We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amaizing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amaizing”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Lovely hotel by the sea front.has a few great services.spa,gym,restaurant.enjoyed using the spa facilities.staff are very helpful and accommodating.
Ideal for golf lovers but very much accommodating and caters for those who are not there for golf.clean,a little out of date in terms of mordeness of rooms but bareble.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review.
Pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    471
    237
    120
    56
See reviews for
209
556
28
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

When we drove up to the hotel, I've got to be honest, we felt very disappointed. To say it looks rundown is an understatement, BUT, then you enter and are welcomed by friendly, efficient staff. Check in was very efficient and we were upgraded to a golf course view room. What a delight watching the golfers 'do their thing'.

Our bedroom was tired and very much in need of refurbishment, as was the whole hotel. However, everywhere was exceptionally clean, with clean, comfortable beds and pillows.

The meals and breakfasts, served by extremely efficient, friendly, happy, young people, were second to none. Well done chef, waiting staff and not forgetting the management. The dining room overlooked the golf course, (the first tee I think ??, you can tell I know nothing about golf), very enjoyable watching the smiling players, happy to be playing on such an excellent, well known course.

All in all, our stay was excellent, thanks mainly to the wonderful staff from reception, kitchen, leisure centre, bar, management, and not forgetting the high standards of the housekeeping staff.

I dropped a star, due entirely to the need for refurbishment of the hotel. Don't judge the quality by the tired surroundings!

I will return.

Room Tip: If possible go for a golf course or sea view, much better than car park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy551801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your comments which have been shared with the team and are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Rooms with a view that every golfer dreams of cannot deceive one over the fact that this hotel relies too much on its location and not enough on the quality of the accomodation or the service. Cramped rooms, worn decor, a bathroom that is almost a throw-back to the fifties (shower curtains over the bath...). I wonder whether the management is aware of this because there are some very good deals to be had by booking via internet, presumably provided you don't want to stay during a major competition. The clientele is international and one almost feels embarrassed that visitors from overseas should not be provided with better quality accomodation in such a location. Carnoustie golf course certainly deserves better!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerlindR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your review and for your comments and observations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was the third time we have stayed at the hotel over the past 10 years and enjoyed a very nice stay overall. The highlights were the evening meal we had on Friday night which was really excellent as was the quality of the breakfast and service by the young "not a problem!" team on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they were friendly, polite and very attentive. The food was of a very high standard every time we ate at the hotel.

The setting is wonderful (if you like golf) and not too far from Dundee. The hotel was built in the late 90's and shows its age a wee bit but the rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. If you are lucky enough to get (or upgrade to) a course facing room the views are beautiful.

We had a great time at the hotel and would definitely recommend it and hope to get back again soon..

Room Tip: Have the Haggis at breakfast - it is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbow777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments which are much appreciated.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel as I was on business in Aberdeen and Tayside. I was pleasantly surprised when I was upgraded to a suite until I got there! There was a lounge with 2 en-suite bedrooms. The suite was dated, especially the bathrooms which had a shower/sauna unit that had seen better days (10 years ago).
My biggest gripe however was the food. I ate in the bar and had Haddock on the first night and sirloin on the second. Both were poor, the steak was particularly poor, cold mushrooms and over cooked. I told the waitress ( who was lovely) and I got the feeling she had to field this kind of comment all the time. She said she would inform management but to no avail. Breakfast? I asked for sausage, bacon and eggs- I received 1 sausage, 1 rasher and 1 egg. Finally at checkout, I was greeted by a guy who couldn't even be bothered doing his top shirt button and, as expected, didn't ask if I enjoyed my stay. Well I didn't and I can only assume this hotel was busy because of the lack of hotel accommodation in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIMONTEMPLAR1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for posting your comments.
Very disappointing to read your observations which have been shared and which we appreciate you bringing to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carnoustie hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We booked here for one night on late rooms as was the only hotel available in the local area. We needed to be close due to my mother in law being in her last few days, we did not know how long we were needed. We explained this to the lady on reception, Lucy, who was very understanding, she moved some bookings around and managed to secure us a booking for the next 5 nights in the same room, at the same rate we paid for the first night, she said as long as we checked out by 11 we could check out at any time without paying for the remaining days. During a very difficult time she took the pressure off.
Later in the week she even asked how my mother in law was doing.
The hotel itself was clean, housekeeping was very through with clean towels and toiletries replaced daily, breakfast was included and cooked to order and parking was free.
Would not have thought of this hotel previously as we normally stay in a budget hotel brand, but considering breakfast was included for us both, free parking and free wifi I would defiantly stay here again. Lucy made a difficult trip stress free from the accommodation side and I am very grateful to her.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated.
We hope all is well and that we can welcome you back under more positive circumstances.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It was a very nice stay. Breakfast was very very good and it was included in the room price. The swimming pool was exceptional under 16 are not allowed in the sauna and steem room and Under 14's are not allowed in the Jacuzzi.
And we would come back here again sometime.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 375WhiteP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review and delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
12.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,012 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
9.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Property: Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Address: Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing