We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wedding Reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I attended a wedding here a couple of weeks ago and can safely say i had an enjoyable night! The food was delightful, the service on the food was quick and hassle free and everything was in tip top condition! The drink was rather over priced but that was expected by reading other reviews! One notable high point, and i wouldn't usually single out a member of staff, was the young bartender who was working, if i can remember his name was calum! He was so helpful and had no problem mixing us up a cocktail even know the hotel itself doesn't have a cocktail menu, his overall friendliness made the night better! Would recommend, on my experience, to anyone looking at somewhere for a wedding reception to consider here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your kind comments.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Returned for a couple of nights stay for a midweek golfing break and had a great time. The hotel staff are so friendly and check in was smooth as usual. Room was clean and spacious with a sea view and plenty of shortbread biscuits to have with coffee, great stuff. Beds were very comfortable. Some of the bedroom furniture could be upgraded but this is really a minor observation, as was some slight dampness on the ceiling above the bath, but we were staying at the end of the season so maybe to be expected. My only other minor quibble would be that the ice machine in the corridor was very noisy(I'm sure there will be quieter ones on the market). Back to the good points, the spa is a great place to relax after a cold days golf, in the sauna, steam room, bubble pool and heated swimming pool, all excellent. The bars are good with reasonable drinks and food available. Breakfast was very good, at last a hotel who know how to make toast, this was the best we've had so far. I like the relaxed atmosphere in this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your review and positive comments which are much appreciated.
Hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights at the end of October and the first thing I must say is that the staff were excellent. It must be a Carnoustie thing because everybody we seemed to meet on this trip were so welcoming. The facilities at this hotel are good - my kids really enjoyed the swimming pool and I don't need to say anything about the golf- if you play golf then a hotel on the 18th hole of a world championship course seems like heaven. There were a couple of downsides however. We had booked a family room - 2 adults and 2 children and we got a room with two double beds. Our kids, a boy and a girl, are just a bit too old for that arrangement now. The staff added a Z bed which then made space in the room very cramped and hard to navigate. The whole hotel is looking a little tired and in need of a make over and the bar prices must be by far the most expensive in the town. However overall a pleasant enough stay, made memorable by the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for posting your review and your comments which I note.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Complained twice in an afternoon to reception about the inconsiderate family in the room above running around and sounding like thunder in our room.Asked same receptionist on 2 occasions if she had,as she said she would,ask the family above to be made aware of the impact on us.Afterall we went to this hotel,as we have done on many occasions,for a restful and quiet overnight stay.She said that she was unable to contact them and so an early awakening was a certainty at 06.30.
Unable to sleep due to additional noise caused by apparent drilling,scraping and banging until the very early hours.Rception unable to identify source of noise.
Refunded the cost of a drink each for a complete missed nights sleep as compensation.
Never again and reception were very in insincere in their apology.
Asked to be moved to another room as I knew there were vacant rooms but was refused
Hotel is under yet new management and bar menu limited with even more limited children's menu.

Sorry Carnoustie but never again!

Room Tip: Choose a different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerryMcCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your review.
Disappointed that you did not have a relaxing stay.
I note each of your comments but puzzled by drilling etc as we did not have any work being carried out over this weekend when the hotel was fully booked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We booked a deal for 2 nights stay at the hotel and were not disappointed. The hotel and room decor is average but what really makes this hotel is the staff. We upgraded to a golf view room and the views were stunning. Although they are all young, they know their role and are obviously well trained. What a pleasure to be served by professional staff. The hotel also has an excellent chef as the food was amazing. All in all, a fantastic stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 53BLOSSOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your positive comments about our staff whcih have been shared with them.
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent another very enjoyable weekend at this hotel.
We had a lovely suite, overlooking the golf course. It had a separate sitting area, complete with settee, dinning table, fridge and wet bar. It was a bit too chilly to sit out on the large balcony, but had great views.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, with a special mention for Morag.
We had dinner and breakfast, both of which were very nice and tasty.
I would have no hesitation returning.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowgoose20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for posting your comments which are much appreciated and have been shared with the team - including Morag!
Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I have just had a four day break in Scotland which took in this hotel for a couple of nights before moving on to Crieff Hydro, I only have two small gripes first the radiator sounded like a tyre that never ended deflating and secondly the menu although good quality was for me lacking in the amount of choice.

Room Tip: Turn the radiator on and if it sounds like a tyre deflating ask for another room that's if you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your comments and observarions.
Pleased to say comments regarding noisy radiator has been corrected.
Thanks again and hope to welcome you back to Canoustie in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
137 reviews
12.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,383 reviews
9.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
21.5 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
577 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Address: Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range: £48 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing