use. Staff unhappy now left. Hotel reputation is going downhill

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Susblue42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2022 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here one night whilst touring through Scotland. The owners and staff are lovely and friendly, the room was really clean and the food was amazing. Would definitely recommend to anyone passing through Carnoustie or even if you’re only looking for a drink and a meal.

Room tip: On-site parking out the back which is really helpful.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SallyB912
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Wild, Owner at Corner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2022

many thanks for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you enjoy the rest of your road trip and safe journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2022

We stayed at hotel to see family and the new owners could not be more caring, kind, hospitable, warm and welcoming. There is excellent hotel leadership! The new owners are so hard working in bar, restaurant and hotel with team of staff which are all very caring to respectful customers especially elderly gents & ladies. Negativity does not do this warm family hotel any justice and praise more appropriate to an amazing team with great food and lovely rooms.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank kevinbS3327GF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Wild, Owner at Corner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2022

many thanks for your review Kevin and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews