We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent another very enjoyable weekend at this hotel.
We had a lovely suite, overlooking the golf course. It had a separate sitting area, complete with settee, dinning table, fridge and wet bar. It was a bit too chilly to sit out on the large balcony, but had great views.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, with a special mention for Morag.
We had dinner and breakfast, both of which were very nice and tasty.
I would have no hesitation returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowgoose20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for posting your comments which are much appreciated and have been shared with the team - including Morag!
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I have just had a four day break in Scotland which took in this hotel for a couple of nights before moving on to Crieff Hydro, I only have two small gripes first the radiator sounded like a tyre that never ended deflating and secondly the menu although good quality was for me lacking in the amount of choice.

Room Tip: Turn the radiator on and if it sounds like a tyre deflating ask for another room that's if you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your comments and observarions.
Pleased to say comments regarding noisy radiator has been corrected.
Thanks again and hope to welcome you back to Canoustie in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Having gone to the hotel with some of the negative reviews on this site in my head I prepared myself to be disappointed. I was actually pleasantly surprised; the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Special shout out to Michael who served us dinner, a really polite and attentive young lad. Food was good, although starters a bit on the meagre side.

Ok I take the point regarding some TLC required for fixtures and fittings which have seen better days(also some rather noisy radiators!). However we got a really good DBB deal so were quite ok regarding value for money, maybe wouldn't have been if we'd paid top dollar!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank parssupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your comments, glad to read you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed two nights at the hotel on our way back from the Highlands.
Our stay was pleasant and mostly enjoyable.
The room was large and comfortable and despite the view of the carpark, you would still see the park and the ocean.
The service from the wait staff at breakfast was excellent.
The only downfalls were the following:
-The receptionist was not overly friendly and helpful.
- On the second morning my poached egg was overcooked.
- The housekeeper walked into our room at 10am with knocking an hour before checkout time.
- There was a notice on the window/door talking about the door only opening a small amount unless a key was signed for. And our door opened all they way out. This didn't worry me but I am sure another kind of person would have been upset with this.

These were only minor issues and would probably not stop us staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattStrat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for posting your comments, each of which I note.
Hope we get the chance to welcome you back again.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay with my husband and 3 year old daughter. We paid £65 for B&B. We were upgraded to a family room which was bright and spacious. 2 comfortable double beds and a table with 2 chairs. The view over the 18th was lovely in the crisp November morning.

The swimming pool was nice with a jacuzzi, steam and sauna. Dinner in the bar was lovely. The staff were all very nice. Breakfast was lovely too, and again staff were attentive.

There is a fabulous play park a few minutes walk away. It is great for both young and older kids, it has a paddling pool, flying fox and a sand pit, among lots of other things.

I really enjoyed my stay. I have been to hotels with more stars, and not had the service that we got here. I think this was excellent value for money, with higher levels of service than expected.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 117, which was very handy for the ice maker (which we couldn't hear from our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your review.
Pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed your stay.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have visited this hotel again and it did not disappoint.
Once again the room was lovely and clean and the view amazing.......looking right up the first hole of the championship course.
Food was excellent in the dining room and also in the bar at lunch time.
(Maybe a wee complaint.......some of the chairs need re-upholstering in the bar!)
The leisure facilities are great with fluffy white towels.
Staff are always friendly but not over the top, as some hotels can be!
Worth every penny! We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course.......lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monsoon1inGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your review.
Delighted that you enjoyed your most recent visit and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hotel is well weathered on the outside however on the inside all public areas are of reasonable standard and are well kept. Our room looked out over the course and was spacious and well equipped if a little dated. Sleep quality was fine though the ice machine in the corridor was noisy. Bar and restaurant service at dinner and breakfast was fine if a little slow with the food quality average but nothing special, perhaps more needs to be spent in sourcing quality ingredients.

Room Tip: Upgrade if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKeenEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your comments and observations which are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
137 reviews
12.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,387 reviews
9.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
21.5 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
577 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Address: Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range: £48 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing