We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carnoustie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spa day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Having arrived around 1 month earlier with a group of girls for a luxury spa day to be told there had been a booking error was a huge disappointment. However, after we had explained our disappointment and the efforts we had made to get there that day we were more than pleased with the service provided to make up for this. That day we were given full use of the facilities, 3 course meal with drinks and a full refund with a complimentary vouchers to come back another day for the spa day deal originally booked. The food on both occasions was great! The spa treatments were really good and so relaxing and the overall service was really amazing. Would definitely go back and would also recommend this place to others.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Pleased to learn you enjoyed your spa day after a false start!
Thank you for your review, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    461
    231
    120
    56
See reviews for
204
548
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

I have never in all my years of staying in hotels around the world stayed in a hotel where the freedom of choice of the temperature of both your radiator and bath water is taken out of your hands. The radiator is permanently on full blast and the window barely opens, presumably in case you want to jump out of it which, given half a chance in the night I would have done. The temperature of the bath water is on the other hand is warm only on maximum. In addition there is no bottled water in the rooms (under the circumstances a necessity unless you want to die in the night of dehydration) and the orange juice as breakfast is cheap concentrate. The whole experience was truly ghastly.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank stargazeypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Puzzled by your comments, all of our bedrooms have independent thermostats on each radiator to allow the guest total control of the temperature of the room.
Disappointingly, had you brought your comments to our attention during your stay we could have resolved them if your radiator was faulty.
Neither do I recognise your comments regarding the temperature of the bath water whcih has not been commented on before.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carnoustie hotels

East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Have been going to this hotel 2-3 times a year the latest being yesterday. We had no complaints about the room as we had been upgraded to a golf view room. We took friends who had never been before and we had always raved about the fab breakfast, cooked fresh and brought to your table. For a start we waited some time before it was brought to us and what a disappointment. Sausages were overdone, as was the bacon, no black pudding or potato scone, so it was one sausage, one rather of bacon, a dollop of haggis and a paltry helping of beans. Presentation was a lot to be desired. Fairly gone downhill in our estimation.

Gordon and Evelyn Fraser

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, they are very accommodating
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your review, disappointed that you felt let down by your breakfast but appreciate your comments.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel via a hotelcard deal. Our room was spacious and well-appointed, with the most drawer space we've ever had in a hotel room. Great if you bring clothes for every eventuality! All the staff we encountered including the reception, waiting, bar and spa staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and found the food to be excellent. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review which is much appreciated, and we hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

i recently stayed at the links gold hotel in Carnoustie vis Hotel and spa breaks and found it to be one of the best hotels I ever been in. the room was amazing, clean had everything we needed. all the staff were great from waiting staff to the spa girls and the guys at the pool etc. I would love to go back as the stay just wasn't long enough and the views of the golf course and sea were beautiful. it was truly fanastic. nothing was too much trouble!

Room Tip: we asked if we could check out a little later and it was no bother so after breakfast we had a swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for posting your review.
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I attended a wedding here a couple of weeks ago and can safely say i had an enjoyable night! The food was delightful, the service on the food was quick and hassle free and everything was in tip top condition! The drink was rather over priced but that was expected by reading other reviews! One notable high point, and i wouldn't usually single out a member of staff, was the young bartender who was working, if i can remember his name was calum! He was so helpful and had no problem mixing us up a cocktail even know the hotel itself doesn't have a cocktail menu, his overall friendliness made the night better! Would recommend, on my experience, to anyone looking at somewhere for a wedding reception to consider here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your kind comments.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Returned for a couple of nights stay for a midweek golfing break and had a great time. The hotel staff are so friendly and check in was smooth as usual. Room was clean and spacious with a sea view and plenty of shortbread biscuits to have with coffee, great stuff. Beds were very comfortable. Some of the bedroom furniture could be upgraded but this is really a minor observation, as was some slight dampness on the ceiling above the bath, but we were staying at the end of the season so maybe to be expected. My only other minor quibble would be that the ice machine in the corridor was very noisy(I'm sure there will be quieter ones on the market). Back to the good points, the spa is a great place to relax after a cold days golf, in the sauna, steam room, bubble pool and heated swimming pool, all excellent. The bars are good with reasonable drinks and food available. Breakfast was very good, at last a hotel who know how to make toast, this was the best we've had so far. I like the relaxed atmosphere in this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review and positive comments which are much appreciated.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
12.2 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
11.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
11.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Property: Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Address: Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing